We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“spa tubs are worth it!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #15 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“spa tubs are worth it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Pros: Great location, quiet rooms available in the heart of the city... spacious spa rooms. The staff is very kind and friendly, late checkout was allowed, dupont circle near by, restaurants are close by. I loved the tubs...large enough for 2, and they provide bath salts. Well done!

Cons: could use a couch vs. the 2 small chairs they offer. The lobby could be bigger... they offer wine service during the evening, but there is literally almost nowhere to sit.

I'd return for meeting but it's not quiet luxurious enough or expansive to feel like you're truly getting away for a weekend. Great for a business trip or for travelers out of town.

Room Tip: Select a room with the spa subs and exercise equipment. Rm 1012 was incredibly quiet!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear Foodwise,

Thank you so much for your great feedback. The spa rooms are super popular indeed. I am glad you liked it. There are some great improvements coming very soon as far as the living room is concerned. We have purchased some cool looking leather appointed cubes. It will add quite a few seats and it will for sure enhance the experience during Wine Hour.
Thanks again for choosing us Foodwise! We hope to see you very soon.

Best,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,416
    958
    255
    92
    30
See reviews for
793
1,423
253
862
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Very pleasant stay over MLK weekend 2012. The staff was welcoming, the room was perfectly appointed, quiet, roomy...everything one could ask for. The afternoon wine reception was a treat, as was the breakfast coffee bar that ran in the lobby all morning.
The best "take-away" was the real sense that the staff cared about the guests and their comfort. "No" did not seem to be a word they had in their vocabulary. Now, how nice is it to experience that in this day and age??

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtbnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear jtbnyc,

Thank you so much for your great feedback about the Staff. Care and Comfort are truly values we live by everyday! Thank you so much for noticing. I will make sure to share your review with the entire team.

Best Wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night over the weekend and it was absolutely awesome. The staff couldn’t have been nicer, the room was immaculate and the hotel amenities I thought were top-notch. When we arrived we were given a complementary upgrade which was awesome! The hotel serve complementary drinks and snack in the evening and had hot chocolate (with marshmallows) served through the day. We were also given complementary breakfast tickets for the Sunday morning and the food was simple but delicious.

They also have free bikes you can use which are actually really good. We took them to go across to Georgetown and then down to the Mall to see all the historical sights. Washington is very bike and pedestrian friendly so it was a wonderful way to do the tour.

All in all I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and can see why it’s #1 on trip advisor.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank follesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear follesLondon,

Thank you so much for staying with us while visiting DC. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for your review and great comments. The bikes are indeed a great hit. It makes sight seeing so easy to enjoy. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team.

Best Wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

A beautiful, central, clean and friendly hotel with great complimentary breakfast and huge rooms. No views but everything else was great. I Highly reccomend this Hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear William H,

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We hope to have the pleasure welcoming you back soon.

Best Wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

It's a small hotel...so not a luxury hotel. But, it is clean, nice, it has a lot of character. The staff was wonderful. They have complimentary wine between 5 and 9. The beds and linen are as good as you will find in any hotel. Hard to say that this is the #1 hotel in DC given the choices. But, definately one of the best boutique hotels.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I stayed here for a work event and loved it! The rooms were huge and very chic. Everything was beautiful and very clean. The staff was amazing so helpful and nice. It's also in a great location and was able to walk to the white house and other tourist spots. It was such a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed at the Kimpton Palomar for two nights after reading other guests' reviews and were delighted with the location, the room, our reception. Our two cats were welcomed, our van with its car-top carrier was parked safely in an outside lot by the very patient valet ($38.00 & $6.84 in taxes per night). True, full breakfasts were a splurge at $39.05 before the tip for my eggs benedict and my husband's steak and eggs, but the coffee and service was excellent, the ambiance fresh and un-crowded. We were shy about attending the evening wine reception in the lobby but it just solidified the over-all friendly tone. The two persons with whom we chatted definitely enhanced our visit, suggesting places to go and sharing some of their backgrounds. I particularly liked the multiple ethnicities of the staff--Ethiopia, Sierra Leone, Equador, Vietnam--also a cosmopolitan New Yorker--and their general sweetness--great hiring. Our standard King room was extra spacious, the bed among the most comfortable ever (my husband has back trouble, so this is a constant concern), the sheets and duvet smooth but crisp cotton. We didn't have a chance to use the leopard-patterned robes in the closet, or the sock-slippers, but appreciated the non-standard design. By signing up for Kimpton's loyalty program, we had free wifi--not sure if this is standard if you don't sign up, so definitely take a moment to sign up, and you are also likely to get a coupon for $10 worth of goodies from the in-room bar--we chose the $6.00 pop-up map of DC--very handy-- and a Dagoda chocolate bar, also $6.00--without the coupon, would never have opened the bar. Desk and lamp with built-in outlets made computer use easy. DuPont Circle location is easy walking to multiple restaurants--we wandered into Ping Pong @ One DuPont Circle for dim sum one night, Raku for a late afternoon lunch of yellow curry and coconut noodle soup with beef; and a late-night snack at the hotel's Urbana restaurant. The metro entrance is only a couple of blocks from the hotel, but we had good weather and walked to the National Museum--three subway stops worth of walking, $2.20 each to return by subway.

Room Tip: Our first stay was in room 822 overlooking the street and the front entrance--we thought it very spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuxuryExplorer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear LuxuryExplorer,

Thank you so much for your great feedback. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay interacting with the Staff Members and taking advantage of the great extras we offer. We cannot wait to do it all over again soon. Thanks again!

Best Wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#30 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,445 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
The George, a Kimpton Hotel
#13 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 949 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,825 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington’s historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city’s largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing