We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Kimpton Rouge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Ranked #75 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Biddeford, Maine
1 review
“Amazing Kimpton Rouge”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed here over a five day period in mid April. The staff were extremely friendly and very willing to accommodate my needs. The room was spacious, well decorated and very clean. The inclusion of breakfast was an added benefit as was the location as it was within walking distance of Dupont Circle and the Mall area. I would also recommend taking advantage of their cocktail hour-they made the best bloody-mary I ever had!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear James S. Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on a clean, comfortable and welcoming hotel so we thank you for noticing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    645
    204
    82
    36
See reviews for
386
583
153
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Loved staying here. The room was really big for a metro location. The staff couldn't do enough for us. For example we missed the free wine served from 5 to 6 but they gave us something to take to the bar for a free glass later that night. We have a chihuahua and hate leaving him home so we are really grateful for their dog friendly policy. The location is great. We took a bus just a block away to the International Spy Museum and after touring there and a couple of the Smithsonian Museums we decided to splurge and get a cab. It only cost us a little over $7 and $10 with the tip. Best $10 we ever spent and we had no idea how fast he would reach our hotel. It was also my birthday and the hotel put a bottle of champagne and three delicious cupcakes in my room - "on the house." There were also great restaurants within walking distance! You truly feel welcomed when you go to a Klimpton Hotel! They really do want you to feel like "family" and the professionalism and caring create a relaxing atmosphere that really makes your stay a pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrJudy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great stay. Will go again. Two queen beds made the difference for us (vs two twin at most other hotels... and our two kids don't fit well on twins...). Great amenities for the price. Convenient to mall, metro, etc. Friendly staff

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffS526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My stay at Hotel Rouge was another positive Kimpton experience: the location is excellent, the room spacious and well-equipped, and the staff absolutely wonderful. We did have a couple of small issues (stains on the duvet, low water pressure), but the staff was quick to correct and accommodate as possible. On the whole, there are a couple of other Kimpton properties that I prefer in DC (Topaz, George), but I definitely won't hesitate to recommend Rouge to friends and family or to stay there again myself.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenandRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear LaurenandRyan. Thank you for recommending the Rouge to your friends and colleagues and for being a Kimpton fan! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights on a business trip. The staff were very accommodating, and provided excellent service during my stay. The hotel itself is well located, with easy access to a lot of great restaurants. It is not too far from the Metro, so access to other area attractions is also very good.

Room Tip: The Kimpton hallmark is that all of the rooms are different. I had an upper floor room. It was spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Susan K. Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed our location, style and service! We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately, whenever I get to stay at a Kimpton, I never get to spend anytime in my room because I'm booked with meetings and dinners. This time was no different. I walked into a fun, funky, spacious room but was out late for work. Te staff were friendly, helpful and didn't treat me poorly when I called the front desk looking for the hair dryer which was in the bathroom in plain sight. The bathroom had a dimmer switch which I used as a nightlight. The shampoo and conditioner were actually of a quality that was worthy of use. I always love the interesting things they stock their mini bars with. It was nice to have a Luna bar option and fresh orange juice in the fridge. Plenty of plugin spots for all my devices was appreciated. I also ordered breakfast in the Rouge Bar lounge and must say my scrambled eggs were flavorful not the plain, lackluster eggs one normally gets at a hotel breakfast. Wild most definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank NicMic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear NicMic. I am so pleased that enjoyed your visit and noticed some of the little surprise and delights we offer to make our guests feel more welcome and have fun! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

First of what we hope will be many stays at a Kimpton hotel. Checked in early--not a problem. Our room was waiting for us at 1:00pm. Room was a dream for 5 people--2 queens and a bunk bed for the teens. Staff was lovely and helpful at every juncture. Left the car and walked straight to the White House. A great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Profwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Profwithkids. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and experienced one of our bunk bed rooms; perfect for families! Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you again during your next visit to DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#83 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Property: Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Address: 1315 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Rouge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Kimpton Rouge Hotel is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Kimpton Rouge Hotel entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing