We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant first stop in the USA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #40 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had planned a 5-stop tour of the Eastern USA and the Palomar was our first hotel. It was excellent. It was part of our 40th. Wedding Anniversary celebrations and they did so much to make our stay special., in addition to showing interest and care, the advice given re restaurants and places to see was spot on. Stay there again? Certainly!

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be of a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LameyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Hi LameyBoy,

Thank you for your review. Congratulations on your 40th Wedding Anniversary! I appreciate you spending this special occasion with us. I see you really enjoyed our location, that's a frequent comment we receive from guests. I hope to see you again soon, let's not wait till the 50th ok?

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,834 - 1,840 of 4,526 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

Always enjoy being here and the lovely staff (and the wine in late afternoon). Food for meetings remains a great pleasure. But the place - rooms, public and private - has gotten a bit shabby and in need of updating. As others have mentioned, the elevators are in trouble (and under renovation), but it was odd having to use three different buttons for the three more or less running elevators. Hopefully, renovations will return the Palomar to its splendor.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Hi James P,

Thank you for your review. I appreciate the honest commentary about the Hotel. I have good news! We are in the process of planning a full renovation. It will cover restaurant, rooms, public areas, meeting space, the whole deal. I am looking forward to fresh product to present to our most loyal guests. I appreciate you sticking it out with us.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The room was comfortable and attractive. Every room accommodation was provided. I was greatly disappointed in the slow elevator and upon attempting to use the alternative elevator, it also was slow. The location is great. Near the metro, restaurants and close to Georgetown. Although, I had reserved and paid for the room for 3 nights, I was required to put an additional $200 deposit on hold. I felt this was excessive. Also, the charge for one night of wifi was excessive, $29 or $39 per night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azuriterose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Hi azuriterose,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry about your experience with the elevator wait times. As mentioned in several previous reviews, we are in the process of fully modernizing the three guest elevators. The project is past the halfway point, looking for a completion in October of this year. I hope you will return to us shortly after. As for the incidental hold at check in, this is fairly standard in all Kimpton Hotels in DC.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Very nice hotel for stays in the Dupont Circle area. The rooms are large and well appointed. There is a nice buzz to the property, especially during the evening happy hour for guests, when the crowd spills over into the lobby. The carpeting gives the place a run-down look but overall, good value for money and location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RPM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Hi RPM59,

Thank you for your review. Overall, very good. We're working on designs and timing for a rooms renovation as we speak. Should address all of the "run-down" items you mentioned.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The Kimpton group has really excelled at assembling well located properties in big cities and turning them into very good hotels.

The Palomar in DC is very close to DuPont Circle, not very far from Georgetown. If you're looking for this neighborhood , this is an excellent choice.

The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and quite comfortable. All the typical amenities are available.

I must confess to being a bit spoiled by the Kimpton affinity program. There are many fine benefits to it - room advantages, treats, and the like. If you frequent Kimpton hotels, I strongly recommend signing up.

Having said all this, I would add that some Kimptons are better than others. Because of room size, freshness, etc., the Palomar is, in my view, the best of the Kimptons in this section of DC.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Hi Sandy K,

Thank you for your review. Sounds like you are a true Kimpton fan. I appreciate your loyalty and visiting us in so many cities. Have you heard about our new Hotel, The Brice, in Savannah? It's awesome, you should check it out.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

If you want to be close to Dupont Circle then consider the Palomar...If upbeat, friendly staff are important then definitely consider the Palomar...However, if you are hoping for luxury accommodations to support the luxury rates...you will be sorely disappointed. Rooms are extremely small....halls are dark and outdated...had to request a newspaper at the front desk...only 2 of the 3 elevators were working...enough said...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieB3553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Hi DebbieB3553,

Thank you for your review.

Ouch...so sorry to hear about your experience. We are in the process of modernizing our elevators. The project is rather lengthy and extremely costly, nearly a million dollars. I certainly appreciate your perspective and we are trying everything possible to inform our guests. We are slated to be complete in October and I am hopeful you will return to us shortly after. Thank you separately for acknowledging my staff and the Hotel's location.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Just returned from DC and chose this hotel as we had stopped in another Kimpton during a stop in New York last year.
Very pleased to say this hotel was equally as nice as our previous Kimpton experience and we will definately stay here again next year.
The room was very spacious and quiet, the staff are excellent and the location was perfect for our needs.
Georgetown is a very pleasant walk away, the Metro is close by as are several very nice restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greg h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Hi greg h,

Thank you for your review. WOW, perfect, that's saying a lot. I really appreciate you sharing this feedback with me and the greater TripAdvisor community. Our location is great, sounds like you got around pretty well during your time.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,380 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,217 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 141 in Washington DC
1,297 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,765 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $156 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing