We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A passionate palette backed by a stellar staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Ranked #79 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Red is hot. Red is bold. Red is sexy. And as the namesake for the Hotel Rouge, red is the perfect embodiment of all the vibrancy and excitement of this space. From the metal-studded leather entry doors to the tiger-patterned carpeting of the hallways, every inch of the place reeks of flamboyant style and over-the-top fabulousness. A glittering crystal light fixture mirrors the sparkling red tile of the lobby, and a striking bit of modern art draws the focus to an intimate seating area. This is where the complimentary nightly wine hour takes place, an event that brings guests together and adds to the convivial atmosphere that is already in place.

Like most Kimpton properties, the Hotel Rouge prides itself rightfully on its bold and quirky style, and the best parts of this boutique hotel are those touches that peek around corners with a wink and an unexpectedly pleasant surprise. (Such as in the closet, where the traditionally mundane white robe has been given some pizzazz in whimsical animal prints.) The Hair-of-the-Dog weekend special, which offers Bloody Marys and cold pizza for those of us still reeling from the night before is another of these gleeful amenities.

The room I was given was sprawling in space, with two ample queen beds, a ceiling-high framed mirror, and an expansive desk that also supported a large flat-screen television. A long row of windows let in lots of natural light, and red velvet drapes provided the option of shutting out early sun. An unconventional mini-hallway (which provided a fridge and bureau drawers) led to the bathroom, which was where the spatial sacrifice for such a large main room was made. The tight quarters of the bathroom was the only minor quibble to be made, and merely in the sense that better use might have been made of the lay-out. Yet it is hardly worth mentioning when the rest of the place has so much going for it – especially on the service side of things.

It’s the staff of a hotel that can make or break a visit with their attitude, their helpfulness, and their demeanor. Admittedly, it’s not very fair to put such a burden on someone, but the staff at the Hotel Rouge rose and surpassed such expectations, providing exceptional service across-the-board. You can tell when someone takes pride in their job, because their work is exceptional and their joy is palpable. Every staff person I encountered exhibited this sort of exuberance, and such enjoyment was contagious. If you want to feel glamorous inside and out, check into the Hotel Rouge.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear AlanI. Thank you for your glowing review! Looks like we are a perfect fit and your comments about our superior employees is music to my ears! Thank you for noticing the extra perks and unique touches that make us stand out! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,859)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Rouge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

759 - 765 of 1,859 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

When you stay any major hotel chain - Intercontinental, Hilton, Fairmont, Holiday Inn etc, you know what to expect. Standard issue decor. And service is always good. But a boutique hotel was outside of the box for me and I have to say it was great. One / two blocks from P and R streets in the DuPont Circle area of Washington, no major need was far at all. P an R streets offered restaurant and supermarket options, if you choose not to eat in-house, and I have to admit, we only ate in for breakfast for the $1 continental deal (join their loyalty program, it's free, and you get this benefit plus free wi-fi). The nearest underground station is Dupont Circle about three? blocks away. We used the underground to get around on our 5 day visit then walk to your point of interest. As underground systems go I was a) pleasantly surprised at its consistent architecture and; b) how clean, tidy and efficient the service was too. It's also cheap. The room at Rouge was big. Two queen combo. Red of course and the leopard print bathrobes were a surprise from the standard white numbers other hotels offer. The Rouge Bar at night had a steady stream of in-house guests though not aware it pulls in many from outside. There are other alternatives on P & R streets or at DuPont Circle. The in-house gym was small but there is enough to get you through a workout until you get home to your regular gym. If you found time to go at all. You need to make your own way to Rouge and from. They do not offer a car service. If you fly in / out of Reagan Airport, you can use the underground to get to the Airport from DuPont Circle (compared with going in / out of Dulles which is a cab ride and can be expensive in heavy traffic. Use "super shuttle" instead) will save you a few dollars on a taxi. Because the points of interest in Washington are so spread out, it is impossible to base yourself in one location that you can reach all easily. Our choice for staying here was something different, price, benefits, location to restaurant / supermarket and underground. I would stay here again without hesitation. Check in and out were fast too.

Room Tip: If the room type you booked isn't ready be prepared to wait. It's better than taking second...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Sean S. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to DC and the Rouge! We strive to be unique or “unexpected” – in a good way! Thank you for the great review and for thinking of us for your next trip to DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

So you might wonder why I'm saying this about breakfast... Well, as a very long haul traveller, one of the exquisite things about being in a hotel a long way from home is ... Breakfast. Silly me, booked my group of 10 into the rouge on a Kimpton "add breakfast for $1" deal. Even sillier me, didnt think that the rate would be top rack nor the "breakfast" basically juice and bagels.... I'd had the pleasure of breakfast at sister property Donovan House previously and assumed it would be comparable. This is my very very big (and expensive) gripe. So now we are done with that...
Rouge. Very nice. Very fun. Very red. Great room although for what I paid, a view of something that wasn't a parking lot would have been lovely. Agree with everyone else here that paper thin walls are interesting... Location terrific. You can get breakfast 2 minutes walk away for alot less than the miserable offering in the hotel! Harald is a star. However if you are travelling with low credit card limits may want to be aware that rouge takes a whacking $500 off you just in case you want to ingest everything in the mini bar. Why?! That's an awful lot of peanuts rouge!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SadTravellingOnMyOwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear SadTravellingOnMyOwn. Thank you for letting other travelers know about your recent experience at the Rouge. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit. I am sorry that you were underwhelmed by our breakfast for $1 more. The package includes a continental breakfast which includes juice, fruit salad, pastries, toast/bagels, yogurt and assorted cereals and granola. If you are looking for eggs, bacon and a more American style breakfast, we have that too! It’s just not a part of the breakfast for $1 more package.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I spent two nights at Hotel Rouge this past weekend. I was traveling with a friend so we had a two-queen-bedded room. The room was big - lots of space, though the reading chair was uncomfortable, and had no light nearby.

The decor is sort of neo-bordello. LOTS of red (hence the name) and lots of bold B&W graphics. Very comfortable bed, Small but adequate bathroom, and reasonable storage space. For a longer stay, the closet space would be insufficient, but for a few days, it's fine.

The bed was comfortable, and the room was quiet. Heavy curtains kept out the light, so it's great for sleeping.

The included wine reception was a bonus.

The only negative would be the inconsistency of the front desk staff. The fellow at checkin was very helpful, and offered restaurant advice when needed. We were up early on Sunday, and looking for breakfast. I asked at the front desk, and the guy told me where several were, but he had no idea if they'd be open at the 9am hour or not. He really didn't know the area like he should, and there were no resources at the desk to help him.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivavino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Vivavino. Thank you for commenting on your visit to the Rouge. I hope that your next review will be “Great room, great location and great staff”! I apologize for the inconsistnacy in service. It is unusual for us to hear that the staff were less than amazing but all feedback is important and we will be sure to use your comments to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

During a recent weekend trip to DC we stayed at Rouge and had a great experience. The staff was very friendly and resourceful. Chase at the front desk couldn't have been more helpful. He gave us tips on places nearby to eat that we could walk to, helped us learn about Uber cab service to get around using a credit card in DC (We didn't realize so many cabs are still cash only) and even left us some refreshments as a welcome gift. It was a nice touch to come back to after walking around the city all day. We loved the free wine hour and the beds were really comfortable. You also can't beat the location if you're looking for something close to more of the non-tourist type restaurants and neighborhoods, but still close enough to get to the mall if needed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WRP68152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear WRP68152 Thank you for letting other travelers know about your great experience at the Rouge! Looks like we have a new fan! Thank you for noticing how wonderful our staff is – AND for giving Chase a shout out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed at Kimpton properties Rouge and Helix (a block away from the Rouge).

Rouge is like a nightclub that is no longer trendy. Dotted metal front door with serpentine handles and crimson red everywhere.

Pros:

* InTouch members (free to anyone to signs up) entails $10 "Raid the Bar" credit from the mini bar. I got a 1 liter Fred spring water ($6) and 20 oz smartwater ($4), and did not have to buy bottled water during my stay.

* Harald Han at the front desk greeted me by name when I checked in, and he was an absolute professional - he could have been an ambassador for Four Seasons. The rest of the staff was friendly and hard working.

* If you are interested, they offer a rent-a-bike program and free yoga mats in the room.

* 5 - 6 pm wine hour featured a red and white wine, and some sweet potato tater tots in the lobby. Nothing fancy but still nice.

Cons:

* Walls are paper thin and I could hear conversations clearly late past midnight. I had to sleep with earplugs - never enjoyable.

* Water pressure was piddly. It took me more than twice the normal time to shower because the water was more like a light drizzle.

* Gilchrist & Soames shampoo, conditioner and shower gel were bolted to the wall like you would find at the gym, and the nozzle was set so low, you had to pump a dozen times to get a quarter size of product. Also they all smelled kind of like toothpaste, which was unpleasant.

* There were heavy red velvet curtains in the windows, great for blocking light to sleep, but not great when you wanted sunlight during the day. These curtains were locked in three sections along the windows, so it was impossible to sweep them to the side to let in the sun or fresh air.

* Continental breakfast (approx $12) did not entail hot food. It was hard bagels and hard bread, over-sugary muffins and croissants that tasted like they came from the supermarket, stale fruit, yogurt cups and cereal. Mighty Leaf tea was very good, though.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Wanderlust2014. Thank you very much for commenting on your recent visit to the Rouge. I am pleased that for the most part you enjoyed your visit and the perks that we provide for our loyal Kimpton InTouch Members! Your feedback will be seriously reviewed with the team so that we will continuously improve. Also, if the décor is not your style, we have 8 other Kimpton Hotels in the DC area for you to choose from. We hope to see you back at one of our hotels during your next trip to DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

great service, everyone was friendly and helpful. if you valet your car, be prepared that it will take 30 min to retrieve it so call ahead/plan accordingly. hotel was strangely a bit tricky to find for our gps, and for uber, but after a few goes around the rotary we managed. decent breakfast, complimentary wine at happy hour and coffee in the morning in the lobby was a nice touch. fitness center is small and the lights are motion detected so for some reason 30 min into my workout the lights went off so i had to either continue to run in the dark or stop and walk around the door, even though i was in there moving anyway. was pet friendly which we loved and they even brought us up dog beds which was very kind of them. Also was super impressed with their eco friendly practices - very impressive (despite my fitness center mishap). overall vibe and atmosphere was fun, friendly, and funky.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lam012289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear lam012289. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit to DC and the Hotel Rogue’s great service, accommodations and unique vibe. Thank you for letting other travelers know about your good experience and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
1,285 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
488 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#61 of 141 in Washington DC
1,263 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
1,679 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Address: 1315 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $134 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Rouge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Kimpton Rouge Hotel is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Kimpton Rouge Hotel entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing