We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never fails to disappoint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Suite Savings
Ranked #15 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Nashville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never fails to disappoint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay for the second time at the Palomar in Washington DC. Arrived late and was welcomed warmly by the check in agent. I was celebrating my birthday and the lovely manager left me a bottle of champage and chocolate covered strawberries. The room was 2 queens and was very spacious. Everyone working at the hotel had a warm smile and was friendly. The lobby is inviting with its daily wine hour. I love the location in dupont circle area and will return again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wally35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,415
    958
    255
    92
    30
See reviews for
792
1,423
253
862
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
115 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed in Palomar Hotel last week. it is a lovely respite from the heady, extreme character of Washington, DC atmosphere. Located near Dupont Circle, the rooms are dramatically large, beautifully equipped for computer work, ultra modern. quiet, and comfortable. A hospitable wine reception was held the night I stayed, but was too busy to avail myself of this delightful courtesy. My only negative and one driven by personal taste, was the African animal themes in the bathrobes and other amenities. These prints, magnificant African animals (zebra, leopard, etc), left me cold since my safari to Botswana and a few too close and personal encounters with some species (crocodile, elephant, lion). I was somewhat taken aback by the presence of these prints, although I recognize that many guests would find them appealing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilacroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My GF and I love Kimpton Hotels, so we booked here for our first trip to DC and Cherry Blossom festivities. Easy to get there in Subway from Reagan Airport.
We got an upgrade to a bigger room and it was huge. Front desk staff are really nice and helpful.
The room has a huge TV and nice beds, it features usb connections to charge your gadgets and a nice desk to work. Bathroom is a little small but its ok.
Bed is really comfortable but you can hear contiguous rooms and rooms located above, especially when they used the bathroom or shower. It was a nightmare for me since I am a light sleeper.
It is like 15 min walk from Georgetown or 7 dollar taxi ride.
There are lots of places to eat nearby and conveniently located 5 min from subway red line.
I will be back, but ensure to get a quieter room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LCMORENO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Palomar for two nights, April 23-25, 2013. I had booked a simple suite but Clayton and Mark at the concierge had some exciting news for me; I would get the presidential suite -that's a double upgrade. Needless to say, the room was huge and super clean and everybody was friendly and eager to provide their service. I had no time to see the other parts of the hotel (other than my footballfieldish room that is) but I'm sure they would live up. Being a fan of the Kimpton hotels (I adore the Eventi at NY) I really wanted the Palomar to be on par but having had a few bad experiences with hotels with a good name all over the world, I was reserved. Thankfully I was not at all disappointed and I will definitely visit the Palomar again on my next trip to DC.

P.S. You can't beat the location.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nikkostikis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was a return stay at the Palomar, chosen because of its excellent DuPont Circle location and because our previous stay had been so pleasant. Again, after this stay, we would choose the Palomar over similar DuPont Circle hotels. Our room, this stay, was much larger-long narrow entrance hall leading in to the fairly narrow, but large room. King bed with two side tables, a bench at the end of the bed, desk and chair, and comfortable chair with ottoman-all faced the TV positioned on a dresser. All furnishings were functional, modern, and pleasantly tasteful. Bath was large and very functional, also. On our last evening, the room safe malfunctioned, but engineering quickly responded, fixing the problem, and commenting that after multiple days of using the same code, the safe sometimes malfunctions. When brought to management's attention, we were assured that this would be resolved for future guests. We enjoyed the nightly wine tasting in the lobby and were impressed that a member of the Kimpton service staff was continually moving throughout the lobby, clearing left/finished glasses and plates. Front desk was always courteous upon either arrival or departure. Location can't be beat, facilities are excellent, staff is cordial/helpful...we will not hesitate to stay again upon our next DC trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShowMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times in the past 4 years. My recent stay was just as enjoyable as my previous two. The hotel is impeccably maintained and modern The rooms are spotless. The Executive King rooms are HUGE. DC rooms can be small. If you want a larger room, don't hesitate to book this type of room... for the price difference, you can't beat it. Location is good.

One negative about staying here is during the early morning rush hour it is difficult to get a cab. I always forget about this. You would think that the bellman would have taxi's called (they try hard to fetch one for you though in the streets). Probably better off using an app on your phone like Uber or arranging for a car in advance. OR just leave yourself plenty of time to get to your destination - on this trip I waited about 10-15 minutes and had to share a taxi with another guest (added to the trip another 10 minutes for both our drop-offs).

I would not hesitate to stay here again and again. Good choice for DC!

Room Tip: Get an Executive King room if you like lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funandrelaxation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here in September as part of a four city tour of the East Coast. And it was our favourite hotel. Firstly, the location is amazing (you must go to the book shop restaurant as you come out of DuPont Circle Metro) and we actually walked in both times we went into the City - once through Georgetown to relive our student days and once straight there. It was about 15 minutes. The rooms were great - Aveda products in the bathroom and the beds were HUGE. Made even better by the strange addition of some leopard and zebra print bathrobes. I know its strange to focus on those but they were really random!

Breakfast was fine.

The best bit was the evening nibbles and wine. We would aim to get back to the hotel for 5.30pm, grab a glass of wine and some cheese and olives, talk to the staff about what to do the next day or where to head for dinner and then go to the room to get ready before heading out again for dinner.

Would recommend - hoping that all of the Palomar chain is like this because I've been raving about them to everyone I know.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BeccaB521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#30 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,444 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
The George, a Kimpton Hotel
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 949 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,825 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington’s historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city’s largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing