We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Satisfactory”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Washington Plaza Hotel
Ranked #26 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Fairview, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Satisfactory”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here because it was a relatively good price and relatively close to the things we wanted to see. It was okay - the room was a little small, the internet had issues from time to time, the fan didn't work in the bathroom, etc., but none of the items were "big" items. The staff was nice indeed. We only ate in the bar area restaurant, but I was pleasantly surprised with it. Good food indeed. The parking under the hotel is very tight, so I was glad we had rented a Ford Escape. Driving my 3/4 ton truck or Suburban would have made for a very frustrated parking situation. But, when you consider many of the hotels do not have their own parking, again, this was not a big deal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dewey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,211
    879
    250
    73
    70
See reviews for
502
770
213
576
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We picked the location because it is close to some of the attractions. Its on the fringe of the Downtown area. You can walk to the White House and some of the other attractions. We wanted to visit the memorials and museums in the area and for that the location is great. We did not eat at the hotel as we like to try some of the locates restaurants / cafes - there are plenty of places for you to eat.
Our room had a balcony overlooking the pool and Thomas Cirlce. The door to the balcony did not close properly and the room was a little small (I think this room was designed for one person).
Overall hotel was clean and the bed comfortable, its probably ideal if you are staying there for business. Other guests appears well behaved and it was quite at night which is what we seek these days. Did not see any families with kids staying at the hotel. Free wifi provided which was great. Note: The fitness centre does not have any weight machines. Mainly a couple of running machines. They have hand weights but a very limited range.
Summary - check in and check out was easy - enjoyed the stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Located within walking distance of the convention center and lots of restaurants, this hotel is a good option for those who want to keep costs low but stay in a nice hotel. I had a 2nd floor room facing the pool with a balcony. It was great until a pool party one night was so loud I felt like I was there. The outer door does not muffle ANY sound. The bed was comfortable. The room was small, but OK for one person. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at the Washington Plaza for the weekend. Overall the hotel is clean, the rooms are spacious and well kept. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant, but did have a drink in the lounge that was very relaxing. The staff was friendly and helpful.
However, one item situation is still not sitting right with me. We checked in around 3:30pm. It was a typical 90+' Washington Summer Day. A couple in thier early 20's had come down from thier room and were also at the front desk. They asked for 2 pool passes. The clerk advised them that the pool was full for the day and they were not issuing any other passes. ??? I was a bit shocked by this but my assumption was that the entire Hotel must be at the pool due to the heat.
We checked into our room that was over looking the pool and Thomas Circle. However, there were maybe 15-20 people in the pool area. There were 3 times as many empty chairs as there were occupied chairs. Not sure why the couple was turned away, but I though they needed to work on the hotels system for monitoring the pool activity.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WheresTheBeach_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
347 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Washington Plaza Hotel over the weekend. Our room was spacious and had beautiful views of the pool and Thomas Circle. There is underground parking. We didn't eat at the restaurant but we had a few drinks in the lounge. They have a decent-sized outdoor heated pool that is open in the summer. We consider this hotel to be one of our favorites in DC now.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPKinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Nice, cleans, walking distance to most attractions. Very comfortable beds. Very friendly staff. Gym is very small and rather boring. Esthetically not impressive, it's rather old and boring. Was a little surprised they wouldn't reheat my takeout dinner from outside.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diyana_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
219 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

A nice hotel and.pool. Buffet breakfast quite nice. Our room overlooked the pool and picked up some sirens and road noise overnight.

It is about a 30 minute walk to the Smithsonian Air and Space museum (excellent). It might be better to catch a bus or taxi.

There is good access to taxis from the Plaza. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mal_chaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#24 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#36 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#59 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Plaza Hotel

Property: Washington Plaza Hotel
Address: 10 Thomas Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-4106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Plaza Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Plaza Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing