We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great stay in DC” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Ranked #67 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lowell, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay in DC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Rouge for 2 nights on a quick vaction to DC. The location of this hotel was great...located near Dupont Circle and a quick walk to the White House. The room was comfortable, and the red was a great theme, but tastefully done. The free wine at happy hour was great, as well as the food in the restaurant!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hef1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear hef1218. I love that we made your quick vacation to DC more enjoyable and memorable with our unique décor, great service and ambiance! Thank you for telling other travelers about your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    632
    197
    77
    34
See reviews for
376
575
153
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The front desk was amazing. I was having trouble printing and they were so helpful and sweet. They were always ready to give directions, smile and help. The room was very large but I do have to say...red gets old.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear LizardAtlanta. Thank you very much for commenting on your recent visit to the Hotel Rouge. I am pleased that you enjoyed our location, atmosphere and friendly, helpful service. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Decent hotel in a fairly decent seemingly "out of the way" location -- a six block or so walk to the edges of Dupont Circle.

When you order ahead for a "feather free" room, which I did for my wife (and they confirmed it was non-feather when we arrive), you have a 50-50 chance that the pillows are indeed down feathers. As it was this cause. This can cause quite an inconvenience when you arrive later in the evening, and the housekeeping staff has gone, so the manager has to rifle around and figure out what a nonfeather pillow is.

Otherwise, great staff with a free wine hour. Continental breakfast (which we got comped because of the feather crisis) was rather ugh.

All in all, a good place to stay, though. Nice "rouge" read room with an overgrown mirror laying on the floor as decoration.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hapgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear hapgator. Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit. I apologize that the room was not set up as feather free initially, a very rare mistake as many of our guests require this! We strive to be better than decent and look forward to your next visit where we will WOW you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

very nicely renovated pre-war hotel, with large spacious rooms and beautifully decorated in nice kimpton style; minibar well-stocked (and $10 voucher a nice perk) and lots of outlets for charging gadgets. one big thing missing is coffe/tea kettle in rooms; served in lobby in morning, but would be so much handier to make your own any time you want. a bit of a walk from nearest train.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slwjosh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear slwjosh. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit to DC and the Hotel Rogue’s great service, accommodations and location. We do offer coffee makers on request as well as offering complimentary coffee in the morning in the lobby. Thank you for telling other travelers about your good experience and the special perks with becoming a Kimpton InTouch memeber.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
151 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Loved this hotel. The rooms are very trendy and large. My kids loved the animal print robes, fish in the room and gift they received at check in. Beds were comfortable. Everything is very red - especially the hallways.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenba97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear jenba97. Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that we helped to make your trip to DC more memorable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at the Rouge over the weekend. This is a very nice hotel.

PROs:
- We had a good-sized family suite (room 714) which featured a separate area for the kids. The kid's room had a bunk bed and an X-Box (games are available for free at the front desk). Our 2 boys were very excited about this.
- Simple modern decor was very nice.
- Quiet location
- There are a number of restaurants, coffee shops, and stores two blocks East on 14th street.

CONs:
- Parking is $39 a day, plus another $10 in taxes. That's $49 a day for parking. Way too expensive!
- Service in the bar was pretty slow, primarily due to it being understaffed. We ordered drinks Saturday night and waited about 20 or 30 minutes before we had to remind the bartender of our order.
- No fan in the bathroom made sharing the facilities unpleasant.
- I'm sure many people are happy that this is a dog friendly hotel, but it's not so fun when there is a dog fight in the lobby.

Overall we enjoy the Kimpton hotels and have stayed in 4 of them in DC. We will probably try another one when we return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear jwc3. Thank you very much for commenting on your recent visit to the Hotel Rouge. I am glad that you found our bunk bed rooms comfortable and fun for the family. They are so popular I wish we had more! We strive to make traveling easy for families and I’m glad that it shows!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Booked through a group, so was able to get a really good rate. I really enjoyed my stay. It was centrally located so I had access to the Metro (Red, Orange and Blue Lines), and was in walking distance to many places that I needed to go. The room was clean, modern and very spacious. I am a Kimpton member so I received a $10 credit for the room bar which was nice. My only concern was upon checkin when the hotel charged my card $100 per night (x4) for possible incidentals. Also, the internet costs $7.99 for 15 minutes and a $15 fee is held on your credit card. I thought all that was a bit excessive. I had more charges being held on my card than the room was worth. Otherwise I would definitely stay there again. The staff was amazing and extremely accommodating. Two thumbs up! It was the perfect home away from home during my stay.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are nice and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harlemstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Harlemstyle. Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed our service, location and unique decor! I am also pleased that you enjoyed the perks that come with being a Kimpton InTouch member including a $10 minibar credit and free internet! We do hold an amount on your credit card for incidentals, but whatever is not used is released at check out. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#76 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Upper Northwest
The Kimpton Donovan
The Kimpton Donovan
#34 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#15 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Property: Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Address: 1315 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Rouge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Kimpton Rouge Hotel is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Kimpton Rouge Hotel entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing