We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wooohooooo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Ranked #77 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boynton Beach
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wooohooooo”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Having to be away form home when injured was unpleasant enough. To my surprise the wonderful atmosphere and staff made me forget about the horrible trip I was on and enjoy the time I spent in the hotel and bar.

Room Tip: King Executive is HUGE.... Makes you feel like you are at home
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Neil R. We are so happy that you had such a great time that you forgot about your injury! Rouge = painkiller. I like that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    654
    206
    83
    36
See reviews for
393
586
153
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jordan
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

funky boutique hotel, rooms decorated in red (the theme of the hotel). Large rooms, free WiFi and $10 raid the mini bar perk if you are a Kimpton member, small bathroom and small closet but large room, old hotel. No coffee maker in the room but there is free coffee in the lobby. there is a wine happy hour from 5-6 p.m in the hotel lobby

Green Features: you get valet parking discount if you use a hybrid car
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samerzawaideh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear samerzawaideh. I am pleased you enjoyed Hotel Rogue’s great service, stylish & funky atmosphere and location. Thank you for telling other travelers about your good experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel needs a caution warning front of entrance with a reading
" Caution, We will charge every step you take in our hotel"

You have to pay additional for followings;
* Slippers, yes slippers that given as free in every hotel, are not free in this hotel
* Wi-fi, it is not free
* Parking, $42 for 24 hours

You don't have to pay additional for followings,
* a Red Bed
* Coffee that is served at the lobby in the mornings
* Staff with attitude and arrogance

Overall;
* needs new management (never blame the staff, blame the management who manages staff) , * lower the price,
* give complimentary slippers and wi-fi

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malxavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear malxavier. I am super sad by your review and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us. I believe the slippers that you speak of are the Kimpton fleece socks that are for sale in the closets because we do not charge for slippers. Our Wi-Fi is complimentary when you sign up for the Kimpton InTouch program which is free and entitles you to some great perks each time you stay including free Wi-Fi, $10 minibar credit, discounts for in room spa services, personal room preferences and free nights after 7 stays. Pretty cool! Not to mention the perks that everyone gets including free coffee in the morning, complimentary wine in the afternoon and complimentary bike rentals. Parking is expensive all around the city, but I promise that we are comparable to other garages and hotels in our area. For guests driving hybrids or red car, parking is free! Just a little gift for the eco conscious and those who love red as much as we do. We value our guests very much and again, I am sad and sorry that the extra value wasn’t felt and that we didn’t do a better job in promoting our great hotel while you were here. I hope that you will try us again and I am always available to discuss feedback personally if you wish to call the hotel and speak to me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here for three nights as part of our Honeymoon. We had decided to go for cheaper hotels in the states before splashing out on a more expensive resort in the Carribean so we were really pleasantly surprised at how great this hotel was!
When we arrived the staff were very welcoming and informed us that we were invited back downstairs for free wine hour at 5pm. We went upstairs to get settled and found that our room was HUGE! Other reviews have commented on the decor but we really liked it.
The hotel is in the perfect location for getting around the city. We did almost everything on foot. The White House is a ten minute walk straight down the street (turn left out of the door), other touristy sights are not far beyond that and beautiful Georgetown is about a half hour wander.
We returned to the hotel each night for free wine hour which was fantastic! They also handed out snacks like olives or sweet potato tater tots. The hotel bar had a nice atmosphere and lovely staff so we stayed there for a few more drinks one night before heading out again.
All in all this was a fantastic base for exploring DC. We saw lots of other couples but also lots of young families with kids (and dogs!) seemed to be using this hotel too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsM30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear mrsM30. We are so excited that you chose the Rouge to kick off your amazing honeymoon! Thank you for letting other travelers know about your experience and we hope to see you back for your 1st anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We split our trip between here and the Hotel George, another Kimpton hotel. We definitely preferred this property. There were definitely a wide variety if guests, but as a younger couple we felt more at home here.

General: The staff was VERY friendly and helpful, especially Rose and Chase at the front desk! exceptional service, which makes a huge difference. The lobby was in keeping with the rouge theme, and was well appointed. The best part, as with many Kimptons, is the nightly wine hour. It's a good time to relax, download the day, and meet some other travelers. It also helps that they actually use pretty good wine and are generous with the pour. Make sure to sign up for Intouch to get free wifi and minibar money.

Room: The room was very spacious, definitely larger than your average hotel room. The decorations and furnishings were thoughtful and suit the space. The only complaint is that our room didn't have a dresser, and it looked like there was a spot where there should have been one. There were drawers in the minibar cabinet, but not sufficient for two people. Not a huge deal. Lots of windows, but the view wasn't anything special, just the parking lot, where we could watch our car enjoy its very expensive home for the duration of our stay. The A/C doesn't go below 68, which isn't a huge deal, but the temperature in the room was definitely over 68. Not unbearable, but this was a very hot and humid week.

Parking: At over $40 a day, it's definitely very steep, but we were driving into town so had to park somewhere. I think next time we'll look into other garages and see if there are cheaper options. It's DC though, so maybe there's not. For the convenience, we paid the money, but it was painful.

Location: it's in a pretty central spot. We were able to walk down to the White House, and there's plenty of other sites in even closer walking distance (embassies, the Scottish Rite Temple, Heurich House to name a few). Dinner in Gtown was only about a twenty minute walk. A variety of nightlife options not too far as well.

I highly recommend the Rouge and look forward to staying next time I'm in town.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Thomas M. Thank you for recommending the Rouge to your friends and colleagues and I am so pleased that you felt at home with us! Thanks for giving Chase and Rose a shout out and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was a last-minute good deal trip, and I don't think I could have done better! This place definitely (and thankfully) lacks the stuffiness of many DC hotels. Funky decor (Austin Powers would be pleased, as was I). I booked on a pre-pay discount web site, but definitely didn't come away feeling like I was treated like trash (as I often do at a number of larger chain hotels). From the friendly staff at check-in, to the huge, spacious rooms with LOTS of natural lighting from the large windows, it was a GREAT stay. And I'm not in the greatest fitness, but the metro is only a pleasant (and safe) 15 minute walk away. And along the walk, it was very fascinating to see what organization one building housed and whose embassy the next building housed. HIGHLY recommend! An affordable, comfortable alternative to the ridiculous prices charged by the big chain hotels in DC.

Room Tip: I had a room overlooking 16th street, but didn't hear any street noise. I would say avoid the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcm_crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear tcm_crew. Thank you so much for such a great review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed our hotel! We are unique and love it when our guest’s notice our fun and friendly vibe. We hope that you will remember your experience when finding a place to stay during your next trip to DC and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, NY
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Lovely hotel (converted apartment building) steps from Dupont Circle. Funky Decor. We had a very large Double Queen Deluxe room with a sitting area. Only complaint is that bathroom was small and not well-ventilated. We were traveling with our dog and needed an early arrival. They were very accommodating. ALso, I left a shoe at the hotel and it was sent back for free. Head of housekeeping even called me from home on her day off to make sure I knew she was on top of the situation. Would go back when in the area. Kimpton Hotel are great.

Room Tip: Queen Queen Deluxe-very large for DC area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chappaqua3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Chappaqua3. Thank you very much for commenting on your recent visit to the Hotel Rouge and for being a Kimpton fan! We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#80 of 141 in Washington DC
1,263 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
2,061 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#58 of 141 in Washington DC
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#47 of 141 in Washington DC
429 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Property: Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Address: 1315 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Rouge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Kimpton Rouge Hotel is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Kimpton Rouge Hotel entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing