We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #31 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We loved the decor, the service and the location of this hotel. The staff were friendly, the beds massive and the restaraunt was good. The rooms were quiet and well serviced by housekeeping.

My only two small gripes were that the standard breakfast included in the rate was a little lacking. The waiters brought a selection of cold breakfast items when I would much rather have chosen from a buffet. Items at an extra charge were tasty and reasonable value - the the choice was not very extensive.

My other problem was that there was no drinks making facilities in the rooms. Coffee etc was served in reception from around 6.30am but we were up at 5am (still on UK time) and desperate for a cuppa! We found it odd since the rooms were so lovely otherwise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireCrackers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,754
    1,077
    295
    110
    43
See reviews for
937
1,595
274
1,007
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This was a great hotel in a great location. Walking distance to tons of things. The bar/resto in the hotel was hopping on Friday night. They tried to give my sister and I a small room. When I called down to complain they immediately moved us to a massive gorgeous room. Probably one of the nicest I've seen. Cute bathrooms in the room. An Ipod dock. Very cute hotel. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were really pleased with this hotel. The room was huge and clean and modern. Lovely big bed, room service happy hour in the evening was a great way to unwind after a big day or warm up for a night out. Great service at reception, nothing was too much trouble. Local supermarket nearby, cafes and subway station. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzChards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I came for a short vacation on the front side of a business trip for myself. We decided to stay at Hotel Palomar because of Urbana's amazing brunch with bottomless champagne. We were welcomed to the hotel with great staff members, particularly Nick. Our room was huge and amazing. Animal print bathrobes were provided, along with furry slippers and a nice umbrella. For the cherry on top, there is a free happy hour in the evening. I absolutely love freebies, but to have wonderful staff and beautiful accommodations made this one stay we will never forget.

Room Tip: Our first night was booked through Jetsetter.com which gave us an amazing rate, plus a $50 gift cert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMart3307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear KMart3307,
We love that you enjoyed your stay so much. We cannot wait to see you again soon. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Went here for a youth convention and loved the hotel! It's very modern and chic which is just my style.
The rooms are pretty spacious but absolutely loved their decor.
They even had animal print robes in the closet which we found hilarious but enjoyed wearing them and taking funny pics.

We didn't get a chance to eat/drink at their restaurant but I'm sure it's wonderful (after reading other reviews).
The location is also ideal. I wish we had stayed there longer so we could have enjoyed the hotel even more.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank vkhlove4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear vkhlove4travel,
Thank you for staying with us. Great to hear that you loved the atmosphere and decor of the hotel. Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

You'll love it. For these reasons... Huge rooms, great location, complimentary lobby drinks every day, a great restaurant, brilliant room service, huge beds, great toiletries, wonderful staff, dog-friendly, modern luxury... Go go go!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank craiglegrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Now that's a Home Run! Thanks a lot craiglegrice. We hope to see you again very soon. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during a business trip and it was a very nice stay. Staff is very helpful and professional. Can't go wrong with the location. The restaurant that's in the hotel was also quite good and had a lively vibe. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjmnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,965 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing