We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location and hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #22 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
255 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great location and hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

My room was small, however the bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. DuPont circle is less than 5 mins walk which makes for a great location. All in all I liked the hotel a lot. My one grip was charging $16 for a horrible buffet breakfast which is served in a meeting room. I understand the restaurant was being refurbished, but their solution was a joke. They should not be charging guests such a large amount for nothing. I would have been really annoyed if I was there more than 1 morning. During refurbishment offer continual as part of the room charge.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank livinginlondon1344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,592
    1,028
    283
    100
    37
See reviews for
880
1,523
264
927
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (740)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

Well situated for all major sites in Washington DC most within walking distance. Staff polite, helpful and cheerful. Rooms clean and of reasonable size. We had breakfast included at the hotel and found the food plenty full and varied. The 5 o'clock happy hour where the hotel supplies free wine and cocktails for one hour is not to be missed after a long day sightseeing. You will read other reviews regarding access to the lifts which are currently undergoing renovation. Yes it is a slight inconvenience but one which did not spoil the overall positive experience of staying at the hotel and of course once the work is completed things will revert to normal. This hotel is well worth considering if visiting Washington DC. There is free WiFi on request and in room coffee making facilities if you request it although there is free coffee and drinking water in reception.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester MN
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a 3-night stay in a junior suite at the Palomar. Their restaurant is closed for upgrading, as was one of the three elevators so that limited our assessment to Very Good. There are many nice amenities at the Kimpton properties -- excellent (free) coffee starting at 6 AM in the lobby, use of a bicycle if you wish, fun location, popular Happy Hour in the lobby, great bed + linens. We used the DuPont Circle Metro easily for our many trips. Would definitely stay at the Palomar again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bookerRochesterMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

I really don't like this hotel. I've stayed a many Kimpton's, so I do get the concept, but my experience of this particular Kimpton has been bad (I'm staying in it right now, actually):

--I got one of the best rooms in the hotel, and yet the view is of the wall of a building. Apparently all of the rooms have similar views.
--DC is empty right now, and I could have stayed at any hotel in DC for this price, but I choose Palomar because of its restaurant and bar. Well, turn out both are closed! When I checked in, I mentioned to the woman behind they counter that the website should have notified me of the lack of a restaurant she very snottily said "it is on the website!" I looked, and yes, buried on a page nobody would go to, it does say it...but that's ridiculous, it should be stated very clearly on the home page. Of course that would mean less revenue, so they instead chose to hide it...
--Jack hammers going off in front of the hotel as the redo the restaurant.
--Generally impersonal staff.
--Room service wasn't there when I called and I am still waiting for them to get back to me after being "paged."
--One of the elevators has been out of service the whole time i've been here, and the other two are painfully slow. So, we end up using the service elevator down a dirty hall.

There's very little positive I can say about the place except that the room is big. Stay away. Perhaps it's better with a working restaurant, elevator and room service...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peneloperose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMJennings, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hello Penelope Rose,

We hope you are still here. We really want to fix this for you before you leave. Please send me a note at mark.jennings@kimptonhotels.com so we know who you are and can reach out.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel during our first trip to the USA in December. It was fantastic perfectly located for the metro etc, staff couldn't do enough for you! We had a room upgrade to a corner suite and it was divine! The wine hour is a brilliant touch especially cozying up by the fire after a long day sight seeing. Highly recommend this hotel. Weekend brunch superb and bar had a good atmosphere!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLambrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

The Palomar is my first choice for DC travel. The place is comfortable and very well located, close to the Red Line and many places of interest within walking distance. I find the service to be excellent, and the nightly wine tastings are legendary.

Room Tip: I prefer higher floors and to face P Street.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very good actually, You can see on their web site.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

A very nice hotel--except for the tiny elevators---and staff. Beautiful beds and linens, well decorated. A bit surprised in today's world that they still have analog TV reception--I forgot how great HD is. The wine reception is nice and they handled the restaurant/bar remodeling as well as could be expected in such a small space. I would use this hotel again if in Dupont Circle area.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chefmahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#40 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,687 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Sofitel Washington DC
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Kimpton George Hotel
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#59 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,849 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#46 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing