We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Ranked #72 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We decided to celebrate my husband's birthday in town and stayed at Hotel Rouge. What a great experience!!! From check in to check out, our experience was nothing but outstanding. We had a room with King bed and bunk bed for our son. This room was big and clean. They even had some board games for our son and us to play before our dinner at Old Ebbitt Grill. We will return to this hotel anytime and recommend to our family and friends. Oops, how can I forget their complimentary wine hour from 5p-6p. It was perfect to have a glass of wine before dinner. Thank you, Kimpton Hotels and Rouge. Especially to Kelly, Chase and Jonathan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KCKWashDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear KCKWashDC. Thank you for staying with us! I am thrilled that we were a part of making your husband’s birthday more memorable and we hope that you will find us again to celebrate other special occasions in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    638
    201
    77
    35
See reviews for
381
577
152
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

My first visit to DC. I asked several friends were we should stay and they named several locations. My friends and I decided on the Rouge Hotel. We made a fabulous decision. Great location, close to everything, shops, Metro, night life, restaurants etc. The room we stayed in was spacious, CLEAN, great lighting. So much room to move around. The restroom was clean and a decent size. Most of all after coming back every night from dinner, concerts or night life the bed was satisfying. I had the best night sleep at the Rouge. The staff was great, friendly and kind. I went back to DC and stayed at a different Kimpton hotel. Never again, I enjoyed my stay at the Rouge hotel. Just loved our red room. Thank you Rouge for not disappointing us and being great to us.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 33JMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear 35jms. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit to DC and the Hotel Rogue’s great service, stylish & unique atmosphere and location. Thank you for telling other travelers about your good experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Have a fantastic stay! The decor of hotel is romantic. Staff are warm and accommodating!! We celebrated our birthday and the staff surprised my husband & I with a complimentary champagne and chocolate strawberry plate! I've stayed at many hotels, celebrating different occasions and this was the first comp surprise.

The hotel lobby wine cocktail hour was nice as well! We will definitely recommend this property and stay again! Thanks Rouge for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear luvstorm. Thank you for your review. We love special occasions and I am so pleased that we helped to make you and your husband’s birthday memorable. Thank you for being a fan and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
317 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

The Rouge follows the great tradition of Kimpton boutique hotels. However, in the case of Rouge, the rooms seem roomier. The decor of the hotel and rooms are visually appealing. The staff was professional, engaging and responsive. Of course, the event I enjoy at all Kimpton is the 5 o'clock managers reception. Enjoy wine and appetizers, like caprese.
Oh, and like all Kimpton, they're pet friendly. My Standard Poodle, Gaspar, gives Rouge 5 stars

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the embassy row, otherwise your view is an alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayoplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear mayoplan. Thank you for your review and for being a Kimpton fan! I am pleased that you enjoyed our large rooms, great service and hosted wine reception! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunman, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I chose the Rouge based on a recommendation from a friend of mine living in DC. What I found was a hotel with flare. The Front desk staff was extremely helpful regarding directions, places to see and places to eat. I found the interior decor to be just as advertised. My room was very spacious, and having a thermostat to control the room temperature made it that much more enjoyable. I found the bar staff to be very friendly and the food to be excellent. I would highly recommend the Rouge hotel to anyone tired of staying at one of the large chains and looking for something different!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Dennis S. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit to DC and the Hotel Rogue’s great service, stylish & unique atmosphere and location. Thank you for telling other travelers about your good experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Yeah, the location is great but the hotel itself is a bit tired and faded. Room was large and the bed comfortable but not everything worked well. Staff was helpful and fixed the problems but these should not have happened at all. You can not beat the location. Breakfast is so-so but the seating arrangements poor. There are not many seats and many are taken up by sociophobes who spread out and encamp with their lap tops and "work" thus depriving everyone else of a place to sit down and have their breakfast. We stayed on a highly discounted rate. Even at that rate I would think more than once of returning. I might and I might not.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear PRR. Thank you for choosing the Hotel Rouge for your recent visit to DC. I am pleased that you enjoyed our location, but regret that a few issues in the room needed to be fixed after arrival. It is rare that our housekeeping and engineering departments miss repairs but we will certainly use your feedback to improve. I am also sorry that you found breakfast to be too crowded. We don’t like our guests to be uncomfortable, but please know that we also offer room service – who doesn’t love breakfast in bed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#84 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan
Kimpton Donovan
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Property: Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Address: 1315 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Rouge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Kimpton Rouge Hotel is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Kimpton Rouge Hotel entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing