We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Washington Plaza Hotel
Ranked #25 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good value and centrally located”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The Washington Plaza is one of the best value full service hotels in the center of Washington DC. We searched for a reasonably priced hotel to accommodate visitors coming to the city for a small conference and the Washington Plaza was the best price we could find. I have stayed in Washington DC many times and at $179 (pre-tax) this was a deal.Rooms are comfortable, service is great and the rooms came with free wifi. There is a very nice bar and lounge area where the homemade chips (crisps) served with a beer were most welcome. The only downside to the hotel is that it's placement on the North side of Thomas Circle puts it is a good 10 minutes walk from the nearest Metro station (McPherson Square) so if you have lots of luggage or a meeting to get to across town you may well end up taking a cab.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grassland88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor. I’m delighted to hear that you were happy with our accommodations and service. Thank you for recognizing us as a good value. We take pride in providing a comfortable hospitality experience in the heart of Washington, DC. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,237
    888
    254
    74
    71
See reviews for
511
782
214
589
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed here on business in December, 2013. I was in a suite on the 6th floor, and the room was in excellent condition. The suites have a fairly spacious living room with comfy furniture that's in great shape. There's a TV in the living room as well as one in the bedroom, and there are two bathrooms in the room with one being en suite. When the living room doors are closed, the bedroom stays pretty quiet, allowing two people to be on conference calls in the room at once which is a major plus.

The staff is extremely helpful and attentive; best service I've received on any visit to DC in recent memory. The hotel's location is obviously great, right on Thomas Circle, only a couple blocks to the metro.

I didn't eat at the restaurant, but colleagues have and found it quite good. Definitely recommended for business travel, and would probably be great for tourists as well given the proximity to the metro and some great restaurants and bars on 14th st.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Washington Plaza Hotel. I am thrilled to know our hotel and team made such a favorable impression on you. We strive to make our business and leisure guests equally comfortable, and I am pleased you recognized and appreciated both aspects of our hotel. We look forward to your next visit to the Washington Plaza.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

A reasonable hotel 5 blocks from the White House so good for the average tourist.
It is situated on a busy roundabout so it can be noisy if you get a room on that side of the building.
Breakfast is a buffet style or to order. The buffet style is good in both standard and price - with a chef available to cook your style of eggs, omelettes etc.
Rooms are a good size as is the bath room and are kept clean and tidy.
Most of the tourist attractions are within walking distance although there is a metro station within a block. If you are going to the Verizon Centre for an event this is also within walking distance

Room Tip: make sure your room is not on Thomas circle side of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColinDCwmbran_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your honest review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel and the breakfast from the Ten Thomas Restaurant. I see that you experienced some issues with outside noise, and I apologize for any inconvenience this caused you. We are located in a central area in a very active city. However, it is very important to us that you are comfortable during your stay, and perhaps during your next visit we can find a room better suited to your needs. Your feedback is much appreciated and we hope this will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed for five nights on our sightseeing trip from Scotland the Washington Plaza was an excellent base for our stay . The staff were very helpful and keen to help . Value for money was great . We would certainly stay there again if we are lucky enough to return to this great city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front . Ours had no view but we were out ALL day
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you so much for the 5-star review! I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your trip to Washington, DC. It’s wonderful to hear that our hotel and team made such a favorable impression on you. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were extremely pleased with our recent four day stay during the thanksgiving holiday...the accommodations, service, and breakfast were perfect....the special price at this time was amazing and it made a visit to our daughter who lives in an apartment next door perfect !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RIDGENewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during the Thanksgiving holiday and for sharing your wonderful review of our property. I am so glad to read that you were extremely pleased with our accommodations and services provided. Please come back and see us again soon!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed in the Washington Plaza hotel for 5 nights in November on a business trip and it was a great place to have as our base.

The Good -
-The room which was a twin room (booked a queen) had an amazing view overlooking Thomas Circle.
- The beds were very comfortable and the room had a bit of a dressing area alongside the bathroom which was extremely convenient for working early in the morning whilst others were sleeping in the room.
- The staff were really superb and aside from not getting us the queen room we booked, there was very little that they would not do for us.
- The position is quite central with easy walking access to Du Pont Circle as well as the Whitehouse and environs.

- The not so good -
- It is quite far from the nearest metro station.
- They gave us a twin room and had no availability to move us to the queen room that we booked.
- The room cleaner was not particularly good at cleaning the room and straightening things up.
- The room service was not great and very expensive.

All in all the note was decent and is a great utility hotel. I don't think I would stay here when visiting DC on vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a high front facing room with a view of Thomas Circle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Word_Traveller_ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and found the room comfortable and well-appointed and our team superb. I was disappointed to hear that we were not able to accommodate your request for a queen room. Please accept my apologies for any inconveniences it might have caused you. I would also like to apologize that your room was not serviced properly and your expectations were not met with our Food and Beverage department. Your feedback has been shared with our team and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Washington Plaza Hotel. Great Location for sightseeing. We parked the car Friday night and never moved it all weekend. There was nothing that we could want for. Loved, Loved, Loved the staff waiting to greet us when we came back after being out all day. Truly felt as if we were all old friends!! Hats off to Kirk Mason!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddy979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you so much for the 5-star review. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! I appreciate your kind acknowledgement of our concierge team and their dedication to making our guests’ stay memorable. I will be sure to pass along your comments to Kirk regarding his service. We all look forward to your return trip to Washington, DC!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,611 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,778 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#37 of 141 in Washington DC
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
659 reviews
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#59 of 141 in Washington DC
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Plaza Hotel

Property: Washington Plaza Hotel
Address: 10 Thomas Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-4106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Plaza Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Plaza Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing