We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Ranked #78 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Love, love, love this place! So glad we chose it.
My family of 4 stayed here for 4 nights on a month-long East Coast US trip. We did exhaustive research for all of the hotels we stayed at. When we found Rouge online, we were so excited to get there - it's so different to any hotel we've ever stayed at before. And it didn't disappoint.
We were greeted with a smile, a friendly welcome and a bottle of water each. The guy on the desk was just lovely. Then the kids were asked if they'd like to pick a stuffed toy from the big toy box they had - that had them hooked! They were also super impressed with the LEGO White House in the lobby. It is so nice - and rare, in Australia at least - to find a 'swanky' hotel that makes children feel genuinely welcome.
We stayed in a King with Bunk Bed Suite. It was HUGE (for a hotel room). I've seen apartments smaller than this room! Our children didn't want to leave. They felt so special, having their own little space that was tailored just for them. It was an experience to stay here, not just a bed to sleep in. And as for the beds, very comfortable. We all slept very well.
The mini bar was unique and we had a laugh at it's contents (things like fake teeth!). Another little touch for the kids.
The hotel was in a great spot for us. It was a bit of a walk to get to the sites but we were happy with that, we wanted to be away from the busy spots so we could relax when we weren't sightseeing.
Breakfast was nice, it had all we needed. Room service was very good, too.
We ate at a couple of the restaurants in the surrounding streets and they were fabulous.
Can't fault this place, we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozmel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear ozmel78. We were so excited to read your review! I am pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations, location and awesome staff. Looks like we hit a home run and I am so glad that your visit to DC was more memorable because of it! Thank you again for sharing your comments with other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    649
    205
    83
    36
See reviews for
387
585
153
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The hotel was late in getting our room ready but very accomodating to compensate (comped us to breakfast and drinks in the bar). Room was bigger than I expected (having stayed in some Kimptons that required crawling over the bed to get into and out of the room). Friendly staff and, in my experience, no long waits for questions / requests. Exercise room is tiny but then, I was always the only one using it, so this didn't matter. Location and price were great. Walking distance the to White House. Whole Food Market a couple of blocks away is great for snacks but bad for one's waistline!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyacct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Kyacct. Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed our location, style and service! I am sorry that your room was not ready when you arrived, but I am pleased that you received some breakfast and a few drinks on us to make up for the inconvenience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I am a real fan of Kimpton hotels and the Rouge is 2 for 2 in providing me excellent service and room. It's a great location in DC for walking either to meeting or touring. There recommendation of the Logan Tavern was excellent.... a tavern with unique and excellent food so try both you will be happy you did.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Bruce J. Thank you for being a fan of Hotel Rouge and Kimpton Hotels! We look forward to being 3 for 3 in providing an outstanding experience during your next trip to DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbin, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Excellent choice, the hotel is not five star but pretty close, the service and amenities is five star. Be careful there are lots of ways to increase your hotel bill. Make sure you stop by the bar and have "Rego, a heavyset latino bartender" fix you a fresh juice cocktail and unwind after the sightseeing day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Harold B. Thank you for staying with us! I am pleased you enjoyed your visit to DC and the Hotel Rogue’s great service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, PA
Level Contributor
260 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We checked in late and used their valet to park our car for approx $44 (inclusive of tax) a night. The area seems very safe with lots of younger/college age crowd and teeming with places to eat. We walked around with our seven year old late at night.
With only a king sized bed, I got a roll-away bed for $20 which my kid said is very comfy. The room is quite huge with a long 'desk' table. Bathroom had a stand only shower which is quite adequate. However, the shower gel, shampoo and conditioner are in pump-bottles...I'd rather have these in sacket or any disposable format.
The hotel is very close to Holiday Inn where you can board some of the hop-on-off trolleys. I decided not to use the trolleys since it was in the uuper 90'sF and about 70% humidity...used our car to park at the 'back' of the Space Museum (Independence Ave.)...plenty of spaces to park and pay using the ParkMobile app.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeadowsValleyForge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear MeadowsValleyForge. Thank you very much for commenting on your recent visit to the Hotel Rouge. I am pleased that you enjoyed our location, atmosphere and friendly, helpful service. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were in DC for an event which had arranged a special rate, including breakfast, at this hotel. Otherwise it would have been out of our price range. We had a queen/queen room which was huge (by European standards), comfortable and well-appointed. The only extra thing we would have liked was a kettle to make tea/coffee. The breakfast selection was good but it was served in the bar area which we felt was not ideal - the seating arrangements are OK for having a drink but many tables were rather low for eating. The staff could not have been more helpful, sorting out any problems for us, advising on various things and going out to hail a taxi for us. The nearest metro station is about 10 minutes walk away. We thought the evening meal choice was rather limited and expensive but there are plenty eating places wiithin 10 minutes walk. We enjoyed the free wine hour on a couple of evenings - a nice extra. In summary, we're pleased we stayed here and would certainly consider staying again if we are ever back in DC.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzsimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear fitzsomons. Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed our large rooms, great location and service! We do offer coffee makers in the room on request, so please be sure to ask if you prefer that to our complimentary morning coffee offered in the living room each morning. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My wife and I went to DC and NYC on our honeymoon. I book based on location and price. We walked to the White House easily, and the tour bus stops are nearby. The limited menu restaurant serves great food at night, breakfast is pretty standard. The entire staff smiles warmly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golden-Pig007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Golden-Pig007. Thank you for staying with us! I am thrilled that we were a part of making your honeymoon memorable and we hope that you will find us again to celebrate an anniversary! Best wishes to you both and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#82 of 141 in Washington DC
1,244 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
2,026 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#58 of 141 in Washington DC
1,231 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Property: Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Address: 1315 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Rouge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Kimpton Rouge Hotel is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Kimpton Rouge Hotel entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing