We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Chic Hotel, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC to your Saves list
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Suite Savings
Ranked #13 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ft Walton Beach FL
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Chic Hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Like most Kimpton hotels, the Palomar is chic, modern and stylish, apparently aimed at appealing to younger travelers. The hotel is well located, a short walk from the Dupont Circle Metro station and Embassy Row, a mile from Georgetown, and close to countless bars and restaurants of every imaginable ethnicity. Although the posted rack rate for my room was $999/night, I took advantage of a SniqueAway.com offer of $189/night (plus tax). My room was very large, quiet and comfortable with good quality toiletries and animal themed bathrobes (very unique!). I found the staff to be warm and accommodating. Like other Kimpton properties, the Palomar offers a reception each evening featuring free (low quality) wine and (minimal) snacks - don't expect the quantity or variety that you would find at Embassy Suites, Homewood Suites or Residence Inns. Downsides: the limited view from the undersized window in my room captured only the brick walls of nearby buildings; no coffee in the room (at least none that I could find, although the hotel provided free coffee in the lobby each morning).

Room Tip: South facing rooms would have a more interesting view but might be subject to noise from traffic on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REEF_Surfer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,406
    957
    253
    92
    29
See reviews for
790
1,418
252
858
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Kimpton hotels are known for being dog friendly, as this one is no different. If you don't mind dog or even like seeing them, this is a great choice. If you don't like them, consider somewhere else.

The room was a big dated, and showed signs of wear. Lots of little things that don't affect the stay like cracking caulk, missing grout, and chipped night table. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the equipment in working order - though I worried that the water wasn't that hot and the pressure a bit weak.

Location is great, and the staff was wonderful. The place was very busy and the elevators slow, so hopefully you won't get frustrated.

I didn't think that the $42/night for parking was reasonable, but other than that its a good value.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jpmnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Booked the Palomar in DC through SniqueAway, quite a good deal! Great location in Dupont Circle, close to the Metro. The hotel was very nice and clean. The rooms were large and beds were comfy.

It was a bit difficult to find check-in parking...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bostanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just returned from a two-night stay at the Palomar and we were pleasantly surprised how much we enjoyed this hotel. I had taken advantage of a discounted opportunity through TripAdvisor's SniqueAway site. The sale coordinated with a trip to look at colleges, and the Palomar's location near Georgetown and GWU was perfect. The hotel has a funky, chic vibe. The nicely appointed room was large and the beds were cozy, complete with furry extra throw blankets and other amenities. The fun animal print robes were a nice touch as well. The staff was friendly and helpful, and we noticed the hotel welcomed pets, who were greeted with dog bones and fresh water in the lobby. The hotel also offered a free wine reception each evening. The neighborhood had good places to eat, including a few nearby cafes that I would recommend over the hotel's expensive breakfast in the dining room.
All in all, we would love to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room, which was near the end of the hall, but it didn't have much of a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KKF219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
292 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

In general, I like Kimptons for five reasons. 1) They are generally reasonably-priced, 2) they are well-located, 3) they are pet-friendly, 4) the service is always excellent and 5) they always have a unique, fun vibe. Having met all these criteria, the Palomar gets to a "very good" rating, but I asked myself whether the Palomar stood out as a particularly good hotel, among Kimptons, and the answer was "no." In fact, I had given the Nine Zero in Boston a "very good" rating, rather than an "excellent," and if I had to choose the better of the two, I would choose the Nine Zero over the Palomar, so I just couldn't see my way clear to rate the Palomar as excellent.

With all that said, however, the Palomar is located in the Dupont Circle area, which is one of the best parts of the city. The price is usually a bit higher than most of the other Kimptons in the area, due largely to the popularity of the location, and service is consistent with the high standards we've come to expect from Kimpton. So, all-in-all, it's a good hotel, and I would recommend it, but is it a "Kimpton among Kimptons?" Probably not.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WynneWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here twice now for work and have decided I won't stay here again. The rooms are very dingy, and the beds are awful. Lumpy pillows, very tired linen, and generally a very old feeling to everything. The beds have horrible faux fur throws on them and very thin old duvets. The rooms have a worn, sad atmosphere. Even the towels are old. Also, both times I've stayed here there have been problems with basic services, The staff are very nice but the systems don't work. Last time they checked a man into my colleague's room and he walked in in the middle of the night! Then they called my room - at midnight! - to apologise. I had been asleep for two hours. This time they forgot to send out my laundry - I had to call and then follow/up personally five times!! I also stayed at a Kimpton hotel in New York where very similar things happened. - Worse actually. So, don't be tempted by the lovely pictures on their websites - go elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarreeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I've stayed here twice this year( 2013) using a two different third party travel services which reveal this not so gem like hotel after purchasing. Price was fair for what I received which is just a bed , no view , and very little hospitality. When I asked for a room opposite the alley on the second visit, I was told none were available. Then I thought oh, these closets must be reserved just for frugal people like me. However I do have to note that I've booked directly from the kimpton site for a hotel in Seattle, WA and received a similar closet with alley view. Maybe it's just me putting out my bad dirty alley girl aura in the universe. Overall nice decor, great location, and paper thin walls with doors that slam so loud forget about getting a solid 6 hours.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,440 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
The George, a Kimpton Hotel
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 947 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,823 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington’s historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city’s largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing