We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I still can't believe it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Ranked #88 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We were welcomed so warmly in DC, (this past weekend, Easter, a busy time) by Darius,Danielle, Rachel, and Chase. We were traveling with our Lab, and honestly they all acted like our appearance made their day. These were young, bright, lively people, and they went out of their way to make sure we two retirees and our dog were well taken care of, gave us many useful tips, and just generally were beyond helpful. Upon arrival, our room was upgraded to a larger one, and it was beautiful and comfortable. I know part of why we enjoyed our first trip to DC was staying in Hotel Rouge, lovely area, and what a bargain! 100$ ( I made the reservation ahead, and was so pleased with the cost.) Will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: They upgraded us upon arrival for no addtional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Sandy L. Believe it! Thank you for letting other travelers know about your great experience at the Rouge! I am pleased that you enjoyed our friendly atmosphere and upgraded room!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,895)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

713 - 719 of 1,895 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

Our first time in a Kimpton, it won't be the last. A lovely hotel, front of house staff were excellent and the happy hour (complimentary glass of wine) went down very well at the end of a long day. Our booking also gave us a complimentary continental breakfast which was most welcome and there was a good choice. The room was lovely, nice and clean, spacious and very well decorated in the signature 'rouge' colour. The bed was super comfy and even though we were next to the car park it was generally very quiet. It's well worth signing up on line to be a Kimpton 'in touch' member as this gives you complimentary wi-fi and $10 off your mini bar bill. Said mini bar is very well stocked so we took advantage of this. The room service also was excellent; we had a lovely meal in room two nights running as we were too tired to go out!
It is a bit of a walk to the nearest Metro station but not too bad. Cabs are always near by so getting about not a problem. We will return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraJLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear LauraJLane. Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on providing a unique experience as well as a clean, comfortable and welcoming atmosphere so we thank you for noticing! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The Rouge is a good choice in DC. It's close to lots of great new restaurants on 14th Street, as well as sites of interest downtown. It looks like a club/lounge on the outside, which is off-putting, but the rooms are fairly large and nice.

My complaints:
1. The gym is abysmal. It's as if it was an afterthought. 2 treadmills (one of which didn't work), and 2 old ellipticals with some free weights, shoved in the basement next to the employee staff room, with no AC. Awful!
2. The bathroom is pretty small.
3. The "happy hour" wine they offer is also terrible. I don't think it's just a problem related to this location - I stayed at a Kimpton in San Francisco as well and the wine was bad there too...and if it's bad right near wine country, you know you're in trouble!

Otherwise a good stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbugNY7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear travelbugNY7. Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed our large rooms and great location! Our rooms and lobby were recently renovated, and our hallways will be done very soon! We do have a smaller sized gym, but we are partners with a larger gym around the corner for guests who need more space and variety when they work out. Thanks again for commenting on your visit and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We have stayed at most of the kimptons in DC- this one falls right in the middle. Location is great- rooms were clean and spacious. We were in room 416- seemed to be in a corner and had extra space- very nice! The breakfast- no so great- but ours was included for $1 extra- can't complain too much, fresh fruit was nice. For the price and location this Kimpton is a great choice- if you want to spend a bit more, do the Donovan House- if you are on a budget the Helix would be the downgrade in the neighborhood. One real nice touch is the Free night of parking for red cars- loved that!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauliepalmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Pauliepalmz. Thank you for taking the time to give us valuable feedback about your visit. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the Rouge and found us to be a great value. We have heard a lot of feedback about our breakfast options and are currently working to upgrade and improve the look and quality. Thank you again for being a Kimpton fan and for letting other travelers know about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

When it comes to going on weekend getaways, for my wife and I, we are always concerned with what to do with our fur child. Ever since we found the kimpton brand a few years ago, we strive to always stay with them whenever possible. For reasonable prices, we can bring our pug on vacation with us, get a bed for her, treats and a dog bowl. They will even walk her for us if we can't return to the hotel in a timely fashion. We both absolutely love this hotel and we love the brand. Genuine people interested in actually helping folks enjoy their stays at their hotels.

Ps while at this hotel, get a chill room. That was tons of fun for our weekend!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Redux27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Redux27. Thank you for letting others know about your great experience and I am so pleased that you have found our wonderful group of Kimpton Hotels that are great for the whole family – including pets!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We needed a room for five on very short notice and were quite happy to get one here for a reasonable price. The beds and pillows were comfortable, the room was spacious (2 queens and a rollaway), the shower was good. It was not a particularly quiet room - could hear hallway noise and noise from the room next door (two small children). The breakfast was just ok, not particularly good. Front desk was very nice and responsive. The hotel was a 15 minute walk to the back of the White House, 30-40 minutes to tidal basin and Mall. All in all, it lived up to my expectations. Not the best hotel, but suited our needs at a reasonable (for DC) price. I rated it as average because it's not quite "very good". The breakfast would have to be better and the soundproofing would be better.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Ellen2006. Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback! We will certainly take your comments and work to improve the sound and breakfast quality! When you return, you can expect to write a 5 star review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a recent family trip to Washington for 3 nights and would certainly recommend it, particularly if travelling with family. We stayed in a room with king size bed and 2 bunk-beds in a separate alcove, which also included a TV, games and a playstation. Judging by the small leopard-print bathrobes it was aimed at younger children, however our 23 yr old and 15 yr old felt suitably at home. The deal we had included free continental breakfast and this was good by US standards (not just coffee and pastry) and included fruit, bagels and cereals - great to get you started for the sightseeing and the national mall is walkable from the hotel. The staff were excellent and went out of their way to help. It certainly embraces the 'rouge' theme in the decor but this just adds to the place. Well worth a visit and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Homer1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Homer1970. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your trip to the Rouge and DC! We love it when families visit and our bunk rooms are perfect for making you feel at home while providing comfortable and private sleeping areas for everyone! Thank you for taking the time to let others know about your great experience and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#90 of 141 in Washington DC
1,338 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#61 of 141 in Washington DC
1,301 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,236 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#38 of 141 in Washington DC
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Address: 1315 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $127 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Rouge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Kimpton Rouge Hotel is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Kimpton Rouge Hotel entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing