We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish and Friendly in a Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #30 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Stylish and Friendly in a Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

So what is it about Kimpton properties that is so appealing? I think it is the combination of being both stylish and friendly. I have stayed in trendy properties where the staff adopts a "cooler than thou" attitude which is grating. I have stayed in friendly places that were slightly worn. But the combination of attitude and qualtiy is terrific.

The freebies make what would otherwise be an expensive hotel a good value.

When my wife and I arrived, we were greeted at the front desk with a rousing rendition of "Happy Birthday" for my wife (I had mentioned it when making a reservation). But the front desk staff was so cool, the gesture did not seem forced at all. When we got settled, the hotel sent up a bottle of French sparkling wine and a platter of truffles and chocolate covered strawberries, gratis.

The room was huge and clean, and the bathroom was roomy as well (Aveda toiletries a plus). Water pressure was great, and the towels were high quality. As an Kimpton In-touch member I got free wireless and a free item from the mini-bar. There was free coffee in the lobby in the morning and both the Washington Post and the New York Times. Again, I was struck by the concerted effort at friendliness; these guys could give seminars to other hospitality industry staff.

The neighborhood is great: the edge of Dupont Circle within striking distance of Georgetown and Foggy Bottom. We walked to a restaurant and the Kennedy Center.

I got a great rate for a slow time of year: $109.00.

I give this place a slight edge over the Hotel Monaco in Penn Quarter. Hotel Monaco has a slightly friendlier staff and grander public spaces. But the Monaco's rooms are significantly smaller. Room size beats public spaces everytime for me. And while Penn Quarter is great, I give an edge to the Palomar's location which is close to three great areas (Dupont Circle, Georgetown and Foggy Bottom).

Some relatively minor quibbles. Parking is outrageous. I was charged $38.00 plus a "parking tax" that drove it to over $44.00, even more expensive than the Monaco. The fitness center is just O.K. And a bellman was not as carefull as I would have liked in packing our trunk (some very slight damage to an item we had bought earlier). But staying at the Palomar is very comfortable. Unlike other four star properties, you are not charged for every little thing. I did not bring my pet this time, but the no pet fee policy is generous.

Only the Ritz-Carlton rivals Kimpton when it comes to national chains in my experience.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms face the street side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stropertre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,703
    1,059
    289
    106
    41
See reviews for
913
1,576
271
977
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (763)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

I adored this hotel; have stayed at the Palomar in Chicago as well and it has become my favorite hotel chain. My room was huge and extremely comfortable. Seemed very convenient to everywhere I had to go-- I was there for work and was able to take cabs, but even cab rates seemed reasonable. We will be taking the kids to DC this year and I will not even bother researching other hotels. In my opinion, this hotel is flawless. (Service, amenities, food, comfort, etc!) Top-notch.

Room Tip: I always stay on a higher floor in a city hotel. Room service was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJDS15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear sdbBoston_MA,

Thank you so much for your great review and all the recognition! The next time you are in town please let me know. I would love to have a chance to say thank you in person.

Best Wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

Located in Dupont Circle, a great neighborhood for walking and trying local shops and restaurants. Starbucks is 2 doors down. Another great cafe that serves breakfast and lunch items (Soho Cafe) is just across the street. Kramers Books & Afterwords is a nice spot to browse titles and grab a bite inside or on the patio. If you like yoga, try nearby studio Tranquil Space.

The Palomar staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and nicely appointed. They serve complimentary hot cocoa and cider in the lobby in the afternoons as well as providing a wine tasting with light hors de'voeurs during happy hour. Wine and a cheese plate is left in your room in the afternoon and they have turn-down service.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetEscapeArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromssø, Norway
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

We spent two nights in this lovely hotel near Dupont Circle. The rooms are huge (at least for an European). The same can be said for the bathrooms. Everything is in good solid quality, and everything worked as it should. The service was far above what we expected, you feel like you are in 5 Star Hotel from the moment you get out of the car. It`s also a nice gesture to the customers to serve free vine and tapas every afternoon. The wine is no more than ordinary, but so what? It`s free and served with a big smile! The area is quiet and clean, and there are some great places to eat and drink. Nice place to start the explorations of D.C for people like us: first time in the city. We walked from the hotel to all the major attractions. I would definitely recommend this hotel!
One negative comment: The breakfast is overpriced in our point of view.

Room Tip: I would recommend one of the standard double rooms. They are more than spacious enough!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJOTromss_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

I was looking for fine hotel at the last minute to join a conference in Washington. My hotels of choice eg the Willard, Marriott were booked. I asked my assistant to find something on par and within walking distance to the embassies and historic attractions and of course, the conference.I was booked at the Palomar Hotel (I had never heard of it, but it is part of the Kimton hotel Cain, and I had heard of that chain. It was easy to find using my gps. It was easy to pull into hotel, and the valet staff were very attentive. I did not feel pressured to get bags to the room. Check in smooth, friendly and quick. Room was close to elevator and to my surprise, the rooms were very well insulated for noise and I did not hear a thing, if I did not set an alarm, I would have slept all day. The room was very well appointed and spacious. It had a large up to date flat screen tv with attached DVD player, large functional business desk with many outlets and charging stations. The bed bed was very comfortable, the closets more than adequate and included a safe which was appreciated. The hotel had full room service. Can't wait to go back for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: I would think all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear J G,

Thank you so much for your review! We cannot wait to do it all over again on your next trip. Please let me know if you need any assistance; it will be my pleasure to help.

Best Wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

From the online booking experience to the evening wine grouping to the huge bed to the excellent room service - this hotel is absolutely one of the best!

The rates are fantastic for what you get -- I managed to get a spa king suite for a very low rate considering that the suite itself was about seven times the size of my New York apartment.

The lobby and front desk are gracious and accommodating. The staff very helpful and friendly. Every night there is a complimentary wine gathering by the lobby fireplace and the wines are very nice - not bottom shelf at all. Dogs are welcome as well and the night I was there, a huge Newfoundland was parked in front of the fire. It was fantastic (but I happen to love dogs).

I checked in very early and they accommodated me by storing my luggage without question. The room itself was great -- huge. However, I did notice quite a bit of wear and tear on the walls and furniture. A bit like the hotel rooms I've visited in Vegas - worn edges on tables a d armchairs, rips in wallpaper, etc. it doesn't bother me, but I wanted to note it in case it's something that bothers others.

I was there for rest and relaxation and I got it. I ordered room service (delicious - same menu as the restaurant downstairs and reasonably priced) and had a bath and drifted to sleep on the gargantuan and highly addictive king sized bed. And yes, I had a bottle of wine from the mini bar. Worth it with my membership discount.

All I all, a wonderful experience. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. Without question.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ehdailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear ehdailey,

Thank you so much for staying with us! I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have a big goal: to provide great service and keep everything sparkly and clean. We realize that high traffic has taken its toll on some of our furniture and wall covering. Fear not; we are on it.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on your next visit. I will be happy to assist you with your reservation and take the time to say thanks in person.

Best Wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

My fiancé and I, stayed at the Palomar for 3 nights during the end of December. After a long coach trip from NYC and arriving in the evening we were extremely tired and just wanted to check into our hotel quickly and go to our room to rest.
Unfortunately we had misplaced our hotel voucher but thought that would be no problem as we would be on the central reservation system. This was not the case. When I was asked if I could retrieve this on my email, I asked politely if I could use their PC to do so. I was told yes there was a $5 charge to do so! Considering we were about to check in and were paying guests, we thought this was extremely rude. Luckily a manager said we could use the PC for free and found our reservation had been put under a misspelt name (their fault) for which no apology was offered. While we were looking for the confirmation, we were told that they had found our booking but it was for the wrong dates! Finally, after printing out our confirmation online we were able to check in and get our room key.

Other than the view, the hotel room was great! Very spacious and comfortable! Perfect for either a vacation or work stay and the hotel has a brilliant location. The housekeeping and breakfast staff were great as well.

Unfortunately, after a nice stay, we were again let down by the reception staff upon checkout. Their unfriendly attitude and general coldness to guests left a bad impression with us.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMT1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear KMT1978,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel while visiting Washington DC. I am so sorry about your experience with our reception. What pains me the most is the absence of willingness to help. You definitely have gotten my attention and I will be sure to share your experience with the Staff.
You should always receive the level of service you expect during your stay with us. Thank you so much for your honest feedback. Should any future trip brings you back to Washington, please let me know. I would love to have the chance to personally make sure your next stay is an all out success.

Best Wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
The Kimpton George Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing