We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Ranked #75 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed May 22, 2008

Stayed at the Rouge for 4 nights while attending a conference. The hotel is in a great location near Dupont and Logan circles and 3 blocks from the Dupont metro stop which i used for transport from the airport. The hotel is an older building that has be nicely renovated with interesting and somewhat european decor. It does have a hip vibe to the place and a great bar. The staff is very friendly and always speak to you. There are multiple different newspapers available in the am. My only complaints would be the light over the vanity in the bathroom is a very dim fluorescent light that would making putting makeup on a challenge. Overall a great choice for a small boutique hotel in DC!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank drcahughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distribution_Mgr, Area Distribution Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2008
Hello drcahughes.

Thank you for your comments about Hotel Rouge. I am glad that you were able to stay at our hotel while attending your conference. I agree that the hotel has a great location convenient to Dupont Circle. I am very glad that the staff were friendly and speak with you in passing. I will be happy to pass your comments on. This is such an important part of the hospitality experience. I apologize about the bathroom lighting I will also send a note to engineering.

Thank you and have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    645
    204
    82
    36
See reviews for
386
583
153
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2008

Although the decor was, admittedly, loud, we were thoroughly pleased with our stay at the Rouge. The location is fabulous. It's within walking distance to tons of shops and restaurants and a metro station. It's even within walking distance to the White House. The room was very clean and attractive. The minibar was well-stocked, but pretty pricey.

We thought that the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Many times, they went out of their way to help us. My husband went downstairs once to get a restaurant recommendation and came back with a list of at least 20 restaurants (complete with directions) that the staff recommended. They allowed us to leave our luggage at the desk when we checked out because we had a late flight. They even called a cab for us when we got stranded, cold and alone, at the Jefferson Memorial at midnight and seemed genuinely concerned about whether we made it back safely (we did).

Overall, this was one of the best hotels we've used. We would highly recommend it to others and if we go back to Washington, we wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Liked — Helpful staff
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaphneDaugherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distribution_Mgr, Area Distribution Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2008
To Whom It May Concern:

Thank you for your thoughts and comments about Hotel Rouge. They are greatly appreciated. I am glad that you were able to enjoy your stay.

It is pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff took good care of you. There are loads of restaurants in the area and the front desk staff are always available to help with recommendations.

Thank you for staying and I do hope that you are able to join us again! Thank you and have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2008

Hotel Rouge is part of the Kimpton chain and I would highly recommend it to anyone under 30 on a budget. It is in a great location (near Dupont Circle) and is very affordable by DC standards. However, since I am over 30 (not by much), I found the hotel to be a little young for me. For example, during the weekend they serve cold pizza and bloody marys in the lobby--at a certain age, free cold pizza isn't that enticing. The lobby and bar feel like a nightclub and the decor is inexpensive/hip. There is nothing wrong with this and would have felt fun if I were ten years younger. The room we stayed in was on the 9th floor and was very large. It was clean, comfortable and completely fine. The bathroom seemed kind of small given the large size of the room--Aveda products were a plus. The Hotel Rouge is a fine place but when I return to DC, I'll probably choose a different hotel.

  • Liked — It was very inexpensive.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank histtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distribution_Mgr, Area Distribution Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2008
To Whom It May Concern:

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback as it is a valuable way for us to gain a better understanding of how our guests feel. We appreciate the high scores and kind words.

I am glad that you found the hotel affordable; however, I can understand where you are coming from with the environment. Although, at Kimpton Hotels we pride ourselves on offering many different choices to many different people with one thing in mind, you! So the next time you come to Washington DC, even though we would love to have you stay with us again, why not try another Kimpton in the city? Perhaps the whimsical style of the Topaz would suit you more or the ultra modern décor of the DC Palomar.

Whatever your preference I hope that you will continue to explore the Kimpton Hotels and discover the one that suits you most. Until next time, have a great day!

Area Distribution Manager,
Washington DC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2008

We got this room via priceline and saved a couple of dollars off the rack rate. Savings was not mind blowing, but for the price we paid, it was value for money. The front desk was very friendly and helpful, and the room was huge (for 2 people) and clean. There was free wifi and free coffee in the mornings. The room we were in faced 16th st, and thus could get noisy at night with all the sirens. We were sound sleepers though, so that wasn't a problem at all. The elevators were a bit dim, but i guess it's all part of the atmosphere.

The location isn't too bad. The area is primarily residential, so we had to go to connecticut ave (around a 10min walk) to eat and shop. The metro stop is also a good 10-15min walk (farragut north station, not sure about the dupont station though). For tourists going on the trolley tour, 2 stops are nearby. One is at the capital hilton (along 16th st) which is around 10-15 mins away, but this is only a pick-up stop--the trolley only comes by around 9am in the morning (and a couple of return trips in the afternoon). The other is stop #16 (white house), a bit farther down along 16th, in front of the hay adams. There is a regular trolley that comes along on this stop.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superivystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distribution_Mgr, Area Distribution Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2008
Hello and Good Day!

Thank you for your thoughtful comments. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you feel it was a great value for the price. I also appreciate your perspective on tourist locations around the hotel. With regard to the metro stops Dupont Circle is three diagonal blocks from Hotel Rouge and Farragut North is about three and a half standard blocks away, so in essence, there is not much difference with distance.

I hope that you will be able to return soon. Thank you and have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
892 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 674 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

This is a great trendy hip hotel for business or holiday.

Even families would love this place and it was a reasonable price.

The staff remembered and called me by name every time they encountered me. The staff was attentive and charming.

The rooms could use some deep cleaning but the decor was great. The location is a few blocks from a metro stop. While you are not in the central place of D.C. nightlife you can stay in the lounge if you need or you can take a short cab to anywhere.

This hotel chain always impresses me.

  • Liked — The style of the hotel.
  • Disliked — Needed some deep cleaning but not much.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distribution_Mgr, Area Distribution Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2008
Hello and Good Day!

Thank you for your kind words. It brightens my day to know that the staff is truly attentive and that they remembered your name. Everyone at Kimpton Hotels tries really hard to make a guest stay enjoyable and it seems that this was a memorable part of your experience.

I do hope that you are able to join us again soon, if not at Hotel Rouge then anywhere you can find a Kimpton Hotel.

Have a pleasant day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2008

This hotel was a total find. Price was right, staff was extremely kind and helpful. Location is not super close to Metro, but within an easy 5-10 min walk. We had a 3 year old and a wheelchair-bound family member and had no problems getting around. Rooms were really large and recently updated. In-room honor bar and fridge had all sorts of goodies...candy, munchies, soda, beer, wine...pricey, but available if you're desperate! Restaurant and room service menu is pretty limited but the food is great and the service is outstanding. Area is very safe, we felt comfortable out at night. 20 minute walk to White House on first night...gorgeous! This is not a 5 star hotel, it's not brand new, it doesn't have every available amenity. But it is perfect for travelers looking for a clean, safe, friendly inexpensive place to stay while visiting D.C. We totally enjoyed our stay at the Rouge and would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Outstanding value for the price! Very clean, safe area.
  • Disliked — Closer to the Metro would have been nice, but not really necessary.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JLyn099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distribution_Mgr, Area Distribution Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2008
Thank you for your kind words.

I am so glad that the staff made such a positive impression on you and that the price was right for what you were looking for. Hotel Rouge tries to deliver unique service suited to each individuals needs and I am pleased we were able to do so for you.

I do hope that you can come and join us again soon. Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2008

Just returned from a 2 night stay at Hotel Rouge. I was traveling with my 73 year old mother and my two children 10 an 13. Was a bit concerned that my mother would not like staying at a boutique hotel. Turned out it was a stay we all enjoyed.

We were in an Entertainment Room w/ a separate alcove with lounge chair and TV. It was great to have so much space and it also had a PS3. We were able to set up a rollaway for my son so he did not have to sleep with his mother, sister or grandmother. Beware though, if you are in a room with two queen beds they claim they will not accommodate a rollaway. Since the Kimpton 800 number had promised one, they did what they needed to keep us happy.

Breakfast in the bar was average (expensive and not too much of a selection), but staff and service were excellent. Second morning we walked to Whole Foods (on P Street) and ate breakfast, just make sure to stop in at Starbucks across the street because Whole Foods does not serve coffee.

Staff recommended Logan Tavern for dinner, food was excellent. Ended up eating there 2 nights!

Overall found the Hotel clean, comfortable beds and staff was pleasant. It was a decent walk to White House, etc, but very doable! Metro just a couple of blocks away.

  • Liked — 5 to 6 Wine reception. Location great for walkers.
  • Disliked — Breakfast selection limited and expensive.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank grahamslaterfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#83 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Property: Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Address: 1315 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Rouge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Kimpton Rouge Hotel is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Kimpton Rouge Hotel entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing