We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent service and excellent facilities at an excellent rate!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #20 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service and excellent facilities at an excellent rate!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Palomar over Christmas 2008 and we really enjoyed our stay.

Not only were the rates very reasonable for what we got, but we took advantage of the Kimpton Hotel's upgrade standby programme and we were able to be upgraded for a mere $15 extra a night which we loved.

We stayed in one of their King Spa rooms and were very impressed by the sheer size of the room! A lovely comfy big bed, spacious living area, great writing desk, a double spa bath in the big bathroom and a walk-in wardrobe. There was no view (apart from of the apartments next door) but we just kept the blinds shut and basked in the luxuriousness of our room.

The standard of the service was fantastic also. Everyone we dealt with was so respectful and helpful and actioned any request immediately. We were incredibly touched when we were presented with a gift of complimentary chocolates from the hotel on Christmas Day also - such a thoughtful gesture!

My only small negative points are that the lighting the room wasn't brilliant, even with all the lamps on it was a little dim (apart from the bathroom which was startlingly bright by comparison!) and all the lamps also had to be switched on individually which was a bit of a nuisance. Our room service breakfast on Christmas Day was hugely over-priced and the servings were tiny. We had complimentary (or $1) breakfast in the Urbana Restaurant every morning which, although the service was excellent, wasn't really anything to write home about as it was only a choice of muffins, toast or croissants and you still needed to order it as opposed to being able to help yourself to a breakfast spread. Suppose we shouldn't expect much considering we only paid $1 for it though!

However, my husband and I still thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Palomar, we will definitely be recommending it to people and will hopefully get the chance to stay in it again!

  • Liked — Brilliant service & large room
  • Disliked — Small Breakfasts
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiBex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distribution_Mgr, Area Distribution Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, February 18, 2009
Hello KiwiBex1

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Washington DC. We appreciate you taking the time to write your thoughts and feelings about our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and liked the large and luxurious room. I hope that you will be able to return to us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,590
    1,024
    283
    99
    37
See reviews for
879
1,521
264
924
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (739)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Palomar for one night in early December 2008. We wished we'd booked at least one more night. The hotel was incredibly beautiful, stylish and exceeded our expectations in decor and amenities. I have stayed at several Kimpton hotels because I am an In Touch member, but this one was by far the nicest one yet. The lobby has a blazing double-sided marble fireplace, banquettes and cozy seating areas. The little complimentary happy hour they have at all the hotels was again, by far, the best one we've been to yet - very elegant, well-stocked and orderly even with tons of people pouring in to check in for the busy weekend. The staff was helpful, friendly and courteous, helping us with directions and restaurants. The room was well-appointed, but the bathroom a little small and the vessel sink, while beautiful, took up the whole countertop. My only negative comment. Our reservation came with 2 free metro passes. Worth their weight in gold! The metro is clean, quiet and safe. I highly recommend this hotel and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — The attention to detail
  • Disliked — the vessel sinks, dark entryway
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tmd9015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2009

Stayed several nights at this hotel. Found the location very good - close to a good selection of restaurants and a Metro station. Felt safe walking in the area after dark. Our room was large with a very comfortable bed and chairs. Enjoyed the wine reception at 5pm each day. The hotel is pet friendly so expect to see dogs in the lobby. All we met were well-behaved and charming. Had daily interactions with the front desk and found the staff to be exceptional. They were friendly, helpful, and courteous. Will plan to stay at this hotel again. Only complaint is the lack of a coffee maker in the room. Coffee was available in the lobby in the morning but a coffee maker in the room is my preference.

  • Liked — Comfortable room and bed
  • Disliked — No coffee maker in the room
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MSRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Palomar for 3 nights. I booked an Executive King room directly through the hotel's website.

Pros: Enjoyed the location and proximity to the Metro. The evening reception is nice. Plenty of wine and people seemed to mingle. The room was large.

Cons: Tiny window hidden behind a column meant that you could not see the window from either the bed or the sitting area. This made the room feel like a very large, very dark closet. Room was above an alley that was full of beeping service trucks in the middle of the night. Front desk staff seemed fairly unhappy, bordering on unfriendly.

My unhappiness with the hotel is almost entirely due to the room. I think if I had been in a room on the street-side of the hotel I'd probably give it at least 4 stars.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Tiny window
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank timer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimpton_Manager, Hotel Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, February 16, 2009
The Hotel Palomar DC appreciates any guest feedback so that we can review the particulars of a guest's experience, and take steps to avoid similar situations in the future. It is our goal that this continous cycle of improvement will benefit all future guests.

Thank you,

Hotel Palomar DC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2009

Based on the reviews, my husband and I stayed for 2 nights over New Years Eve. Very small but comfortable room. I was concerned that it might be a noisy given that it was New Years Eve, but was pleasantly surprised that the noise was kept to a minimum. Staff was very warm and helpful.... and aside from delays trying to retrieve our car from the valets (again, it was New Years and very busy), we were very pleased.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room was small, though comfortable
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SueSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2009

Booked the hotel using the Kimpton website for a stay over New Years at the AAA rate. This was significantly cheaper than any other rate they offered. Overall our stay was fine, but the fit and the finish of the hotel is a little lacking. It was very dark on the interior, and I believe this was to try and hide some of the details that would have been readily apparent otherwise (such as pealing wallpaper, roughly finished walls, etc.). Also the hotel was very loud, it didn't seem like there was much insulation between rooms or the hallway.

We loved the fact that the hotel allowed pets and their happy hour was fun. Would stay again, just the Palomar hasn't quite reached the swanky/trendy upscale hotel status just yet. Also, the rates for the area were pretty good.

  • Liked — Happy hour
  • Disliked — Dark
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dcnanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, NH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2009

Excellent hotel! I am a very picky person when it comes to my stays at hotels and everything was super from start to finish. Hotel is beautifully decorated and extremely clean. The room are spacious and have great lay outs we stayed in two different rooms because we returned just to stay there again after we left the city to go else where for a few days. Hotel Palomar made my New Year's special with a beautiful room and a hand written note form the manager welcoming us back. They also included white chocolate, pretzel and nuts. The only issues that we encountered was that our DVD player did not work (it was fixed in a jiffy and replaced with a new one. Service man was very helpful and worked quickly not to bother us) and the fact that the hotel encourages people to bring their pets. Therefore, be aware there are animals in the rooms and lobby. This did not bother me, but the fact that a dog in a neighboring room barked on and off for a few hours was quite annoying. I mentioned this to the staff in their on line survey and they responded quickly letting me know that in the future they have a "pet free floor". I encourage anyone not wanting to hear barking during their stay to request this. Knowing that this is an option we will most definitely return on our next trip to DC. Give hotel Palomar a chance and you will not be disappointed!

  • Liked — Cean and friendliness of employess
  • Disliked — Pet noise
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristeachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#41 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,676 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Sofitel Washington DC
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Kimpton George Hotel
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#58 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,835 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#46 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing