We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #30 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

The Palomar is ideally situated just 2 blocks from the vibrant neighborhood of Dupont Circle. Kimpton does a fantastic job keeping ppl on site with daily 5pm happy hour. The rooms are a hair small, but that's understandable considering the location. The staff was very welcoming. 1 of the elevators was being serviced, but they were on it. I would definitely return.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NYC-G-Unit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi NellyGs,

Thank you for your review. I appreciate the 5-Star rating, albeit a couple of issues. For room size, I would recommend booking the Executive Category. For a small up sell charge, you get way more square footage. Elevators are almost done! June we will have 2 new ones in operation and all 3 by the end of September. Stay tuned.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,703
    1,059
    289
    106
    41
See reviews for
913
1,576
271
977
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (763)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

From checking in to the hotel to checking out was a fantastic experience. The staff were super friendly, the room was fabulous, and the location was even greater. I'm really not sure how much it cost, cos the organisers of my program paid for it, but it was definitely worth it :)

There are plenty of options for dining right opposite, and nearby (besides most places in DC you can just walk to).

Do check it out if you are in DC!
The only downside for an asian is the continental breakfast which is what is included, but the food in general is great! and do sign up for the Kimpton loyalty program to receive surprise deals :)

Room Tip: The room I stayed was great, 10th floor. Just book in advance and sign up for their loyalty program...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prabu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi Prabu Dee D,

Thank you for your review. I appreciate all your comments regarding the Hotel. For breakfast options, is there something else you would suggest we provide? Let me know, feedback is always welcomed.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed at the Palomar for business and it was a great experience. I travel a lot for work and this was one of the first hotels where umbrellas (which was a must given it rained the week i was there) and yoga mats were available in your room. It was fantastic! I was so excited to get down on the floor in my spacious room, roll out my mat and do some stretching to relieve the stress. The room was beautiful, the lighting a little dim but a wonderful large bathroom. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It's just steps from Dupont Circle train station and within walking distance to numerous wonderful restaurants and little shops.

Room Tip: I had a corner suite and it was rather large. Lighting in the room is a little dim. I had to turn o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fao2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi Fao2001,

Thanks for the review. Sounds like a perfect stay. Loved the comment about stretching as a stress reliever. I'm totally with you! We also have foam rollers and tension bands in the fitness center for guest use. Check it out next time.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Just across Rock Creek Parkway from Georgetown, only blocks from Foggy Bottom and the White House, and on the quieter side of DuPont Circle, the Palomar sits in one of DC's best locations. Our double queen room was spacious and clean, although the bathroom was tiny -- basically a powder room with a tub.

There were some minor service hiccups:

1. Through the Kimpton InTouch program, on Monday morning the Monday NYT was waiting outside our door. And on Tuesday morning, the Monday NYT was waiting again outside our door. Now there's am unusual interpretation of reuse and recycle. (Every other paper we saw Tuesday on our floor was Monday's, as well.)

2. Due to a lack of taxis, the early morning can line was long and populated with increasingly anxious hotel guests. The bellman responsible for hailing taxis started quietly (or not quietly enough) bad mouthing guests who called their own cab or car.

But overall, we give the Palomar high marks. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtnview9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi mtnview9,

Thank you for your review. Rats, just missed that perfect rating. Sorry about the newspapers, sounds like a total snafu on our part. We're working on a solution for the taxi lines as well. Overall, the Hotel Association is also working diligently with the local cab companies to ensure more consistent service and availability. It's something as a city we are contending with.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

I knew I would like this hotel before my stay but I never thought I would LOVE this hotel!
The rooms were big and had everything you might need, even if you couldn't find something the hotel staff would go and get it for you. We were welcomed in a very personal matter. A handwritten note, a bottle of wine and snacks. My bed was better than the one I have at home! It was 30°C when se stayed and in the lobby you could always find refreshments. Between 5 and 6PM you could enjoy the happy hour in the hotel! Free wine and snacks!
We also tried the restaurant of the hotel. The waiter is so nice to tell you that you might want to order multiple things because they server rather small portions. So we did and it was great the food was really really good!
The location of the hotel is ideal! Close to the metro of Dupont Circle which came in handy for discovering Washington DC.
I would certainly stay in this hotel or another Kimpton hotel anytime!
I will certainly recommend this hotel to everyone that goes to Washington DC.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 7StephanieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi 7StephanieH,

Thank you for your review, it was Perfect! I appreciate you highlighting so many positives about your stay. I really enjoy hanging out in a hotel lobby myself. Helps to have some refreshments from time to time as well!

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Came for a meeting and was thrilled with the location. Check in was a breeze and they were accommodating of any special requests. Then...the elevator. I know they have been working on it but it just gets more and more annoying. I ended up taking the stairs down from an upper floor. Ice is not on every so that may be another elevator wait for some. I guess the room sizes vary, mine was tiny. There was a yoga mat (nice touch) but there was not enough floor space to roll it out. The baseboards were chipped and scuffed. The bathroom accessories were stained. There were very basic bath amenities (1 bar of soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion), but no shower gel, shower cap, etc that is standard in similar hotels. There is a list of amenities you can call to request, but the in-room items are very basic. The beds, bedding, pillows and towels are very nice and comfortable--I slept great both nights. The restaurant downstairs was also very good. Starbucks, CVS and liquor store are very close, as well as other restaurants. Hopefully renovations will help correct some of the problems soon.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilFatGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi ZelenkaThe,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. I appreciate the highlights of my staff. Sounds like you really enjoyed them. As for the overall condition and elevators, we are in the process of renovating the property which should address just about everything mentioned. As for room size, we offer a variety of room types with several layouts, configurations and exposures. I recommend the Executive Category, for a small up charge you receive a lot of extra space.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

In the heart of Dupont Circle, close to Metro, walking distance to many shops and restaurants. Rooms are huge and nicely appointed; I faced P street and it was quiet. Pool, workout room, coffee in the lobby in the morning. Great little bagel shop across the street. Only problem are the elevators, in the middle of being refurbished and waits can be long; I used the steps even though I was on the 6th floor. Friendly, attentive staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cafeturco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hello cafeturco,

Thank you for your review. Sounds like a great stay, minus the elevator situation. Luckily, we will have 2 new elevators at the end of June and the entire project looking to wrap up by the end of September. Safe to say everyone at the Hotel is looking forward to the project being complete.

Hope to see you again after,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
The Kimpton George Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing