We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #32 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Louisville
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Winter Stay”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Just wanted to say what a WONDERFUL stay I just had! The room was quiet, clean and the perks of the coffee in the morning, the paper available and the ability to "raid " the mini bar if one is a Kimpton member.
The staff is delightful and very gracious.
Would recommend to anyone staying in DC.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatLouisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telmanager10, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review PatLouisville. I am so glad you chose to stay with us for your winter stay while visiting DC and had an excellent. We pride on providing the best possible service anywhere and I am very delighted to about your experience. Please make sure to reach out to me when you return to Washington, I will be sure to make it another fantastic stay for you. –Jerry Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,815
    1,095
    302
    114
    46
See reviews for
957
1,619
283
1,034
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (800)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, MD
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My husband treated me to a "staycation" at the Palomar for my birthday. The hotel totally exceeded my expectations from start to finish. When we walked in the lobby, an employee was serving complimentary hot chocolate because it was so cold out! The employees at check-in were super friendly and both noticed the birthday note on our reservation and wished me a happy birthday. The lobby also had a warm fire blasting- just comfy and welcoming overall.

The room was huge- lots of space to sit and lounge, work at the desk (which I did not spend any time doing :), or get lost in the faux fur blanket on the bed. The bathroom was very clean and nice amenities provided. The hotel also surprised us with a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered cherries- I felt so spoiled!

We visited the restaurant, Urbana, for an appetizer and drinks. The bar area was very chill and had a sexy sort of ambiance. Food and drinks were expensive, but no more so than what you would expect at a hotel in DC.

We also took advantage of the happy hour in the lounge- had some wine, crackers and olives.

Kimpton is one of my favorite brand of hotels and our stay at the Palomar definitely lived up to the kitsch yet classy brand standard.

Room Tip: Room 516 is very spacious- would be plenty of room to fit a cot or rollaway, but the downsides are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terps24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telmanager10, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review terps24. I would like to wish you happy belated birthday and thank you so much for choosing Hotel Palomar for your “staycation”. We are really proud of the warm intimate atmosphere we created and loved that you noticed. Thank you so much for your kind words about your experience, I will be sure to share with all of our staff. Please make sure to let me know when you return to Washington, I will be sure to make it another 5 star stay. –Jerry Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My family had a few nights in Washington DC and chose this Kimpton hotel based on reviews. Although the location wasnt perefct ( still pttty good though) the rest of what the hotel had to offer really was perfect. We read in a forum to become a Kimpton member which was easy to sign up for and included some nice free things like a $10 credit at the bar. The front desk staff were excellent and the drinks and bar snacks each afternoon were worth going home for. Would stay here again

Room Tip: Become a Kimpton in touch member by joining free on line before you go
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vladam826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telmanager10, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review Vladam826. We are glad your family chose our hotel and had a great time. We love to hear guest saying our establishment is “a great place to stay”. Thank you for the wonderful comments about our staff, I will be sure to share your comment with our them and I know it will be greatly appreciated. Contact me when you return to Washington, I will make it another excellent stay for you. –Jerry Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Wonderful hotel located off DuPont Circle. Very friendly and accommodating staff; clean, enormous room with good closet space and bathroom. All updated and uplifting. We did not eat any meals in the hotel, but only because we had other plans. I noticed another reviewer said the room was a bit small, but we had a room on the 10th floor with 2 queen sized beds and we felt the room was very well sized. Would definitely stay here again. We were in town for a weekend with our son who works in DC.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cate5655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telmanager10, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review Cate5655. We are thrilled that you chosen our hotel and had a great time. We love to hear our guest say they “Would definitely stay here again”. Make sure to contact me when you return, I will be sure to make it another 5 star stay. –Jerry Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 days for a conference. The room is a bit small and I actually had to use to drawers as there was not much free space to leave things lying around. They do have a nice size desk to do work but once you pull out the chair you have to hop over it to move around the room.

The room itself was quiet and they have black out shades so no sunlight came in. I also didn't hear any of the plumbing or water running from the adjacent rooms, which is one of my biggest pet peeves at hotels. The front door is very thin though and it sounded like there was no front door; I could hear people and their conversation with ease. Overall it was still very quiet


Some of the minor issues were the bed linen. They just felt cheap and like 150 thread. There's also only 2 pillows that were relatively flat. Which is all a bit odd considering hiw nice the room looked. Another minor issue is tv. Not hd and don't even have hbo. The last thing was their toiletry items. Soap and shampoo and lotions didn't feel good, but thats all personal taste.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank frosti_austi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telmanager10, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review frost_austi. I am glad you enjoyed your stay but am sorry to read that you were not satisfied with the size of your room. In the future, I would like to recommend that you reserve for an Executive rooms. There is not a large price difference in the Executive room and Deluxe room but the Executive room is more than double the size of the standard deluxe room and will surely be much more comfortable. Make sure to reach out to me when you return to Washington, I will be sure to make it a five star stay for you—Jerry Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I am currently staying in this amazing hotel and wanted to share my impressions. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, super clean and beautifully appointed, and I can say the same for my room, with two queen beds. I am a very hard critic and I cannot find any fault with this particular property. The housekeeper was very sweet and professional stocking all of the wonderful towels (very plush) and toiletries. What sets this hotel apart from others that I have stayed in is the staff. They are warm, friendly and professional. My heartfelt thanks to Deede (spell?). She is absolutely beautiful and provides the best and most genuine service you could hope for in their restaurant. By the way, you must try their pizza, it has to be the best I have had anywhere. Stay here, you will love it. I should know. I am very critical but couldn't find ONE thing wrong with this hoitel!

Room Tip: I had a room facing the street and could not hear a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelermia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telmanager10, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review travelermia. I am glad you chose our hotel and had an amazing stay. Thank you so much for the kind words about our staff and especially Dee Dee. Providing the best possible service is what we pride ourselves on and we are so please that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience. Reach out to me when you return to Washington, I will be sure to make it another amazing stay.—Jerry Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Having stayed at a Kimpton Hotel before I had high expectations. The hotel did not let me down. The last minute rate was a good deal for a sizeable room. The staff is welcoming and willing to help with anything you need. We love the daily wine hour and find it a draw to Kimptons in general. After three nights we left very satisfied and had no disappointments.

Green Features: The hotel has an Eco program which is quite earth conscious.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telmanager10, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review Ray C. I am happy you found our hotel to be of good value. We really appreciated the kind word about our staff. I will be sure to share your experience with them. Please reach out to me when you return to Washington, I will be sure to make it a five star stay for you—Jerry Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
2,062 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,632 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#27 of 141 in Washington DC
3,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#58 of 141 in Washington DC
1,242 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
2,153 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#47 of 141 in Washington DC
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing