We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel near Dupont Circle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #30 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Hotel near Dupont Circle”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We recently stayed in the Palomar Washington for 2 nights. The overall experience was pretty good. We checked in immediately and depsite being well before the allocated check-in time, we were shown straight to our rooms. However I was left a little disappointed by the rooms to be quite honest, they felt 'a little tired', felt like they could do with a facelift. However they were spacious, comfortable and clean. The staff were fairly helpful and the porters/door staff were particularly helpful. The wine hour was a nice touch but there was inadequate seating for all the guests which let the experience down somewhat. Overall, having recently stayed at the Kimpton hotels in Boston (Nine Zero) and Philadelphia (Palomar) I just felt like this hotel was relatively disappointing in comparison, don't get me wrong, it was a good hotel with good staff but just didn't have the X Factor that other Kimpton hotels provide.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeighHolford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,760
    1,077
    296
    111
    43
See reviews for
938
1,598
274
1,011
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (783)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I stayed two nights for a meeting last week, and I wish I had had a chance to stay over a little bit more. Arrived tired a little after five, and before I had finished checking in someone had handed me a glass of wine. The lobby was lovely, with fireplaces and comfortable places to sit, and the wine (and hot toddy) reception was a really welcome way to arrive. Had a great meal in the hotel restaurant, at a decent price with excellent service, then up to the spotlessly clean, quiet, and well appointed room. I had to leave very early, more than an hour before the morning coffee service started, but someone at the desk asked if I would like some and went to the back to get me one. Every time I interacted with the hotel staf, they were friendly, knowledgable, and really helpful- clearly customer service is a top priority here. I would happily come back again if I ever need to be in the area (which looks like it would be great for sightseeing and eating out.)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Dear D C,

We are really proud of the warm and genuine atmosphere we create and love that you noticed.

Thank you so much. I will be sure to share your review with the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Best Wishes,
Stephane Vogel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Fantastic accommodation with top quality service - stayed here 3 nights on business trip out from Australia. Free WiFi if you sign up with Kimpton (free) otherwise only $10USD per day. Rooms are huge, luxurious and well furnished. Location is convenient to the Dupont Circle district. Valet parking is about $40USD per day, but I guess you expect that in the centre of DC.
Check out 'Cafe DC' around the corner too - doesn't look great from the outside (nor the inside for that matter) but food is delicious!
No doubt about it, I'd stay here again when next in DC.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudeDudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I thought this hotel was truly 1st class. After spending 5 miserable days in the Phila Palomar last year, I was pleasantly surprised by the room spaciousness and friendly staff. I would highly recommend this for families traveling with teens as there is plenty of room to spread out. Some of the items mentioned in recent reviews are true but not enough to alter this review in any way.
It surpasses, by far, the Ritz Carlton in Pentagon City if you are considering that hotel as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leeislegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oil City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Spent Saturday Night at the Palomar on business. Wine party was fun. Met very interesting people. The boutique hotel experience makes this a great choice over the large chain hotels. Stayed in a King Spa suite. Maintenance issues with lamp and jacuzzi tub. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were great.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieTravels62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Dear LaurieTravels62,

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I was truly pleased that our Team delivered the customer service we are so well known for. I would like to sincerely apologize for the issue you encountered with the Jacuzzi and the lamp. We will be sure to check the room and make all necessary required maintenance. If any future travel brings you back to Washington DC, please do not hesitate to contact me directly; it will be my pleasure to assist you personally.

Best Wishes,
Stephane Vogel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

It's no surprise this hotel is #1 in Trip advisor! We booked a package on American Airlines Vacations that included the smallest room in the package. The front desk assistant gave us bigger rooms without even asking for them. We are members of the Kimpton program so we also received a $10 voucher to the minibar and free wi-fi. The continental breakfast was adequate for being "continental". The hotel also had little perks like free coffee and tea in the morning. Free hot chocolate from 2-3 p.m. and a free wine reception from 5-6 p.m. I was never able to take advantage of these perks because I always found myself in the other side of the city at these times, but I still think it's a nice thing to have. I definitely recommend the Palomar for your DC visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Dear Naty1,

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for your continued support of our Hotel. Should you need anything please do not hesitate to contact me directly. It will be my pleasure to assist you.

Best Wishes,
Stephane Vogel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

I stayed here during August. The room was spacious and I liked the modern styling. However, I have two cautions if you book this hotel. The lifts are slow and very small. I landed up having to haul my luggage down several flights of stairs to check out. The person in front of me had already been waiting 20 minutes before I arrived - but could never get in as it was always full. Secondly, check your room isn't next to the ice dispenser...it can be a long night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorr H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Dear Alsace_11,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your trip with us this summer. I am sorry our elevators did not keep our guests moving about rapidly enough. Having to carry luggage down the stairs is really inconvenient. Please accept my sincere apologies. I was pleased to note you enjoyed your guest room.

We hope you visit DC again, so we can welcome you back.

Best Wishes,
Stephane Vogel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#32 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#24 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing