We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suprised this is so high”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #30 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
South Wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Suprised this is so high”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

We decided on the Palomar for our honeymoon as it had such rave reviews on here. I must say that although it was nice, it could've been much better. We stayed in a king spa room and it was nice and big and the jacuzzi tub (although fiddly to figure out how to use it) was lovely.

Lacking however, was the personal touches that I would expect in order to make this so high. When we arrived, we had a nice bootle of wine and some chocolate coated strawberries which was very nice but this didn't get removed once we had finished with it until we left. We were there for 5 nights so you can imagine what state the strawberries were in :-( The cleaning was very sporadic. They refused to remove any rubbish that wasn't in the bin (even though it was blatently rubbish).

The person that checked us in was very friendly but after that it seemed like we were constantly bothering everyone else.

Breakfast was meagre. It consisted of the ability to make your own toast, cereal and some not very nice muffins :-(

We enjoyed our time in Washington DC and will definitely return but we will not be staying here again. We also visited New York and Boston on our honeymoon and the standard of the accomodation at the Palomar was FAR below either of the other two locations.

Shame, I was looking forward to this hotel the most.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare_e_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Clare_e_2000,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We are proud of our outstanding service, clean and stylish rooms and great location, and don't like our guests to be anything less than 100% happy. My sincere apologies for not giving you the level of service you expected and should have received. I hope you will give us a second chance; I promise we will not fail you twice. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly to discuss this past stay or any future plans.

Best wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,734
    1,067
    294
    108
    43
See reviews for
930
1,585
272
996
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

This met and/or exceeded every expectation we had. We loved the art and design of both the entry and the room. The room was huge and the tub was exactly what we needed on our wedding night. The big bonus was that the bar ended up being a perfect place for our friends to meet up with us...it's an above average hotel bar for sure. Staff completely took care of us and made our night as special as it should have been.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
357 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

From the minute I walked In the door to when my taxi pulled away, I had a great experience.

I upgraded b4 I arrived and had a huge room. Wonderful bed. Everything worked. Enjoyable wine hour that really works--- people do meet new folk.

All staff are so helpful and pleasant.

I'd been told how good this chain was and now I'm really a believer.

Numerous superb restaurants nearby. 2 blocks to Metro.

2 blocks to Secondi.

No coffee maker n room but plenty free downstairs. Numerous bagel shops, etc. in the area but also nice restaurant off the lobby.

Room Tip: All rooms may be fine but the upgrade seemed worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear mmoly,

Thank you so much for a great review. We are so happy you had a great time and cannot wait to do it all over again very soon.

Best wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

The location is great and overall, it was what I expect from a Kimpton hotel, but the Palomar has decor that is very dark to the point of being a bit cave-like for my taste. The room was spacious & well-appointed. Front desk was helpful when I had the unusual request to borrow scissors. The bathroom was a touch scruffy around the edges but only if nitpicking. Overall, a pleasant stay but I'll go somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Jeanne S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review. I am sorry you found to decor to be dark. I was happy to read that you were satisfied with the service. If any future trip brings you back to DC please let me know. I will be happy to assist with your reservation with us or other Kimpton Hotels in the city.

Best wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Friendly Hospitality. Beautiful, Clean, Large Hotel on P Street, D.C. In the heart of Dupont Circle. We visited D.C. for the weekend, and could not have been more pleased with the Palomar Hotel. The staff was unendingly friendly and helpful. Beds luxurious and comfortable. Very nice, clean rooms, shower and bathrooms. Complementary delicious Coffee and Tea 6-10 a.m. each day, and Happy Hour of Wine or Juice 5 - 6 p.m. most welcome. We could bring our pet beagle, treated to water, pet bed and bowl, and friendly staff. Visitors from around world, enjoyed Lobby. P Street- Starbucks at Corner, Metro we took to the Smithsonian, station just around the Corner, CVS store 2 blocks up, nice residential side streets for quite walks, cab at front door, helpful concierge, many cafes close by, you will love the Park during day, with beautiful fountain. Highly recommend The Palomar. We cannot wait to stop back. Overnight Hotel vehicle parking approx. $45 per night. Small gym, and outdoor pool was not yet ready at our visit time.

Room Tip: Rooms are large. Bathrooms good size, great showers. Very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Catherine D,

We are thrilled you chose our hotel and had a great time. The pool is now open so we hope to have the pleasure hosting you again this summer. Thank you so much for your kind remarks.

Best wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We visited D.C. for restaurant week and this was my first time staying on this side of Dupont Circle. Convenient location, very close to the Phillips Collection, lovely restaurant week brunch menu (the most interesting menu among the Kimpton hotels int his city.) The concierge and front desk professionals were extremely welcoming and accommodating. Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

I was first introduced to the Kimpton Hotel chain (just over a year ago) via the Hotel Palomar and have been a fan of the hotel and the chain ever since. At a minimum - the hotel has a fantastic location in Dupont Circle, the design and decor is exceptional, the rooms and public areas are always very clean, the beds are incredibly comfortable and the room service is fantastic (great food, on-time, well presented). But the real deal is that the hotel is consistenly all these things.
Business travel is far from glamorous...but can be far more tolerable when you can find a hotel like the Palomar, where there are no surprises. Thank you Hotel Palomar for meeting/exceeding my expectations time after time. If only all my business meetings went as well. : )

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenPR_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear MaureenPR_S,

We are thrilled you are choosing our hotel to be your "home away from home". Thank you so much for the great remarks. I will be sure to share your review with the staff.

Best Wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,924 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing