We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Superb hotel in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #17 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Superb hotel in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

From the moment we arrived we were impressed.
It had a great "feel" and the desk staff were very friendly and helpful in getting us settled and orientated.
There is a happy hour b/w 5-6pm and I enjoyed the brandied hot apple cider on my return from the days outings.
Dupont Circle Metro is within easy walking distance - makes it easy to move around the City of DC if you are happy to catch the Metro.
There are nice Bars and Restaurants as well as a Starbucks within 200m.
We walked from Dupont Circle to Georgetown ( which is about 30 mins by foot ) and felt very safe in this neighbourhood.
Lots of young and trendy people frequent this hotel.
The room sizes were larger than average.
The Bathroom was a little small though, and each has a combined shower/bath which seems like an afterthought.
The Bar at the Hotel is excellent but gets very noisy ( which adds to it's ambience)
All up - excellent choice and would recommend to anyone staying in DC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Docballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Docballs,
Thank you so much for your feedback. Everyone works really hard to deliver this intimate and caring atmosphere and I love that you noticed. I will be sure to share your comments with the team. Happy Holidays, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,507
    985
    268
    97
    34
See reviews for
850
1,464
262
884
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm County, Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Wether you are on a business trip or on vacation, you will certainly like this hotel.

Comfortable and spacious rooms, located in a nice and safe area, friendly and helpful staff.

The bar has a great atmosphere and excellent cocktails. Wine tasting reception at 5 pm every day. Ideal for socializing, if you are raveling alone or new in town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gian Luca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Just back from a four night break in Washington and stayed at the Palomar. Read the previous reviews before choosing this hotel and have to say there all spot on. The staff are so friendly right down to housekeeping who always had a cheery good morning when they met you in the corridor. I arrived late fri night after my flight from heathrow and was checked in by Joy. She seemed genuinely pleased to see me and was very friendly and professional. I had booked an exec king spa room and got room 1035 on the 10th floor.
The room was really comfortable and a decent size. Bathroom was large with a deep two person jacuzzi, and separate shower. Also had a hatch in the wall to let you watch tv from the tub. There was a door which coud be closed for privacy if required.
Across from the bathroom was a walk in closet the size of a small room containing loads of hanging space, a safe, iron and ironing board.
The room itself was big with king size bed, separate sitting area with sofa and two chairs and work desk. Mini bar was well stocked with beers and sodas reasonably priced but wine ridiculously priced. There was also a handy iPod docking station and a charger for charging your iPad/iPhone.
Room service was fast and food of a very good standard.
The hotel has a small gym which for its size contained decent equipment including treadmills, rower, bikes, cross trainers and some free weights. Used it a couple of times during my stay and there was only one other person in it. Complimentary water and fruit also available in the gym.
There s a daily wine event in reception fom 5-7 which is good and every morning between 6 and 10 free tea coffee and hot chocolate in reception.
The hotel is in a good location on P street at DuPont Circle. It's handy for the Metro being only a 7 minute walk away and loads of restaurants and bars nearby. There's also a minimart across the road selling a large selection of groceries and alcohol to save you running up costly minibar charges.
Some folk mention the down and outs in the area but I only saw a couple and they kept themselves to themselves. The area felt really safe and there was no issues in that respect. If you sign up to the hotels loyalty programme either online before you arrive or at reception you get free wifi throughout your stay which is handy.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone considering a trip to Washington. The staff all seem really happy at their work and go out their way to make you welcome. A good all round hotel in a good area.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Virgin747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Virgin747,
Thank you very much for your feedback and for mentioning the staff for their friendliness and level of care. I will be sure to share your review with the team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Happy Holidays, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Absolutely brilliant location within easy reach of the Metro and walking distance (if you like a brisk hike) to all the sites of the Mall and Capitol Hill.
American customer service is renowned but the staff at The Palomar surpassed every expectation and previous experience. It was so nice to be greeted each time we walked into the lobby and for a 300+ room hotel it was great to be remembered. We did have a couple of issues with our room but they were sorted quickly and efficiently with no quibbles.
The room was compact, but clean with good hanging space (plenty of coat hangers) a free safe, DVD player, big TV, IPod dock and a good sized bathroom with nice fluffy white towels. The “his and her” animal print robes where very snuggily and my husband looked divine in his, which amused me no end.
The hotel holds an informal wine reception in the Lobby every afternoon and there is no issue with taking the wine back to your room or if you can't make it, reception will give you a token to use at the bar later. Bartender Jo was great, try his Margaritas - they are deliciously lethal. However, skip the “Continental Breakfast” and pop next door to Starbucks or for a really great selection Le Pain Quotidien is just up the road.
The concierge service was excellent; they arranged same day reservations at two extremely popular Washington eating institutions. My English voltage hair straighters didn’t work (should have realised) the hotel brought me a new set to the room which I used all week. There is a small, but well equipped gym. The hotel does have a pool but it’s outside, so no need to pack your swim suit like we did, if you are travelling in winter.
A fabulous all round experience that I would recommend. If I was travelling in the US again I would certainly plan to stay at a Kimpton.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrottingboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Globetrottingboo,
Thank you so much for a great review. We are so happy you enjoyed your vacation in DC. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon. Happy Holidays, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ON
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was my first stay at a Kimpton Hotel. We couldn't have picked a better hotel. Spent our 1st year anniversary at this hotel. Check-in staff was very friendly and genuinely welcoming. We received a complimentary upgrade and 50$ dining credit. A bottle of sparking wine and some chocolates were waiting in our room to my surprise. Thank you very much!! Can't wait for our next stay at a Kimpton.

Room Tip: Take advantage of their "password" that can be found online (eg twitter).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank metito4s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear balletbotox,
Thank you so much for celebrating your first anniversary with us. Love to read you had a great time and were surprised by our little gift we left behind. We hope to see you again soon. Happy Holidays, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I'm reviewing this hotel because it's one of my favorites in DC (if not my favorite). I've been lucky to stay at a couple of Kimptons, and this one stands out far above the rest. One of the reasons is because it's a Palomar, but compared to other Palomars, this one has it all - beautiful theming, great room product, superior service, good restaurant, and excellent location.

We were upgraded to an exec. king room upon check-in and it was huge! The room was well-appointed. I absolutely love the light-up night stands. The bathroom was pretty with nice Aveda products. We could here people in the hallway, but that's because we had some loud party-ers on our hall. Not an issue late at night- it was more in the evening hours that we heard other people getting ready for dinner/a night out. We also could hear noises in the connecting room, but only if you stood directly by the connecting door and the other person happened to be talking right in front of it (or using the blow dryer, which was our case).

The restaurant, Urbana, is worth a shot. Dinner was OK, but brunch was superb. Definitely try the bellini bar. It's a little pricey at $16.95 for unlimited bellinis, but you get to choose from a bunch of purees and they're all homemade and frequently restocked. You'll get your very own bottle of champagne for the table too. The bar has some really cool drinks as well during their happy hour. Was impressed with the selection. Staff was friendly as well.

Loved the proximity to Dupont metro station and all the shopping and restaurants in Dupont. Georgetown was a quick 15-20 min walk away. Very doable, and great during nice weather days. You can rent bikes from the Palo as well. One of my fave hotels in DC hands down!!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Amanda C,
Thank you so much for your great feedback. Love to read that we are on top of your list of places to stay in DC. I will be sure to share your comments with the team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Happy Holidays, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Spent just 3 nights at the Palomar which for my first visit to Washington was clearly not long enough!
Staff are all very friendly and welcoming, each evening at 5pm there is wine, hot toddy and nibbles in the foyer.
If I had one negative comment it was breakfast as not a great deal of choice unless you pay; which on the other hand it is not unusual in America and besides there's a great bagel place across the road.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,549 reviews
The Kimpton George Hotel
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,910 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 983 reviews
Upper Northwest
The Kimpton Donovan Hotel
The Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#28 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington’s historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city’s largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing