We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful room, fantastic location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #30 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful room, fantastic location.”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Me and my husband stopped here for two nights at the start of our honeymoon.
We had never been to DC before but were so happy we ended up at this hotel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the location was good (we walked downtown, round all the big sites and walked back again in one day), and the rooms were beautiful. Very spacious. A real bonus was the happy hour each evening and on our deal the inclusive continental breakfast which was delicious.
There is a lovely pizza place a few doors down to the left after exiting the hotel and aside from the downtown area, Georgetown is only a short cab ride away and has a wealth of lovely bars and restaurants well worth a visit.
The only small niggle and it really is very very small, was the inability to open a window in the bedroom for fresh air (I'm an air-con hater!) but this didn't spoil what was an otherwise wonderful stay.
Would definitely make this hotel my 1st choice if I returned to the area and can highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shed42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,760
    1,077
    296
    111
    43
See reviews for
938
1,598
274
1,011
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (783)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

...a birthday celebration for mature women, with hip spirits still intact! This hotel was spectacular for the price! The staff,at every level, was amazing........desk staff, parking guys, reservations,everything! The location was great......and they made everything so easy, so relaxing, and special touches added...( fun animal print robes/socks, DVD/cd player, wine happy hour, morning coffee, lemon ice water all day!

Ask for a corner room if possible, should you need a bit more room. I travel ALOT ( international flight attendant), and I found it to be an exceptional experience.....without the huge expense!

There is a wonderful French bakery a block away...full breakfast available.....healthy and special!
Great restaurants nearby, DC sites within walking distance, and cabs available continuously. But the staff, by far, was the highlight of the trip! Thank you Palomar!!! We are locals, and we will refer, and return!!!

Room Tip: Corner ripoff, and ask for upgrade if available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flygirlclb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
134 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I've had a hit-and-miss experience with Kimpton properties; this is one of the "good" ones. The location is great, between Dupont Circle and the West End/Georgetown. Rooms are large and well laid-out. Fitness center big, bright, reasonably equipped. Service was excellent, and they have the usual Kimpon amenities (free wifi if you join the Kimpton program (which is free); free coffee/tea; wine hour. I come to DC a lot (see my other reviews); definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadwarrierMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

As a Kimpton InTouch member, I am very familiar with the modern edge/modern vibe design of Kimpton Hotels so if you are looking for the old mainstream/stodgy hotels this is not your hotel. HOWEVER, if you are looking for a great location, friendly helpful employees and large, well appointed rooms, then this is your place. Kimpton is known for their service and the front desk staff at the Palomar did not dissapoint! The location is within walking distance to many great restaurants in the DuPont Circle area, an easy walk to Georgetown and close to the Metro. If you get the chance to stay here, do not pass it up.

Room Tip: Watch for the ice machine on the 3rd floor. Make sure you stay away from those rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bs081288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great location, friendly staff, great restaurant and large, clean rooms. Next to the Metro and all the "happening things" in Dupont Circle. Getting to and from the hotel is easy - taxis always available, metro stops 5 minutes (Dupont South) or 10 minutes (Dupont North). Urbana, its restaurant, is fabulous with a great wine selection as well.This is the absolute best hotel in DC for the money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Opihimoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just stayed a night at the Palomar last week and the location is excellent. Just a couple blocks from Dupont Circle and all that the area offers. The hotel itself is very stylish, with classy, but fun decor. We were upgraded to a larger room at the end of the hall and it was technically up to date, with USB/charging hub by the bed and plenty of plugs for electronic devices. The room's decor is upscale fun, but our room was starting to show a few signs of wear (wall outlet and desk electrical panel were loose), which is to be expected in a high volume property.

Colleen at the front desk was incredibly friendly and cordial and every contact with the staff was speedy and courteous. We didn't make it to the wine or coffee hour, but having stayed at other Kimptons, always appreciate them. If your'e not already a member, be sure to sign up for Kimpton InTouch for free wifi and a minibar credit. Also, valet parking only, so it's easier to pull into the driveway if you come up P street from Dupont Circle, especially during rush hour.

Overall a great stay!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 7th floor (741) at the end of the hall in the back of the hotel which was incre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VDPHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
182 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We enjoyed our five-night stay at the Palomar. The location is excellent, close to Dupont Circle transit and restaurants and attractions like the Phillips Collection (a great small art museum). You can easily walk to many destinations. Our room was comfortable and the fitness center is decent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebOChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#32 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#24 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing