We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #15 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I attended a conference and Hotel Palomar was close enough -great hotel, the executive king room was very spacious and well appointed. We requested a microwave in the room for our stay and the staff was very helpful, the microwave arrived 10 minutes after our request. The only downside was the bed, the mattress was too firm for our taste, but this is a matter of taste, I guess. We had coffee in the morning in the lobby (and free refills:) , a lifesaver !

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank maratoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,417
    958
    255
    92
    30
See reviews for
793
1,423
253
862
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were attending a conference at the Marriott, Wardman Park. That hotel was overbooked. I chose the Palomar because of the great reviews I read on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. It was an easy 10 minute cab ride to our conference, or you can opt for the metro. The executive king was very large and comfortable, spacious bathroom and comfy desk. We joined Kimpton in Touch, which gave us free internet access. There's free coffee in the lobby in the morning. We were not there for the cocktail hour.

Room Tip: Executive room well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mvision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The hotels front desk staff is specially nice and friendly.
There are three lifts and they are little slow.
We did not use the SPA so we can not rate it.
The wine tasting which is free at five each day is fun and we talked
to many nice hotel guest that gave us tips for our to do list.

Room Tip: Did not use SPA
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magnus1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Best thing about this hotel was the huge room , we booked an executive king . Lots of floor space and plenty of storage . Huge double wardrobe and 6 drawers , nice to be able to unpack properly . Loved the super size bed , so comfy . The bathroom layout was a little strange , lots of counter space for make up and toiletries but the toilet was very,very close to the bath! I would recommend this hotel and would love to stay here again.
This hotel is very close to Georgetown .

Room Tip: Book an executive king
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kir1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at Palomar in October, 2011 and had an excellent experience. The room was very large and modern. Fun animal print robes! Room service was great for breakfast. Good location for sightseeing. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We decided to stay at Kimpton’s Hotel Palomar after reading the continuously positive reviews in Trip Advisor and elsewhere. We occasionally ‘escape’ to the Washington DC area (from up the road in Maryland) to get away and enjoy the sites, but at the same time, avoid the DC tourist atmosphere. The weekend we chose happened to encompass European Union (EU) Embassy Open-House Day, as well as Mother’s Day.

Of all the areas in Washington in which to stay, my favorite, by far, is Dupont Circle-Georgetown. This area avoids the tourist-trap atmosphere so prevalent in the areas immediately surrounding Washington’s major attractions (National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, Capitol Hill, White House, etc.). Dupont Circle-Georgetown is an upscale blend of historic neighborhoods comprised of restored townhomes, foreign embassies, and a potpourri of trendy, upscale & unique shops, bookstores, restaurants, bistros, and historic sites.

The Palomar is perfectly situated a block from Dupont Circle – and the Dupont Circle Metro Station (Red Line). Although I have read reviews in which indicated Georgetown is very walkable, I would recommend taking a taxi, or a Metro Connector/Circulator bus from Dupont. Georgetown is not a short walk, and not accessible by the DC Metro. Study your maps.

Our first impression of the Palomar came from its trendy but functionally attractive decor and it’s friendly, smiling, truly accommodating staff. Our room – and ‘executive king’ - was well appointed and huge. I happened to mention that we were celebrating a special occasion during our stay, and was pleasantly surprised by a knock at our door with a bottle of complimentary champagne & sweets. What a charming touch! Our stay was brief – only 2 nights – but, as I mentioned previously, always upbeat & inviting. Each evening, a hosted wine reception takes place in the lobby area. I should also note that we ate lunch in Palomar’s Urbana Restaurant, which presented a surprisingly (for any hotel) reasonably priced, very well executed menu selection.

We will most definitely return to the Palomar on our next DC adventure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artistK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
161 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is the second time in a year that we have stayed at the Palomar. Each time, we find something new we like about this place. This time, it was the loaner bike that they had at the front desk -- I took it and went for a ride in Rock Creek -- all of the way to the Zoo, and back down to the Lincoln Memorial -- it was an exhilarating and fun way to stay in the city.

The only thing bad about this time -- the pool was closed. Hey -- I realize it is still cool in Washington, but I pick where to stay based on the kind of pool they have.

Room Tip: Corner King rooms have adjoining Queens -- the people next to us were loud and obnoxious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#31 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,451 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
The George, a Kimpton Hotel
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 949 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,827 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington’s historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city’s largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing