We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service Oriented Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Ranked #82 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Unless you were looking for it you might never know that this lovely little boutique hotel was nestled in the heart of DC.

Upon arrival I was slightly panicked as I couldn't find anywhere to put my car and the valet was not out front. I wedged into a spot put on my hazards and ran into the front desk to seek assistance. The front desk attendant quickly offered to parallel park my car for me until the valet was available to take it. What service! When checking in I was upgraded to an Executive King Room. The room was very spacious for a city hotel room and had an entire wall of windows! The bed was comfy and the room was clean. Although the hotel is thinly staffed the service was spectacular.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area looking for a service oriented boutique hotel experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luxurybarginlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear luxurybarginlover. Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you found our excellent service and loved your upgrade to one of our executive rooms. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

767 - 773 of 1,887 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed here over Thanksgiving mainly because they had such and attractive rate, and it was close to family. The rooms are so much fun. All done in reds, and pinks. Very very large, and comfortable. There was an evening wine service in the lobby. Wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filisann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear filisann. I am so pleased that enjoyed your visit and thank you for choosing the Rouge to stay during the Thanksgiving holiday. Thank you for telling other travelers about your great experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We really enjoyed the hotel. Easy 8 min walk to Dupont Circle and metro stop. If traveling with kids, request room with bunk beds. Become a Kimpton member for extra perks, including free wifi. Very nice and helpful staff. Free coffee in the morning and wine happy hour. Most Kimpton's allow pets/dogs, so keep this in mind if have allergies.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank 80west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

80west. Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed our service, location and bunk rooms! I am also pleased that you enjoyed the perks that come with being a Kimpton InTouch member including a $10 minibar credit and free internet! We do accept pets, but we also have pet free floors for those with allergies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We celebrated a birthday at this hotel and must say this hotel has some very dramatic and cool furniture... Me and my girls are quite the photo takers so I must say the backdrop was great. The hotel overall was cool. Plan to pay for parking of walk..they do have valet and I do believe there is a discount for particular cars so ASK. There is a bar and lounge that looks very inviting. The bathrooms are small and elevators sloooooow. But it was clean, hip and looked just like the pics once you get to the room! I would stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsLea25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear MsLea25. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Rouge! I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back. Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

stayed here for work. main concern for most folks - about 15 minute walk to nearest metro station. not good like during this most recent ice storm. but otherwise, very similar to other kimpton offerings in the country

Room Tip: top rooms are nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyronQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear MyronQ. Thank you for choosing the Rouge Hotel for your last visit to DC! I am sorry that Mother Nature did not cooperate and we hope that next time, the walk to the metro down lovely Embassy Row, will be more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent the first 4 nights of our America trip at this hotel & I wouldn't stay again. A bit of an odd neighbourhood as it's not close to anything really - and by close I mean it's about a 20min walk to get to the nearest train station. I expected it to be a bit closer to the action but that's my error in researching. The restaurant is quite nice, although I ordered a cocktail & found it to be undrinkable - tasted like cough medicine! I'm not normally one to pick at things like that either, and I've enjoyed many a cocktail before but this was just...wrong. Another flaw in this hotel is its security systems - we were locked out of our room TWICE on different days. We come home from a long day out & just want to crash & next minute our key doesn't work?? What's with that!
The positives of this hotel are its SUPER COMFY beds & warm showers. At the end of the day those were my most important factors & they didn't disappoint! Unfortunately this hotel didn't blow me away but I'm sure it had the potential to.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank kate_esther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear kate_esther. Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your visit. We hope for the opportunity to blow you away the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I travel a lot for business and overall this hotel has a lot of amenities for the price.
PROS: The room was spacious and comfortable and the hotel staff was very friendly! The housekeeping staff said hi to me everyday and the people at the front desk remembered who I was. Loved the happy hour and Manuel just kept filling my wine glass without me having to ask. I found the location to be very convenient and walked to Whole Foods just a few blocks away for most of my meals.
CONS: Room was a little "worn"...kids had obviously stayed in it (I love kids BTW) as there was glitter on the dresser and scribbles all over the services book. We ordered coffee and it took an hour, granted we were not charged but really, an hour! The gym was OK but it too was a little tired. Red is my favorite color but having it in the halls was a bit overwhelming and not soothing.
Overall a great DC hotel for the price, amenities and location...going back in January for another week.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChefEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear ChefEllen. Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your recent visit to the Rouge. I am so pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit and that you will be returning in January. We will be sure to be more detailed in our housekeeping while cleaning up after the little munchkins! Also, we are scheduled for a corridor and elevator renovation in the first few months of the New Year! This will make a nice update and we look forward to your opinion about the changes we make! Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#71 of 141 in Washington DC
1,313 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#59 of 141 in Washington DC
1,287 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#41 of 141 in Washington DC
569 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,190 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Address: 1315 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $101 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Rouge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Kimpton Rouge Hotel is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Kimpton Rouge Hotel entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kimpton Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing