We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel, great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #39 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I spent two nights at the Palomar at Dupont Circle, and this hotel does not disappoint. The location at Dupont Circle is very convenient for transportation, restaurants, and shopping. The fact that one can walk to Georgetown is a great advantage.

The hotel is very nicely decorated as if it's a boutique hotel. The room is not large, but well equipped, comfortable, and clean. There is an outdoor pool and a gym on the second floor. Wifi could be had in the room for free (you just need to create an account). There is even complimentary tea/coffee in the morning and cocktail around happy hour in the lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siminnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear siminnyc
Thank you so much for a great review. We love to hear that you enjoyed your time with us while visiting DC. Please come and see us again soon. Best wishes, Stephane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,201 - 2,207 of 4,493 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a hotel, the interior is very funky, complimentary wine on and evening and friendly staff... all in the centre of DC.

Arrived early and given a free early check in, the room was huge with comfortable contemporary furnishings. It was a great base to explore DC, only 2 minutes from Dupont Circle Metro and around a 15min walk into Georgetown through a picturesque residential area.

The hotel also hold a social event on early evenings serving canapes and wine, and an interconnecting restaurant/bar which although pricey had a nice atmosphere. Not to worry though there are loads of great places to eat and drink around the hotel and the concierge will be happy to recommend somewhere to suit your tasetbuds!

My only criticisms would be that we had not one but two interconnecting doors, while this was quite a problem on the first night as the neighbours had a baby the subsequent nights were fine. My other criticism would be that breakfast was not included in the rate but there is a great bagel place across the street where you can grab a coffee and bagel to start the day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GetCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear GetCarlos,
Thank you so much for your feedback. Let us know next time you are in town, we would love to assist assigning you a quieter room. I am glad you found the bagel shop across the street. It is a great local hot spot. We hope to see you again very soon. Best wishes, Stephane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My first experience of a Kimpton hotel was, I'm glad to say, excellent. I found the staff friendly on check-in, the hotel decor tastefully done, and our room was absolutely huge! The location is great, with many highly rated food/drink places in easy walking distance, and a metro station (Dupont Circle) a few streets across.
The breakfast (if included in your rate) was certainly more than adequate for us, with muffins, croissants, porridge and a few different juices included. They have a restaurant if you want something a bit more susbstantial.
Sign up to the Kimpton InTouch rewards club and you'll get free wifi access! Only downside is that the front desk staff didn't give us our breakfast vouchers on check-in, meaning that we ended up paying for the first mornings breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear James G,
We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. So sorry that we caused you to miss your first morning breakfast. Since your review, the Front Office team has implemented a new procedure regarding breakfast coupons distribution. This will really help us not missing a beat in the future. Thanks you for your feedback James G. We hope to see you again in DC soon. Best wishes, Stephane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I rate hotels on the conventional one to 5 star system. A 3 star hotel, for me hotels in the Marriott Hilton flag category can be very good or lousy. This one is very good and highly recommended.

The service is great the the staff the most friendly I have seen anywhere. Rates were modest. The decor of the entire hotel is funky modern, but it works. Small lobby with wine served at 5PM for guests. Many guests show up and wine hour is fun.

Rooms are large, but the space is underutilized, the furnishings don't utilize the room and are a bit worn. Great shower head with lots of water pressure. The room could have used a small sofa and the way the desk worked, the chair bumped into a column. Very comfortable bed.

24 hour room service. We had our last breakfast this way and it was late and my capuccino was cold. But that is my only complaint. Pretty good for a 4 night stay.

So why not 4 stars? The hotel restaurant, Urbano is fun but so so. Not a destiniation place. The lobby needs to be larger and sumptous and the rooms better furnished.

But so what at this price. If you want to stay in the DuPont Circle area, stay here and save money instead of a more distant 4 star place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Palomar is an excellent hotel choice. It is conveniently located near Dupont Circle and the metro but on a relatively quiet street. Lots of good eating locations are in walking distance. You can walk to Georgetown in 20-25 minutes. We had a huge room with 2 queen beds, which fit four us quite comfortably for a girl's weekend in DC. Striking modern decor, clean, comfortable beds, great AC, and friendly, helpful hotel staff. The complimentary wine hour from 5 to 6 pm each evening was quite popular and well run. Cabs were always available. What a treasure! We will definitely stay here again. We found a great room rate online.

Room Tip: We sought a large room; ours was over 500 sq ft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelLightandHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have often thought about staying here during numerous trips to Washington, D.C. and this past weekend made the trip to stay for one night. We were greeted immediately and given rooms that we had requested.
The Hotel Staff was very helpful and the Hotel itself was clean and quiet.
There is an outdoor pool, while very small, was quiet and clean.
The beds were comfortable, and the rooms were clean.
If you are a member of Kimpton's In Touch your wi fi is free and you are allowed to raid the minibar for some items on the House.
Dupont Circle area has numerous good restaurants and good areas to just walk or sit cafe style.
We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTrattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear BTrattler,
We are so happy you were able to stay with us. So great to hear that your enjoyed the hotel and interacting with the staff. We hope you will make it to DC again soon. We cannot wait to welcome you back. Best wishes, Stephane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

.We recently stayed for 3 nights at the Palomar Washington during the memorial weekend. The location was perfect and most convenient to the Du Pont Circle Metro Station. In fact we used the public transport during our 4 days stay without missing the rental car!.
The hotel was perfect and we got upgraded to an Executive King Suite. Please be sure to join the Kimpton program to get all the perks of the Kimpton brand. The closets in the room was amazingly large and I did not have to haggle with my husband over space! - There was plenty to go around. Our room was on the 8th floor and would request next time to overlook P Street. The King size suite was spacious room, with contemporary interiors, luxurious towels (which were plentiful), beautiful robes, great lotions, very comfortable bed, office desk and electronics... The hotel staff was most helpful with our requests. The hotel does offer a complimentary glass of wine each evening and tea and coffee in the morning in their lobby area. One could not have asked for more, at any price! The hotel was conveniently located on P Street and close to the Embassy Row, as must place to walk and see all the beautiful homes. In addition the hotel was not far from Georgetown or the national mall. Would definitely stay here again. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Join the Kimpton Program to get all the perks including complimentart upgrade. Also Higher rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhalla2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
3,294 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 142 in Washington DC
2,174 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#61 of 142 in Washington DC
1,281 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#28 of 142 in Washington DC
1,728 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#48 of 142 in Washington DC
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $134 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splitty, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing