We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Washington Plaza Hotel
Ranked #24 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Truro
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a great location”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

On entering the hotel the staff both in the concierge and reception were incredibly friendly and helpful. The hotel appeared to have been recently renovated and so everything was clean, and well maintained. I would describe the decor as retro (an observation not a criticism).

The bar and restaurant food was excellent.

The location was excellent with a five minute walk to the White House and to the nearest underground / metro station.

I would recommend this hotel if you are in the Washington, D.C. area.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank itlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our central location and you’ve been able to take advantage of the food and beverage from the Ten Thomas Restaurant and the International Lounge. Your recommendation is our greatest compliment and we look forward to welcome you back next time you are in Washington, DC!

Sincerely,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,228
    885
    254
    74
    71
See reviews for
509
778
213
584
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,609 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed just one night at Washington Plaza and had to leave early because of a forecasted winter storm.

The hotel has a good location. Check in was quick and friendly. I was given a room, but when I found it on the sixth floor the door was open. A friendly maintenance guy was working there, but quickly finished when I showed up.

The room was of a good size but clearly not very new. It was well kept and there was little wear and tear, but not very modern. I had a nice view of the pool and a church. There is quite a bit of traffic outside, and I had some trouble sleeping. The bed however, was very comfortable.

All in all a good - but not very modern anymore - hotel for a quick stop in Washington.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imedvindfranord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

While it was a bit further from the heart of D.C. than we had originally thought, it was still an okay walk to get down to the National Mall. It was a little over a mile from the White House. The staff was very helpful and they were able to check us into our room before check-in time which was great. The room was very nice, modern, comfortable, nice size, and the bathroom was great. This was actually a better room than the next hotel we stayed at which was 3 times more expensive. We didn't eat at the property, but we slept really well and overall had a great experience.

Room Tip: The front of the property has some great views of Thomas Circle with a beautiful church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed her for 3 nights. The room was great but the people in the other rooms love to talk in the corridor so you won't be getting much sleep. When I was there, there must have been a school outing cause it was full of teenagers also roaming the corridors talking loudly. The restaurant for breakfast was great value. I had the continental buffer which was great as it filled me up all day so I didn't have to eat lunch. The bar for happy hour was great too. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAULA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The hotel is retro in design and seems to embrace that aspect of its history. That said, the rooms are modern and the decor has caught up. This is certainly not a five star hotel but it's the best value in downtown. The customer service was just fantastic - they helped me find directions, color printing and how to catch a flight that I didn't time properly. Great free wifi, which is always a nice thing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globalist2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
433 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I would compare the treatment I received at this hotel to the Ritz and at an exceptionally reasonable price. Restaurant is a bit pricey, as one would expect from the location; however, the hotel is located close by several unique and moderately priced restaurants. My favorite is Lalibella Ethiopian.

Room Tip: Close to Metro and government attractions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfig218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
171 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Pluses: The hotel is clean and comfortable and offers very good value for a hotel in Washington. The front desk staff, for the most part were friendly and helpful. The room itself was clean and comfortable. It was nice to have complimentary bottled water and a night-time turn-down service. I had a room on a high floor facing the pool, and it was relatively quiet, except for the occasional ambulance siren. There is free Wi-Fi with a good connection. The a/c and heating worked well The location is excellent, with just a short 5 minute walk to the subway station and several good restaurants a 5 min walk away. There's also a pharmacy across the street.

Minuses: No complimentary breakfast. It always took a long time for front desk staff to answer the phone. The room had a slightly strange odour. The business center had a terrible odour (maybe due to it's proximity to the gym?). One of the housekeeping staff was extremely loud and agitated in the hallway one morning, which I thought was unprofessional and unnerving to guests. The sink in the bathroom was unusually low, which made it uncomfortable to use.

Room Tip: Pick a room on a higher floor, away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RP_traveller_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,607 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,775 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#35 of 141 in Washington DC
657 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#62 of 141 in Washington DC
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Plaza Hotel

Property: Washington Plaza Hotel
Address: 10 Thomas Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-4106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Plaza Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Plaza Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing