We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Nearby Hotels
$432
$399
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$389
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)
$249
$212
Dupont Circle
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$457
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$444
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$218
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)
$437
$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$229
$221
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,574)
Filter reviews
4,574 results
Traveler rating
2,917
1,163
321
120
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,917
1,163
321
120
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdupont circlewine hourwine receptionexecutive kinganimal print robescomplimentary wineyoga mathuge roomphillips collectioneach eveningoutdoor poolfront desk staffmini barloved this hotelembassy rowmetro stationwhite house
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,075 - 2,080 of 4,574 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had come from another Kimpton hotel (Nine Zero in Boston) so we had high expectations. It was very nearly as nice. Lovely big room with big bed. Huge bathroom. Not much of a view but we didn't mind the view as we were sightseeing around Washington so got to see lovely views all day. Stayed for 5 nights and it was perfect for what we needed. The buffet breakfast was very generous range for its continental style. Complimentary wine between 5-6 was a really nice touch and very popular. Very busy hotel with functions but felt it could cope very well.
The gym was very well equipped with treadmills (plural) and a selection of weights machines so it suited our longer stay.
We ate one night in the hotel restaurant Urbana which was delicious. Would also recommend Afterwords Cafe and then also Shakes for ice cream (frozen custard). It was quite a foody trip!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Em N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telmanager10, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for your positive review enicol. We are glad to hear that you are staying at Kimpton hotels while traveling and enjoyed your stay both here and at Nine Zero. I am happy to see that you found our hotel to be of good value. Make sure to come see us again when you return to the Nation’s Capital.–Jerry Chou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The staff were very friendly and professional. The room could really use an update. The headboard was scratched and worn out Naugahyde. The bedside lamp was chipped all over. The carpet really needed to be cleaned. The bathroom was nice and clean.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telmanager10, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback Brent H. We take honest comments from people like you very seriously. We are working diligently to plan a renovation at the hotel soon so stay tuned for many improvements to come. On a side note, I appreciate the positive feedback about the staff. When you return to Washington, please contact me and I can ensure that your stay with goes flawlessly. Thank you again for choosing Hotel Palomar. –Jerry Chou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed here in the middle of our trip across the USA.
Situated close to Dupont Circle so Ok when arriving from Union Station (We came from NYC) via AMTRAK. Its a trek from Dulles so a taxi / limo is the best option.
Arrived feeling hot after travelling (It was August) but were soon refreshed by the attentive staffand the cool juices in reception. Rooms were comfortable, if a little small but overall very satisfied.
The wine hour is a great place to mingle and meet your fellow guests.
The complimentary breakfast was fantastic and good to set you up for the day.
Will certainely use the Palomar and of course Kimpton if there all this good.
Cant wait to go back to DC.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raff40035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telmanager10, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for your positive review raff40035. We are glad you chose to stay with us for your trip across the USA. I am happy you found our hotel to be of good value. Our Manager hosted wine reception a wonderful concept and is a great opportunity for traveler alike to mingle. Make sure to come and see us again when you return to the States side again. –Jerry Chou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have stayed at the Hotel Palomar in Chicago and Philadelphia and was not disappointed. However, I found this location not quite up to par with the other locations. The hotel appeared understaffed. Our room was not ready upon check in. Granted we were an hour early. However, we could not get a committment on how soon the room would be available. We did receive two drink coupons to use at the bar. We placed an order for room service one evening. The person who answered the phone was laughing loudly and then placed my husband on hold. After about 5 minutes she did not return to the phone so he hung up and dialed again. This time a male answered the phone and immediately took our order. I ordered a glass of wine and they apparently did not have the wine I ordered. They sent up a complementary glass of red wine that tasted of poor quality.

Although there were some service issues, the hotel property is very nice and the room we stayed in was quite large. They also had a nice mini-bar. My only complaint is that the tv picture was of poor quality.

I generally like the Palomar Hotel for its five star amenities without the five star price tag. However, this location did not live up to the experiences at their other properties.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JIA-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telmanager10, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for your honest review JIA-7. I appreciate you taking your time give us feedback. I am sorry to hear that you experienced some service issues during you stay. We will use your comments as a training tool to help our staff learn and improve so we can get it right. Please reach out to me when you return to Washington so i can personally show you what the service at the Palomar DC is truly supposed to be like. Thank you again for choosing Hotel Palomar.--Jerry Chou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Very nice hotel in a great area! The staff was extremely friendly and pleasant. We had an over-sized king room that was very spacious and nicely appointed. Wine hour/snacks in the late afternoon and a very nice bar connected to the hotel as well. Far surpassed my experience at The Fairfax a couple of blocks away last time I was in DC!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srh615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telmanager10, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for your terrific review srh615. The Palomar DC does have some of the most spacious rooms in the city and is centrally located to all the major attractions in the city. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience. Make sure to come and see us again when you return to the Nation’s Capital. We will be sure to make it another fantastic stay- Jerry Chou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews