We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Free Wine & Snacks!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #41 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I was here with the family for weekend vacation. The food was excellent but the restaurant gets very congested on weekends, I guess it's a popular happy hour joint for young professionals. They have free wine in the evenings for resident guest, it's awesome.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Castro W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telmanager10, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you so much for your positive review Castro W. We are please that you chosen to stay with us for your weekend vacation and had an excellent time. The restaurant is definitely the place to be on the weekends with our excellent brunch menu and featured bottomless Mimosa’s. Please reach out to me when you return to Washington, I would love to see what I could do to make it a five star experience for you. I look forward to welcoming you back soon –Jerry Chou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,965 - 1,971 of 4,547 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

I stayed a full week at the Palomar, and it was an excellent stay. I'm something of a Kimpton Hotels fan, and have stayed at several of its DC properties. Kimpton makes a solid attempt to give each of its hotels a distinctive ambiance, with somewhat mixed results. With the Palomar, Kimpton hit a home run. The wild side robes, on the other hand, are a standard Kimpton feature. Exciting perhaps to those whose love lives are going better than mine, but for me, merely utilitarian. It's a beautifully decorated hotel, and my room was very comfortable. In fact, it was probably way better than I deserved. When I arrived, the hotel network was down. There was no wifi, and the front desk couldn't even make me a key card. For the first evening I was there, I had to be accompanied by a member of the staff every time I returned to my room. I don't know for sure, but I think they gave me an extra nice room as a consequence. How lucky on such a long stay! One evening of minor inconvenience, then 4 blissful nights of luxury. And, I must say, the staff were helpful and jolly, given the hassles they were dealing with. And in fact, the staff are just great overall. There's a happy hour in the evening, and they pour reasonable wine, served with mixed olives. This was a great treat! They shut up shop promptly at 6 though, so get there on time. Sustainability-wise, the Palomar is mediocre. There's some good lighting, and there's a laundry reduction program, although it isn't that well advertised. Notably, the thermostat in my room was set at a modest 18ºC. I saw no extra blankets, so this was about as cold as I'd be fully comfortable with. I didn't eat at the Urbana restaurant off the lobby on this trip, but I have in the past so can say it's also pretty good. This is also a great area to be in for outside restaurants. There's a remarkable selection nearby at a range of prices. Great hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelIsWork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telmanager10, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you so much for your excellent review TravellsWork. I am thrilled that you chosen to stay with us for your weeklong stay in Washington and had a fantastic stay. I am sorry to hear about the inconvenience you experienced at the time of arrival with the network being down but I am happy to hear that we were able to turn this experience around for you. Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff, I will be sure to share your comments with them and I know it will be greatly appreciated. Make sure to come see us again when you return to Washington, We will make it another homerun stay for you—Jerry Chou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Nice and clean rooms and facilities, very friendly staff, nice little extras like hot-chocolate and wine-hour in the lobby (fireplace!), great location, breakfast minimal but OK, several restaurants within walking distance, valet parking price on the high-side

Room Tip: Upper-floor (10)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerhard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telmanager10, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your positive feedback GerhardBVienna. I am happy you chose to stay with us and found our hotel to be of good value. Thank you for your kind words about our staff, I will be sure to share your comments with them and I know it will be greatly appreciated. Make to reach out to me when you return to Washington, I would like to know what we could have done to make it a five star experience from you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon—Jerry Chou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel several times and each time have a had a pleasant experience. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, especially the bell staff who greet me every time I return to the hotel. Great location - close to Metro and many restaurants, shops, etc. Definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Prefer rooms on higher floor and away from the fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telmanager10, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you so much for your great review Carissa S. I am glad to read that you have stayed with us several times and had a pleasant experience each time. Thank you for recognizing our staff, we thrive to provide the best possible service anywhere and I am pleased to hear that we are living up to your expectation. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff and I know it will be greatly appreciated. When business or pleasure brings you back to town please let me know so I can make it another five star experience for you—Jerry Chou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Celebrated valentines day here and it was a memorable experience. While we only stayed one night, the staff went above and beyond to make sure we were well taken care of. After booking the room and speaking on the phone with Lucas from the front office, I knew I was going to have a good stay and had made the right choice. Next, I spoke with the concierge Phillip and he gave me some nice recommendations for a romantic dinner (Boqueria, Ted’s, Al Tirmisu, Iron Gate, Tabard Inn). While I opted to make the dinner reservation on my own, he followed-up to make sure I had found something to suit my needs. Lastly, and the what made the stay truly special, was how well Lizann took care of us when we checked-in. I won't go into all the details, but will just say that the personalized hand-written card was a very nice touch. Of course, it doesn't hurt that the beds are so comfortable: you essentially 'melt' into a very restful sleep. Consider this a very heartfelt thank you - we will remember your great hospitality and hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whyyouareeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telmanager10, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you so much for your fantastic review whyyouareeye. We are thrilled that you chosen to stay with us to celebrate Valentine’s Day and had such a great experience. We at the Palomar try to provide the best possible service anywhere and I am so pleased to hear that the staff went above and beyond to make you special occasion so exceptional. Thank you so much for the giving Philip, Lukas and Lizann a shout out. I will be sure to share your comments with them and I know it will be greatly appreciated. When you return to Washington, please reach out to me so I can ensure that we make it another 5 star experience for you –Jerry Chou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Very nice. That they allow dogs is a plus and they are good for the soul.

Palomar hit all the right points. Nice wine hour, reward program, great location. Staff was friendly and facilities clean. Love the fireplace in the lobby.

We have already booked our next stay here.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Holden20777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telmanager10, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you so much for your positive review Holden20777. We are glad that you chose our hotel and had a great time. We are really proud of the warm, intimate atmosphere that we created and love that you noticed. Make sure to let know when you return to Washington and let me know what we can do to make this a five star experience for you. I look forward to welcoming you back—Jerry Chou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Due to a work event I had to stay in DC for the evening and had to check in very late. That's what made me so sad. This hotel was quite lovely and I wish I was able to enjoy all the amenities. I will definitely stay here again. Amazing room and great service!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank BigRedSoBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telmanager10, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you so much for your fantastic review BigRedSoBo. I am glad you chose to stay with us for your last minute stay for work and had a great time. I am sorry to hear that your visit was very brief but it will give you something more to look forward to on your return. Make sure to let me know when you are coming back to DC, I will personally ensure you an excellent stay. I look forward to welcoming you back soon –Jerry Chou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,430 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,235 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,791 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#57 of 141 in Washington DC
1,303 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#39 of 141 in Washington DC
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $173 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing