We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, Spotless Hotel with Amazing Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Ranked #75 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
boston, ma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun, Spotless Hotel with Amazing Service”
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Another excellent Kimpton Hotel! We recently stayed at Hotel Rouge. Excellent, excellent service--an employee from the bar who knew that I had a cold later brought a thermos of hot water & tea up to my room (without any request on my part). This is extraordinary service. Service was intelligent and friendly--the staff members talk to you and if you ask a question, someone thinks about it and gives correct and useful advice. And: you will find a spotlessly clean and LARGE room, a comfortable space to sit for two, with a lamp and ottoman, a very comfortable bed and a large closet area. Hotel has lively cocktail hour with wine and snacks. It also has an on-site restaurant/bar open. We didn't eat much in hotel but was more than fine for breakfast. As for location, it's a pleasant 20 min. walk to Smithsonian Mall, easy 5-10 min walk to Dupont Circle. Lots of shopping, restaurants there. Hotel is on quiet, safe feeling street. We had a dog with us. Totally easy to travel with pet at this hotel. This hotel is a gem.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    645
    204
    82
    36
See reviews for
386
583
153
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Our first visit to the Hotel Rouge was a year and a half ago. I had to go to DC on business and my family came with me. Since then I have received a constant barrage of requests to go back to the "Red Hotel" from my kids. We had a few days off recently and booked another stay at the last minute. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The decor is funky and fun. On both stays the rooms have been very spacious. I had the best night sleep that I've had in a hotel in quite some time. The kids are already starting another campaign!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Girlfriend & I stayed here from Fri 11/5 - Sun, 11/7, as a quick weekend get-away for my 33rd birthday. After a long day of work & a 4.5 hrs bus ride, hotel staff greeted us & checked us in quickly, then directed us to a great restaurant. Prior to arriving, Audrey Washington, Guest Services Supervisor, sent "expecting you" e-mail and answered some questions promptly as well as arranging for an unexpectedly pleasant surprise when we went to our room - a complimentary bottle of wine & excellent red velvet cupcakes, as well as hand-written birthday cards. Small things like that make it clear when a hotel cares about its guest's satisfaction. Hotel in great location, room larger that our studio apt in NYC, bed amazing, and entire place very clean. Staff very pleasant at all times. Will definitely return and highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseywooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2010

I came to DC for a work conference. My original reservation at the conference hotel (Washington Hilton) was completely screwed up and I did not have a room. I had to quickly find a hotel during the Stewart/Colbert rally weekend and found that the Rouge had a room available online.

I called the hotel and told them about my horrendous Hilton experience. They reassured me they had room and booked me in a king deluxe. The price of my deluxe room was considerably less than the crappy Hilton room I had originally.

When I arrived (which was hours before regular check-in), my room was already ready. It was a FABULOUS room. Large, nicely furnished and immaculate. The staff were the friendliest I have ever encountered in a hotel chain. They even sent me wine and fruit later that night with a personalized note saying they hoped I had a better experience with them compared to the Hilton. I was amazed -- I have never received such personal service in what I would consider an economy type hotel.

Overall, I cannot say enough good things. I have stayed in various Kimptons before and I have never had a bad experience. This one was superb. Next time I need to go to a work conference, I will not fall to the pressure of staying in the conference hotel because they are large and generally dont care about service. I'd rather find a Kimpton nearby and take a taxi...it was much more enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgia1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2010

This was our second stay at the Hotel Rouge, we like it that much. The staff is the friendliest most helpful staff of any place we've stayed. They really seem to want you to feel at home. And we love the whole feel of the place...funky but functional. We didn't know much about it when we first stayed this past spring but it turns out the location is so great, you can walk anywhere in a matter of minutes. I would and have recommended this place to my friends.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank donnaleebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager1315, Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2010
Thank you so much for your positive feedback, we value your opinion. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2010

My husband and I were recently evacuated from our apartment due to a fire on the upper floors of our building. The Rouge, about two blocks from our apartment building, came through with a complimentary night's stay for us. The staff were perfect - very empathetic and understanding. The room was very clean, the bed comfortable and very artfully decorated. Breakfast was delicious. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pblackindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

A small but friendly hotel--only about 12 minites walk from The White House"The designs are very art decco and colours very bright.
The rooms are big and comfortable.
The staff are very friendly and helpful
We hace just had our second stay there and would be happy to have a third.
As we flew in to DC I dont know about parking
It was about a 10 minute walk to the Metro which is useful to use in DC. We felt very safe there

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 27Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager1315, Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2010
Thank you so much for a great review, please visit us again soon. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#83 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Property: Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Address: 1315 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Rouge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Kimpton Rouge Hotel is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Kimpton Rouge Hotel entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing