We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in DC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #36 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The staff at the Palomar were warm and welcoming. They made sure that all of our needs were taken care of. Wine tasting was enjoyable. Nice to have coffee and tea available in the morning. This is a pet friendly hotel which we did not realize. So if that bothers you, this is not the hotel for you. Many dogs as guests.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garritys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Garritys,
Thank you very much for staying with us. Love your comment about the staff. I will be sure to share your review with the team. Hope to see you soon. Best wishes, Stephane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,446)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,148 - 2,154 of 4,448 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel has large and comfortable rooms in a leafy district a short distance away from Georgetown. There is not a great choice for eating out but that doesn't matter as the restaurant Urbana is excellent. The hotel holds a free wine reception at 5pm each evening. Staff are efficient and friendly. A short walk away from the Metro which gives easy access to the rest of Washington. Not easy at first to work out how to buy tickets and remember to add $1 if using cash.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michealjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear michealjean,
Thank you so much for staying with us. So great to read that you enjoyed interacting with the staff. Urbana is a great spot too. We are glad that you enjoyed the service and the food. We hope to see you soon. Best wishes, Stephane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Excellent location in Dupont Circle. Our corner room was huge and spacious and really comfortable with a king bed and a nice sitting area and desk. Bathrooms are on the small size, but done nicely. The staff is superb!! Friendly, professional, and willing to go the extra mile. The wine hour is really well attended and is fun. Hard to find somewhere to sit sometimes. The continental breakfast is basic and perfectly adequate. They will prepare a bag for you to take out. We loved this place and will certainly return. Make sure to reserve a bike tour with Capitol City Bike Tours!

Room Tip: Room 904 has poor wifi. They comped breakfast in exchange or offered to move us.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ndestin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear ndestin,
Thank you so much for staying with us. Your comments about the staff is really awesome. I will be sure to share your review with the team. Thanks again and come to see us again soon. Best wishes, Stephane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My family just returned from a stay at the Hotel Palomar and we were beyond pleased. I have nothing negative to say about our experience. We arrived at ten o'clock AM and they had our room ready to go. They unloaded our luggage and we were off on our adventure. In the mornings the lobby is well stocked with hot coffee, iced coffee and tea. Throughout the afternoon there are other refreshments and from 5:00-6 they serve complimentary wine and appetizers. The staff were always willing to answer questions about the area and would print maps and information about places we wanted to visit. My twin daughters celebrated their 8th birthday while we were there and the staff went to a local cupcake shop and brought them a birthday treat as well as a handmade card. The girls were thrilled! We enjoyed the pool everyday and it was nice to have a lifeguard on duty. The day we were leaving our bellman took our cooler and filled it up with ice and bottled waters before our drive. I was certain then that we would be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear JessD,
Thank you so much for your great review. Awesome to hear that your family had so much fun. We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Stephane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Last month my husband and I stayed at The Palomar. What a great hotel! Check in was efficient and pleasant.

They have a lovely small pool on the second floor. Perfect for couples or a small family(they have many pool toys) They also have two charming cabanas. There is bar service to the pool later in the day.

What can I say about DC. The hotel is in Dupont circle which is a very cool area of the city. (several blocks from Metro/many restaurants on P Street)

I would HIGHLY recommend the restaurant in the lobby. It is called Urbana. I had the BEST cobb salad for lunch. We had a wonderful waiter named Tommy. He was so efficient and such a nice man. He also waited on my husband the next morning. (and remembered him)

This restaurant has a brick oven - great pizza and a eclectic dinner menu. Had dinner there on Saturday.

Love the Kimpton chain - I am a member of their club.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Donna579,
We always love to hear from our biggest fan. Thank you so much for your loyalty. We cannot wait to see you again soon. Best wishes, Stephane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We recently visited Washington DC and stayed at the Palomar Hotel at Dupont Circle. We being my wife, Mother In Law , Cousin and myself, all being senior citizens.
This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. The staff are attentive, alert and very polite as well as being friendly and efficient and concierge services were very good at making recommendations and booking restaurants and trips. The hotel has a happy hour where guests can drink free wine (as much as you want). The beds and pillows are very comfortable. The food is very good. The hotel is very clean. Location is great for using the Metro.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yeowart_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel is close to perfection, excellent location, very beautiful design, the room was very comfortable and spacious with very elegant design, clean and quiet. The two guys at the reception whom I dealt with were not helpful, a bit arrogant I can say! A part from that everything was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nour B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Nour_Bensaied,
So great to hearing your feedback. Thank you so much. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I couldn’t ignore your comment regarding the interaction with staff. We always pride ourselves for offering heartfelt service and care. I will share your comment with the team to make sure we display just that in the future. Hope to see you soon Nour_Bensaied. Best wishes, Stephane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,197 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 142 in Washington DC
2,125 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#60 of 142 in Washington DC
1,264 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#46 of 142 in Washington DC
495 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#23 of 142 in Washington DC
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $151 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing