We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“magic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Ranked #71 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

great location, brilliant rooms, and the staff are superb. They could not do enough for us.thankyou tina, kirsten, lance and all the others for a wonderful stay.
The only place to stay in DC! - this was our third visit.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear david o, 3rd visit and still magic! We love to hear that and thank you! Lance, Kristen and Tina will be pleased to have made a great 1st, 2nd and 3rd impression!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    639
    201
    77
    36
See reviews for
382
577
152
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel to attend a meeting at the convention center. It is a small hotel (which looks like it was converted from an apartment building with studio apartments). The service was great and the rooms are large. I would agree with other comments about the darkness of the public spaces. It is time for those spaces to be refreshed anyway since the elevators were pretty beat up. There is a small restaurant for breakfast which then doubles as a bar in the evening. It is about a 5-10" walk to a metro station and about a 15-20" walk to the convention center. Bathroom amenities include shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, hand soap and body lotion. Wine is served in the lobby every evening from 5-6. Overall the staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jcs320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear jcs320. Thank you very much for commenting on your recent visit to the Hotel Rouge. I am glad that you found our location to be convenient, our rooms comfortable and our staff friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here with our tween and teen daughters in a family 'bunk' room, which is a brilliant concept in Family accommodation. The room looks like a normal hotel room, but fabulous, and hidden behind a glamorous curtain is a cute little cubby with a bunk bed, its own TV, a tiny mini-bar with fruit juice and water AND quite thrillingly for my girls, a DS!

They loved having their own space, we loved having ours and we were still together!

The decor is of a high quality with cool contemporary touches. The rooms are BIG however our bathroom was SMALL but clean and perfectly formed. Red is my favourite colour, so it's hard to go wrong there, though the hallways were too red even for my taste . . . The Annie Liebowitz pictures on the walls are a fun touch.

The staff were very helpful and made great dining recommendations. There are great dining choices nearby and the hotels in a cool, buzzy neighbourhood. We were there to do the standard tourist stuff and found it within easy walking distance of the White House, though we generally grabbed a cab to take us to museums, as this was cheaper with a family of 4 than 4 metro tickets.

My husband loves to stay at Klimpton Hotels when he's in the States and now I know why. Nice hospitable touches like the free wine tasting in the early evening when you're arriving back from a tiring really make you feel welcome. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScarletWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Scarletwelsh. Thank you very much for commenting on your recent visit to the Hotel Rouge. I am glad that you found our bunk bed rooms comfortable and fun for the family. They are so popular I wish we had more! We strive to make traveling easy for families and I’m glad that it shows!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stylish hotel, friendly staff, cool bar scene and clean rooms. What else do you need?
The staff gave great dining recommendations and knew what was going on in the city. Excellent location, we left the car and walked everywhere.

Room Tip: We thought our room was huge but when we saw our friends room theirs was larger. 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle1234LB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Michelle1234LB. Thank you for sharing your experience and for being a Hotel Rouge fan! “Loving every minute” is the most amazing compliment and we thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Loved Rouge--very hip, great location, interesting people, nice hospitality. We are in our early 60's and love to stay at Kimpton hotels because they attract a very interesting, fun, well-travelled, "youthful" clientele. Although most are younger than we, we like that, and we sat next to the most hip 95-year-old-woman from San Francisco, who had never been to D.C. before, and came alone because her late husband was being honored as a veteran. Small rooms, but chic. Complimentary Wine Happy Hour is very nice, and the Sunday Morning Complimentary Pizza and Bloody Mary's were awesome! There was a Susan Komen Breast Cancer Fundraising Run that weekend and the Italiate statues out front were wearing hot pink bras :) Totally fun and funky place. Valet parking is expensive (it is everywhere in DC), but cabs are easy to catch.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tunagary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear tunagary. Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed our atmosphere, style, service and good “klass”! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAINT PETERSBURG
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Unique boutique hotel, Rouge = red. Truly Red theme - walls, headboards, floors in lobby & restaurant. Very large room, 2 double beds, 2 chairs, great working space across one entire wall. Room has minibar, wall safe, robes to use during stay. Lots of power outlets for all the devices. Great location, just a few blocks to Dupont Circloe Metro stop. Have the social hour with free wine (and nice wine!), the Cafe serves wonderful food, very fresh and unique (asparagus salad was fantastic, great hummus and pita bread). Staff are very courteous, responded quickly to any questions or concerns. Discovered only 1 negative - no sleep timer on the TV remote for those of us who like to fall asleep to the TV.

Room Tip: The room with two doubles seems to be quite a few feet bigger than the room with King bed. Was on 9t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Focused77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Fucused77. Exceeding your expectations is our ultimate goal! Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
164 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel is super clean! Although the lighting through out the hotel is bad. It is like being in a dark cave. I am not used to that when staying at a hotel. Perhaps if I was a little less square and maybe a few years younger this hotel would of been perfect for me. The beds were comfy, the staff nice. I loved the smell of their shampoo! But I could not see in the bathroom to put on my makeup. It is however a great location! Close to all the monuments.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PlaidScottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear PlaidScottie. Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on a clean, comfortable and welcoming hotel so we thank you for noticing! I will be sure to review the lighting in the room that you had; the cave look is not what we are going for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#84 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan
Kimpton Donovan
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Property: Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Address: 1315 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Rouge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Kimpton Rouge Hotel is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Kimpton Rouge Hotel entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing