We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another positive Kimpton experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Ranked #63 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Another positive Kimpton experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My stay at Hotel Rouge was another positive Kimpton experience: the location is excellent, the room spacious and well-equipped, and the staff absolutely wonderful. We did have a couple of small issues (stains on the duvet, low water pressure), but the staff was quick to correct and accommodate as possible. On the whole, there are a couple of other Kimpton properties that I prefer in DC (Topaz, George), but I definitely won't hesitate to recommend Rouge to friends and family or to stay there again myself.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenandRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear LaurenandRyan. Thank you for recommending the Rouge to your friends and colleagues and for being a Kimpton fan! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    608
    187
    73
    34
See reviews for
358
558
150
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights on a business trip. The staff were very accommodating, and provided excellent service during my stay. The hotel itself is well located, with easy access to a lot of great restaurants. It is not too far from the Metro, so access to other area attractions is also very good.

Room Tip: The Kimpton hallmark is that all of the rooms are different. I had an upper floor room. It was spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Susan K. Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed our location, style and service! We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately, whenever I get to stay at a Kimpton, I never get to spend anytime in my room because I'm booked with meetings and dinners. This time was no different. I walked into a fun, funky, spacious room but was out late for work. Te staff were friendly, helpful and didn't treat me poorly when I called the front desk looking for the hair dryer which was in the bathroom in plain sight. The bathroom had a dimmer switch which I used as a nightlight. The shampoo and conditioner were actually of a quality that was worthy of use. I always love the interesting things they stock their mini bars with. It was nice to have a Luna bar option and fresh orange juice in the fridge. Plenty of plugin spots for all my devices was appreciated. I also ordered breakfast in the Rouge Bar lounge and must say my scrambled eggs were flavorful not the plain, lackluster eggs one normally gets at a hotel breakfast. Wild most definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank NicMic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear NicMic. I am so pleased that enjoyed your visit and noticed some of the little surprise and delights we offer to make our guests feel more welcome and have fun! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

First of what we hope will be many stays at a Kimpton hotel. Checked in early--not a problem. Our room was waiting for us at 1:00pm. Room was a dream for 5 people--2 queens and a bunk bed for the teens. Staff was lovely and helpful at every juncture. Left the car and walked straight to the White House. A great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Profwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Profwithkids. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and experienced one of our bunk bed rooms; perfect for families! Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you again during your next visit to DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

What a great hotel for kids! We have a 3, 7 and 8 year old, all boys. We stayed at the Rouge during our trip to DC. The hotel room was clean, we had a two queen bed with bunk beds. It was large enough to make our stay comfortable. There is a great restaurant, the Commisary, within in a 5 minute, very safe walk from the hotel. There is also a Whole Foods. The neighborhood is very safe and quiet. I would not suggest walking to the White House or any Museums from the hotel if you have small children, it is quite a ways away for them to walk. The kids had snacks waiting for them in their own special spot in the room. The restaurant downstairs is very relaxed, the food was very good. We had a couple problems that were resolved immediately. Our car top carrier was smashed by the valet accidently, they do have outdoor parking to accomodate large vechicles, and they bought us a new one and had it on our car that evening. We were very impressed by the way they took on the problem and fixed it. Many places woud have made getting it fixed our problem. We would definetly stay here again when we visit DC. I will also look into other Kimpton hotels when we travel after this great experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank googoodoll5218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Greetings googoodoll5218!

Thanks for the great comments! Our whole team here at the Hotel Rouge is elated that your stay was a success. We take great pride in our Chef driven restaurant Bar Rouge and even more so, the culinary delights the menu provides. Our Chef driven concept is also found at all of our fantastic Kimpton properties.

Thank you for allowing us to amend the car carrier as well. We love to make things happen for our guests here at Kimpton and when an opportunity presents itself we will always amaze our guests! It was such a pleasure to host your family and we look forward to creating many special visits for you in the future!

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a great time staying at this slightly funky hotel during a short vacation in D.C. Young, hip staff was friendly to us who are neither. Hubby loved the cushy Kimpton bed. Bar offered creative, delicious and even healthy food options. Several good Dupont Circle restaurants were reasonably priced and within easy walking distance. Location was very convenient -- a short taxi or Metro ride to most attractions. True, the intense red on the walls, floors, etc. is a bit overwhelming at first, but it's fun and memorable!

Room Tip: Register in advance if you are arriving really late, as we were. We were told it would ensure a bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoseCityDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Greetings RoseCityDuo!

Thank you for spending your get away to DC with us at the Hotel Rouge. You are absolutely right about our Kimpton beds. They are cushy and awesome! So glad Bar Rouge provided some great creative options for you to enjoy. Kimpton is very proud of our Chef driven restaurants so I am thrilled we were able to take good care! Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
487 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fiirst time at a Kimpton Hotel, but really impressed with boutique feel, reasonable prices, very large rooms (converted from apartments) in a very good location. We walked trough the entire city and were never too far away. Easy walk to Dupont Circle for restarants & metro and near many isntitution offices, embassies, Johns Hopkins school.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello travel JR!

Welcome to Kimpton! I am not surprised your stay was awesome!
It’s great to see the Hotel Rouge had a great boutique feel, mission accomplished! I hope we have created a convert to Kimpton! All of our hotels are amazing, unique and have a story of their own! Please keep us in mind where ever your travels take you.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#72 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,159 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#50 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
Upper Northwest
The Kimpton Donovan Hotel
The Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#30 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#43 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Property: Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Address: 1315 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Rouge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Kimpton Rouge Hotel is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Kimpton Rouge Hotel entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing