We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Ranked #75 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Orlando, FL
1 review
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I've stayed at this hotel many times, as I travel to DC for board meetings at least three times a year. Every time the staff is incredibly helpful and nice. The hotel has a great, intimate bar that has great food as well. Most rooms are very spacious and the beds are really comfortable. The location is just blocks from Dupont Circle and an short walk to lots of restaurants and clubs. Cabs are plentiful in the area, so if you don't want to walk, a ride is never far away. It is always my first choice when traveling to DC.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    645
    204
    82
    36
See reviews for
386
583
153
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Stayed here for a week and it was brilliant. The staff were really friendly, happy and helpful. The room was lovely and the bed really comfortable. They offer nibbles and wine between 5 and 6, bloody marys and cold pizza on a Saturday (for those hangovers). There was coffee every morning and fresh lemon or orange water all day, all this free of charge!! For us it just added that little exta something! Its in the centre of washington, a couple of blocks from Dupont cirlce and walking distance to the white house, most lines of the metro and Starbucks!! We will definately be going back. We can't wait!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2010

I would recommend anyone staying at DC make an effort to stay at the Hotel Rouge. The decor was lovely and made a frustrating business trip feel like a special occasion. Even though there was a massive convention of surgeons in town, the staff at the Rouge treated me and my colleagues as if we were the only guests.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank velkyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

This was my first time staying at Hotel Rouge. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The room was bigger than I'd expected with the exception of the bathroom which was on the small side. The bed was comfortable and the animal print robes were a fun touch.

I requested early check-in. Upon arrival we were told that there were no available rooms. The front desk held our bags while we did some sightseeing. We returned about 3 hours later and were given a room right in front of the elevator. Not my favorite place to be due to noise, but thankfully there wasn't much activity out in the hall.

The bed linens--specifically the pillowcases--were a bit worn and there was definitely a mosquito problem in the room.

Overall a nice place. It didn't blow me away but it was certainly not a disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scorp1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Great location, awesome service, large rooms. Very swank, and hip. Pet Friendly. This boutique hotel just has it all and it's the only place I stay at when in DC.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrera911e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager1315, Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
Thank you so much for your feedback, please come back and visit us again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2010

One of the best hotels in the area. Wonderful staff, clean large rooms, and very comfortable. The staff is helpful, and quick to assist. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the DC area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveler034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager1315, Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
Thank you so much for the feedback, please visit us again soon. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I loved our stay at this hotel - staff was amazing, we had a good breakfast down in the cafe/bar - room was awesome, great decor and so much fun to stay there - also the hotel was super pet friendly with personalized welcome signs and treats for the doggy guests each day!! Only a short walk from Metro and the cafes, bars and restaurants in Dupont Circle!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soyrubiamad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#83 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Property: Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Address: 1315 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Rouge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Kimpton Rouge Hotel is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Kimpton Rouge Hotel entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing