We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another pleasant Kimpton experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #30 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another pleasant Kimpton experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

When travelling, we always stay with a Kimpton if possible and this one did not disappoint. We had a nice sized Q/Q executive suite, Staff was great, with their "can do" Kimpton attitude. Wine hour is always great, but it's a small public space, so it can get tight and loud, but you can always bring the drinks back to your room, or you can find a little alcove. Pool was appropriately sized for a dip with the kids, although it could have been a bit cleaner, and the lifeguard that was supposedly on duty could have been more attentive. Not much seating around the pool, and saw that many people turned back around after not finding a spot, but if lucky enough, it's a great place to unwind. Would definitely come back here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank margaritadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,735
    1,067
    294
    108
    43
See reviews for
930
1,585
272
997
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here with my family the latter part of July for a few days. Upon arrival the bellhops were no where to be found. Arrived to our room and fell in love with the spaciousness of it - furniture is in need of a retouch and shows signs of wear. Cleanliness is a major factor for me - so to see the light fixture in the restroom so filthy was a huge disappointment. We requested an in room coffee maker and housekeeping never washed our cups, nor did they leave regular coffee - another true disappointment. We travel with a toddler going through a chicken nugget/pizza phase. The one evening we attempted to enjoy the hotel pool we opted to order pizza. Upon delivery, we were told that only food from the hotel restaurant is allowed in the pool area. I've never stayed at a hotel where these types of restrictions/limitations are enforced. This was yet another true disappointment. By the time we checked out, I was hell bent on taking my own luggage since no assisted upon arrival. Although the young lady at the front desk attempted to right the cleanliness shortcomings, free continental breakfast as we were rushing out the door to head to NY was not an option.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for my 10th wedding anniversary. The hotel was aware and sent us complimentary champagne and chocolates. Very nice. We had a nice stay with nice sized room. My only complaint was I asked for a room with a view and I ended up with almost no window at all. I guess they overlooked the request. We tried to use the concierge services twice it never really worked out. We were looking for a Italian rest recommendations in the Georgetown area and they didnt really know at all. I guess they only know eateries on their block and not much outside of that. No problem that's what Google is for. The second time they were just not there and there were a ton of people waiting by the front desk so we didn't even bother. If I had to sum up the hotel in a few words it would be Trendy, Swanky, Stylish, Fun.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseyshorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Ninth hotel on our US road trip and we really liked it! Very modern and quirky rooms of good size with animal style bathrobes! This was by far our biggest room on the trip. Friendly helpful service with complimentary wine served daily around 5pm.Breakfast was a real disappointment hence not 5 stars. Clients with complimentary breakfast were treated very differently with a small area providing a small selection of breakfast items and it was self-service although there were waiters flitting around serving the other clients. Considering BA booked the hotel for us at approx. $250 per night this didn't feel right and did not happen anywhere else on the 4 week trip. The restaurant (Urbana) was nothing special with a very limited menu and certainly not cheap. We ate there 2 nights then couldn't find anything different to choose so went out to a local restaurant. We loved the bar area (and Happy Hour) and the staff were friendly and attentive. This was our first time in Washington and we visited as many places as we could in the 2 full days. All it was really interesting and mainly had free admission. A special mention for The Holocaust Museum which was so moving and emotional and unforgettable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in a 2*Queen room with a roll-away as a family of 5 - kids aged 5, 9 and 11. With that number of people in one room you expect to be croweded but really we weren't, there was loads of space. This was hands down the nicest of the 5 hotels we stayed in on our holidays (yup it was a bit of a road trip). From the email they sent us 10 days beforehand asking for special requests through check-in, every interaction we had throughout including the fab wine hour at 5pm daily,all the way to check out these people really delivered. I had never heard of the Kimpton group before but they are my number one choice from now on. Given the time of year the prices were fantastic too which was also really nice. The location is great at Dupont circle and the leopard print robes caused much dressing up from my kids. They loved the outdoor pool and while it was small yes it was a great bonus at the end of a long days sightseeing. Did I mention the wine hour at 5-6pm daily - they send milk and cookies to the kids in their room at the same time so they were thrilled. Also, gave my 5 year old some toys to play with during her stay - which they told her on checkout were hers to keep. Needless to say the kids love the Kimpton also! Just nothing bad to say except if I was looking for something I would say the lifts were a bit rubbish.

Room Tip: Wine hour - free wine and canapes at 5pm daily and they send milk n' cookies up for the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Palomar was a perfect fit for us while visiting Washington DC. The staff was friendly and knowledgable. Great location for Metro and restaurants. The evening wine and snacks was great. When we asked for our car to be brought around, it was there by the time we got downstairs. Definitely join the Kimpton group for free Wi Fi. Our room was big, beautiful and very comfortable. We can recommend neighborhood restaurants: Al Tiramisu, Pesce, Scion (for a great brunch), Pizzeria Paradisio, and Front Page.

Room Tip: I think it was 10 extra dollars for the Executive King -- well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have become a real Kimpton girl. We decided to do a "staycation" and celebrate my husbands birthday with dinner and a night at the Palomar, with our dog of course. The staff is Amazing, just friendly and competent. Our room was better than most, and they worked with us on the A/C. It turns out all the thermostat needed was batteries, and our night was terrific. The bar/restaurant is Urbana. Now I drop by here just living in the city, but even as a guest it was fun. Meeting people from out of town and the bartenders are Wonderful. I am happy to say I am still a Kimpton girl, and next month is The Palomar in San Francisco!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slinde77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing