We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay with kids!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Ranked #78 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Do not stay with kids!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

It is ironic that I have to give this review because so many things were good about the hotel especially the staff was great. And the bunk beds which we thought made it ideal to stay with kids. But both nights we have been here we have had a party of people in our floor drinking in the corridors on their way to their rooms ( 6 to 8 people getting in a room with drinks you can imagine what that sounds like) and being extremely loud and then continuing to party in the room. The staff immediately responded to our call and were great about it i have to say, but having had to call everyone was woken up.
We specifically asked for a quiet room but were close to the elevators and these party people were at the ends. So maybe that could have been avoided. Again not the fault of the hotel and they responded very well, but it seems to be the kind if people it attracts. Not sure if I would bring my kids again.
They did love bunk beds and x box though. And like i mentioned above the staff were incredible. But here we are awake listening to people screaming on the hallways on the way to and from parties.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpc2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear mpc2012. Thank you for your feedback! I am so disappointed that your visit was tainted by some noisy guests on the same floor! We have a no party policy that is strictly enforced; however, some people find a way to sneak one through. Our bunk rooms and large queen/queen rooms are perfectly designed for families and we usually get outstanding reviews from guests who travel with their children. I am sorry that this rare incident has deterred you from returning but I hope that you change your mind and come back to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    640
    203
    82
    36
See reviews for
386
580
152
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bankeryd, Sweden
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at Rouge for four nights during our trip to DC and we had a great time. The interior design is quite peculiar but still funny. Expect lots of red combined with exotic animal patterns! The hotel is well suited and it is close to Dupont circle where you can find plenty of restaurants. It is also possible to walk to Georgetown and the Mall. We got there by bus from NYC and got of at Dupont circle and then it was only a 5 min walk to the hotel. The best is yet to come - the hotel has a free wine service between 5 and 6 pm!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPC494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear JPC498. Thank you very much for commenting on your recent visit to the Hotel Rouge. I am pleased that you enjoyed our location, atmosphere, and complimentary wine reception. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great hotel close to all tourist attractions so no need for other transport. Rooms spacious and clean. Staff always ready to help and give advice when asked. All in all a hotel to stay in when we go back to Washington. After staying here we moved on to another Kimpton hotel in Philadelphia and think this chain of hotels will be our first choice from now on

Green Features: Have separate bins for recycling and non recyclable items
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 122jen49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear 122jen49. Thank you for being a fan of Hotel Rouge and Kimpton Hotels! I love to hear that your experience at Rouge prompted you to seek out other Kimpton Hotels during your travels. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

The room was really nice, clean, and very spacious. I really liked the decor, even though it was super red. Two downsides were that it was a little far from the nearest metro (~10 min) and that my room on the second floor was level with the parking lot (I had to close all the curtains or someone could have walked right up to the window).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffiner52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Jeffiner52. Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Rouge Hotel. We are about a 5-10 minute walk from the metro but our location is central to many of the city’s great sights! We have rooms from the 2nd to the 10th floors, we can usually accommodate requests to be on a high floor. When you return, we will be sure to put you higher up so that you can keep those curtains open!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I'm fast discovering that Kimpton hotels are a very good chain. The decor at Rouge isn't to everyone's taste - it is very red and a bit 80's chintzy - but once you get past the reception and into your room it really doesn't matter. The rooms are huge and were very clean, the staff were all very friendly and helpful with taking a delivery for me and getting is taxi's when we needed them. The location is great for DC tourism - about 15 mins walk from the White House. Overall this was a great place to stay for a few days and we enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_jennifer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear miss_jennifer8. Thank you for letting other travelers know about your great experience at the Rouge! We love to hear from our Kimpton fans and we look forward to hearing more feedback when you return to us or any of our other great locations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I recently visited DC and stayed at the Rouge Hotel to attend the wedding of two friends. The staff was excellent and the room was gorgeous! I highly recommend the Rouge Hotel they treat you like a King!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Walter K. We are so pleased that you had a fabulous time at the Rouge and at the wedding! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We loved this hotel. Great location 10 minutes walk from the White house and situated very near to Dupont Circle resturants and bars, and a 20 minute walk from Georgetown. The room itself was very modern, light and comfortable with ample space and some nice litte touches. the bed was very comfortable.

The only downside is the cost of parking. It was at least 45 dollars per night.Overall though I would say the location and room was value for money.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AJMurrells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear AJMurrells. Thank you for your review. I love that you loved us and found our hotel to be comfortable, stylish and in a good location. The parking is expensive in this area. We are competitive with the surrounding hotels but check out our website for any special packages that may include parking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#83 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Property: Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Address: 1315 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Rouge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Kimpton Rouge Hotel is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Kimpton Rouge Hotel entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing