We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, great location, stylish digs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #40 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just stayed a night at the Palomar last week and the location is excellent. Just a couple blocks from Dupont Circle and all that the area offers. The hotel itself is very stylish, with classy, but fun decor. We were upgraded to a larger room at the end of the hall and it was technically up to date, with USB/charging hub by the bed and plenty of plugs for electronic devices. The room's decor is upscale fun, but our room was starting to show a few signs of wear (wall outlet and desk electrical panel were loose), which is to be expected in a high volume property.

Colleen at the front desk was incredibly friendly and cordial and every contact with the staff was speedy and courteous. We didn't make it to the wine or coffee hour, but having stayed at other Kimptons, always appreciate them. If your'e not already a member, be sure to sign up for Kimpton InTouch for free wifi and a minibar credit. Also, valet parking only, so it's easier to pull into the driveway if you come up P street from Dupont Circle, especially during rush hour.

Overall a great stay!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 7th floor (741) at the end of the hall in the back of the hotel which was incre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VDPHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,291 - 2,297 of 4,526 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We enjoyed our five-night stay at the Palomar. The location is excellent, close to Dupont Circle transit and restaurants and attractions like the Phillips Collection (a great small art museum). You can easily walk to many destinations. Our room was comfortable and the fitness center is decent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebOChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Have stayed here 20 or more times. Always a positive experience. The valet staff could be more efficient. I have had to wait more than 20 minutes when no one else is checking out or requesting help on more than one occasion. Otherwise, only praise for this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms either face P Street or back parking area. I like to be able to look onto P Street, but both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've stayed in several Kimpton hotels previously, so have come to expect a certain kind of service, amenities, ambiance. The Palomar met those expectations very well. The staff at reception was very helpful, and just pleasant. The room was spotless, as were the common areas. Everything just worked well, making my 2-day business stay a pleasure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

From the telephone reservation to the check in to the fantastic corner suite, I cannot rave enough about my stay. I have been to four Kimpton Hotels and this the best by far. The Kimpton group outdoes itself every time. There was a smile on ever employees' faces and even the chambermaid was engaging and helpful
I cannot stop raving about the hotel. Thanks Kimpton!
And I do not work for Kimpton!

Room Tip: Upper floors have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rdynps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Hotel Palomar is a great hotel in Dupont Circle, near the metro and a modest walk to Georgetown. The staff is super friendly and helpful. I had an executive king room facing the front of the hotel. The room was huge and bright with floor to ceiling windows. The rooms and the hotel are very clean and modern. If you join the Kimpton InTouch loyalty program you get free wi-fi and $10 mini-bar credit. There is free coffee in the lobby between 630am-1030am and a free wine and cheese hour in the evening between 5 and 6pm. The brunch at the Urbana restaurant was reasonable and good. The hotel is a pet friendly hotel which was my only qualm because the dog in the room next to me barked every time someone walked in the hallway. Regardless, I will definitely stay here the next time I'm in DC.

Room Tip: Room facing the front of the hotel are bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtravellerLINY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We got a really friendly welcome on arrival and the free glass of wine in reception between 5 and 6pm was a good way to start the holiday! The room was clean and a good size, but tea/coffee making facilities would have been good. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and efficient. Breakfast (continental) was very good and a relaxing way to start the day and plan what we would do next in DC. The hotel is in a good location, with the bars and restaurants of Dupont a short stroll away, very easy to walk around DC from here but cabs are easy to get and cheap. When we needed a transfer back to Dulles the hotel recommended a shuttle service, this was ok and cheaper than a cab but it took over an hour and a half! We wished we'd just got a cab. This certainly isn't a reflection on the hotel though as the shuttle is a separate thing. Overall we loved the Palomar and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobby99England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,382 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,217 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,765 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 141 in Washington DC
1,297 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#42 of 141 in Washington DC
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $153 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing