We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price and very close to the sights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Washington Plaza Hotel
Ranked #25 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
153 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Worth the price and very close to the sights”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel...it was very close to the major sights in DC and a few blocks to the Metro, making it very easy to get around. The hotel is a bit older but re-decorated to give it an art-deco appeal. The beds were very comfortable. The rooms are somewhat small but it met our needs perfectly...after all the sight seeing, we were mainly there to rest/sleep after action packed days of touring around. I would come back to this location the next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay at the Washington Plaza. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our location so great for visitors to downtown Washington, DC. We look forward to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,237
    888
    254
    74
    71
See reviews for
511
782
214
589
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Central Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We chose Washington Plaza because of its proximity to family and places we planned to visit. Weren't expecting much in the way of a room but were pleasantly surprised. It was quite roomy and the bed was more comfortable than our bed at home. Luxurious linens and a firm but not hard mattress.

Staff friendly, relatively quiet considering it is located on Thomas CIrcle.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nk2008060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Washington Plaza and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. I’m glad to read that you were pleased with your accommodations and found our central location convenient for your needs. Our renovated rooms are indeed very comfortable. Many happy guests have mentioned how much they enjoyed their night sleep. We look forward to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Friendly and helpful staff and excellent service, they even make your bed ready and put in a fresh water bottle in the evening. Spacious and clean rooms, liked the fridge they've inserted. No noise from other rooms, corridors or the outside which was nice - retired early due to the time difference the first nights. Swimmingpool closed- opens in May. Location excellent with all major sights and Georgetown within walking distance. A bit pricy but you get good value for your money.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TT71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with your accommodations, our convenient location and friendly guest service. We strive to make every part of a guest’s stay as comfortable and effortless as possible. We look forward to your next visit to the Washington Plaza Hotel so that you may enjoy another stay with us.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I travel a lot and have a check list of necessities that this hotel meets. It has complimentary internet, HD TV, easily accessible outlets, good water pressure, comfy bed and pillows and near essential affordable services. It appears the guest floors have been updated in the past couple years. The only down side is the average restaurant, lounge and lobby that could be great with a renovation to breath some life into the spaces. The hotel has a big pool and deck, but the weather was not favorable. A great value for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing the pool but the lower floors have balconies if that is important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdmaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We appreciate your valuable feedback of our property and are making sure to improve upon your opinion and suggestions. I am delighted to know that our accommodations keep you returning to our hotel each time you are in Washington, DC. Thank you for mentioning our beautiful pool and the overall great value. The pool will open on Saturday, May 18th and will remain open until Sunday, September 8th. We look forward to your next visit to Washington, DC and the Washington Plaza Hotel!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I booked this hotel for a birthday/weekend trip!! The staff was very friendly and courteous!! I would stay again. Yes, it is within walking distance of the National Mall and Chinatown@ Gallery Metro. I will stay again!! Thanks!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for reviewing our hotel! I appreciate your kind comments regarding the friendliness of our team as we pride ourselves on providing positive and memorable guest experiences. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I are both in the hospitality industry- we are both pretty critical of hotels- since that is what we do for a living. This hotel was great! The staff- everyone we met- was amazing! Friendly, helpful, smiling, and professional. They have Bath and Body bath amenities, which were nice. The hotel room was very clean. The bed was comfy (although their pillows are a bit over stuffed, my neck was a little tweaked by it). The bathroom was a moderate size and was really clean. They have turn down service in the evenings with 2 free bottles of water and ice delivered to your room. We went to the bar area downstairs- the prices are comparable to the rest of the area. The service is fast and courteous. They make great mojitos! We had breakfast in the restaurant- it was good (we both had the buffet $17 pp). The omelet station was great, and the chef was really sweet. We also had room service for breakfast (used the cards placed in the room for early morning room service ordering). It came right on time- and was really good. The room service agent was great! The hotel is a little ways away from the metro station- but is in walkable distance to many restaurants, bars and shops. There is a CVS just across the circle if you forget to pack anything. Taxis are CHEAP in DC- we were amazed- it was $20 including tip from Washington Reagan Airport to the hotel. It was about $7 for a cab to the Holocaust Museum. We had an amazing time and would definitely stay here again. The only things that we saw that needed improving/upgrading is the drop ceiling above the front desk (maybe paint it or replace it) and the wall covering around the front desk and on back door needs replacing. The front desk is one of the first things guests see at the hotel- and should be 100%. The restaurant needs to be remodeled- but that inst such a big deal. Maybe take a few of the mirrors down and replace with paintings and reupholster the seats. All in all a FANTASTIC stay, GREAT employees and great location! Thanks for a great get away!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keywestkasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you very much for the 5-star review and all the great comments you posted about our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am excited to hear that you had a fantastic stay and you were so impressed with our accommodations! We appreciate all your feedback as your comments are a very valuable tool for us to continue to look at better ways to improve our guest’s experience. Thank you for taking the time to recognize our team and the excellent service we provide. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAICHUNG
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a good hotel in a central location in DC. The hotel is about three blocks from the closest MRT, on Columbus Circle, making it inconvenient for travellers with luggage. Other than this, the hotel is within a short walk from the National mall and other tourist attractions.

The staff are firendly and the room I occupied was comfortable, well appointed and quiet.

I think the hotel offers excellent value for money for DC and would retrun there again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room as far from the elevators as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPAMELOPE010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. I appreciate the compliments about our friendly team, comfortable and well-appointed accommodations and central location. Thank you for recognizing us as a good value. We are thrilled to hear you would stay with us again and we look forward to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,611 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,778 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#37 of 141 in Washington DC
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
659 reviews
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#59 of 141 in Washington DC
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Plaza Hotel

Property: Washington Plaza Hotel
Address: 10 Thomas Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-4106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Plaza Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Plaza Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing