We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, conveniently located boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Ranked #78 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good, conveniently located boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Good hotel conveniently located around a 15 minute walk from the White House and local DuPont amenities. Stayed here for a week in June 2013 and found it to be comfortable and clean with few downsides. The staff are excellent and I had no issues whatsoever with service. It may not have the amenities of some larger hotels and the WiFi was a little dodgy (but free...) but it is a boutique style hotel so all in all I would recommend for any travellers visiting the area, either for business or pleasure. Another Kimpton success.

Room Tip: Avoid the front as there is a lot of traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhyd78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Rhyd78. Thank you for letting other travelers know about your visit to the Rouge! I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay! We are increasing our bandwidth this month for better wireless access!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    640
    203
    82
    36
See reviews for
386
580
152
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Visited the Rouge Hotel in Washington, DC in September 2013. Decor unique and elegant, hotel spotless and inviting. Room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Could not have asked for a nicer staff, all the way from the front desk to the Valet! Food is restaurant was excellent and the service likewise. You have the option of vouchers for breakfast or wine hour. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear AsmaG. Thank you for recommending the Rouge to other travelers. We are so excited that you enjoyed our stylish, comfortable and friendly hotel and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights on our first ever visit to DC.

The location is great, not too far a walk from the Metro and great restaurants.

The hotel itself is smaller than we expected but great boutique feel. You can tell it is an older building that has been converted but we liked that. All but 1 person at the hotel were extremely nice - the one that was not so much was just cold and unsmiling.

Only downside of the room at the back of the hotel was the garbage pickup early morning.

Food at the hotel was too expensive and we ended up walking up to P street and found lots there. We loved Commissary on P street. Matchbox on 14th street was also great. We tried Ted's Bulletin - also on 14th - but were disappointed with the food. Atmosphere was great though.
No coffee maker in the room but coffee available in the lobby in the morning and also a wine/sangria reception at night which was great.

The absolute best part of the hotel was the bunk bed room. We travel a few times a year as a family and this was - according to our daughter - the best room ever! Separate nook with bunk beds, TV and game console. We also had a fish lent to us for our stay.

We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Get the bunk bed room with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear sdelo. Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and our bunk bed rooms! They are great for families and with a separate area for the kids, Mom and Dad get a little more privacy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I spend Labour Day weekend in DC and stayed at Rouge. The hotel, like each of the Kimpton properties we've visited, is unique and quirky, with personality and great service.
We arrived early in the morning and our room wasn't ready, so the Front desk stored our bags, and gave us vouchers for breakfast. As Kimpton loyalty members, we also got vouchers for cocktails, raid the mini-bar and other treats.
Our room was a delightful surprise - very large, well appointed and spotless. The decor was funky with bright splashes of red - rouge- in the artwork. The bed was delightfully comfortable, and the toiletries were good quality.
The nightly wine reception was a great cocktail hour before dinner; the restaurant on site has a nice menu of small plates. We had the continental breakfast each morning, a selection of fresh fruit, yogurts, breads pastries and bagels. The coffee was exceptional.
Rouge was quiet, convenient, well appointed and comfortable. I would stay here again, and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear JaneP. Thank you for being a Kimpton Fan and for letting other travelers know about your great visit to the Rouge! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Rouge over the Labor Day weekend and we really enjoyed our stay. Our room (7th floor) was huge and included a separate dining area, which we didn't use. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was fairly small but functional and with good water pressure. Overall, our room was very well appointed, clean, and comfortable.

Breakfast was included in my rate and for a continental breakfast it was very good (eggs, oatmeal, bagels, toast, jam, fresh fruit salad, juice, and coffee). Wine reception is always welcome. Staff and service were very good. Internet was free for InTouch members, which I am.

The only downside for me was location - it's a 10-15 min walk to Dupont Circle station or Farragut North, but that wasn't a big deal anyway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Constantine-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Constantine-TA. I am pleased to hear that your visit with us was enjoyable! We think we are pretty cool too, but it’s always better to hear it from our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel is not the fanciest but it is the cleverest I've stayed at in DC (and I've stayed at a lot). Room are big and comfortable with really comfortable beds and nice long desks. Appointments are not the most elegant, but they have an edgy, sort of art-deco design (lots of red, in keeping with the name), leopard-patterned terry robes) that is engaging. Staff are very nice and extremely helpful in general (late check-out was willingnly provided) I didn't get to try the free, late-afternoon wine and snacks, but it looked very nice. Also nice -- the hotel emphasizes fitness, with a yoga mat in every room, yoga program on the TV and yoga and pilates props avaialble for the asking, bikes available to guests for free, a healthy foot menu, a fitness center.

All are great ideas, but not all work as effectively as they could. When I tried to use a bike for a quick-pre-meeting ride, staff sent me to the garage for my bike without tools to set the seat at my height or a helmet, which the program purports to provide. They had no maps for riders and the only route they knew of was a tour of the city (even though the hotel is very close to Rock Creek Park, which has paths). The menu doesn't include any vegetarian or even fish options in its healthy meal list (chicken, chicken or turkey are the only choices?) and the fitness center is a crowded dark room in the basement, although well equipped given the space.

If all of these ideas were more fully realized, the Rouge would be a five in my view; as is, it was still lots of fun to stay there.

This would have been a

Green Features: This is clearly a major focus at this hotel. They forego the usual tiny plastic botels in favor of built-in toiletries, have the now-common towel on the floor policy, provide lovely water flavored with fruit in kegs rather than throw-away water bottles.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dallenboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear dallenboston. Thank you for your feedback! Your suggestions are great and we will definitely consider your recommendations! I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit here and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great location, great front desk staff and awesome rooms. We had the queen queen deluxe which was HUGE. Beds were comfortable and rooms were super clean. We had one issue with our tub not draining, but this was quickly handled by the front desk and our request to be moved to a different room was met immediately! Definitely recommend to anyone looking for a quiet comfortable stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are red!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 112jackier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear 112jackier. Thank you for your review. It’s our goal to achieve 100% satisfaction and I am sorry about the plumbing issues – I am “very red” with embarrassment. I am pleased; however, that all else was enjoyable and beyond your expectation. We look forward to earning a 5 star review during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#83 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Property: Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Address: 1315 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Rouge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Kimpton Rouge Hotel is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Kimpton Rouge Hotel entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing