We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge rooms and modern, stylish feel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Ranked #88 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The title says it all. Probably one of the biggest hotel rooms I've ever had (and it was a classic or regular one), stylishly decorated (be sure to try the panther bathrobes...), personnel was very nice. There's not much to do right around the hotel but this is the case in most of DC anyway, get used to walking! Quite close to Dupont Circle though, and you can rent bikes right around the corner. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Matt_lux_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Matt_lux_12. Thank you very much for commenting on your recent visit to the Hotel Rouge. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your visit and noticed some of the unique extras we offer to make our guest’s feel at home and more comfortable. The bikes are the absolute BEST way to see the city and a great recommendation for other travelers! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,895)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,053 - 1,059 of 1,895 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

the room was very nice and modern decorated. we got kosher meals from the jewish center, that is in the neigbourhood.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arina1836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear arina1836. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Hotel Rouge! Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The one and only concern I had about this hotel is that the bathroom is very small. Especially the toilet bowl. I am 6'0" 230lbs and I could not sit on toilet it actually ruined my trip. Compared to other high priced hotels in DC this was the best value.
Super clean
Great location
Room was spacious. It was very huge but bathroom small, makes no sense.

Will recommend
Pets accepted

We are from Long Island, NY and hold everything to a high standard this met and exceded our expectations except for toilet or it would have been perfect.

Room Tip: I asked for a scenic view and largest room available and they granted my request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeyNewyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear JoeyNewyorks, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to DC and found the Hotel Rouge to be a great value. We love to hear when we exceed expectations and gain a new fan. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I've stayed at Kimpton hotels before and it was with high expectations that I booked a room for a one night stay with my nine year old daughter and her friend in early July. While a nice hotel, it's certainly not excellent and it was a disappointment after our wonderful stay at Hotel Giraffe in NYC the week before.

We booked a King Room with Bunk Bed Suite. The positives were that the room was spacious (though the bathroom was surprisingly small) with the kids absolutely loving the bunk bed alcove and the various things for kids they found there such as special snacks (I still have no idea if we were charged for this), and games. The location is great, and in walking distance to many sights and good restaurants.

The downside was that the hotel just seems very tired and knocked about. There were dents and small holes in the walls, and generally the decor has seen better days. As others have observed, red perhaps isn't the most restful colour and when a boutique hotel has lost its groove and is in need of a refurb, the red just seems oppressive.

The real negative though was the staff on the front desk who just didn't seem very interested. We were kept waiting at checkout because the young woman on the front desk was apparently caught up talking to a friend on the phone.

This was our last night in the US before heading back to Australia, and it was a let-down after an otherwise fabulous trip. Next time I'll look to stay in another hotel in DC.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catherinec188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Catherine C. Thank you very much for commenting on your recent visit to the Hotel Rouge. I am glad that you found our bunk bed rooms comfortable for your family. The additional amenities that come with this specialty room are complimentary. The staff will be disappointed to hear that they did not WOW you but we will certainly take your feedback as a means to continuously improve as we strive for every guest to have a good time and an excellent experience. If our atmosphere was not your cup of tea, we have plenty of Kimpton Hotels with different types of décor to choose from in DC and we hope that during your next trip we can find a better fit for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed six nights during the week of the 4th of July. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The double queen room was great for our family of four. The location was good,but a bit of a walk to the mall. The subway was also A bit of a walk. One plus Whole Foods and several restrurants were within walking distance. Enjoyed the wine hour.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShariJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear ShariJ. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your trip to DC and I am so happy that The Rouge made your visit more memorable. We pride ourselves in making travel fun and easy although a slight walk to public transportation, our location is central and convenient to most of the sights. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I visited Washington DC with a friend for the weekend. We chose to stay at Rouge because it was well located for walking either to Dupont Circle or Logan Circle- the two areas we wanted to have easy access to. The hotel is very friendly, the weather was extremely warm and we were happy for the delicious iced tea and fruit scented iced water available in the lobby. Our room was extremely comfortable and attractive and was quite spacious for a boutique style hotel.
The hotel is well located . There is easy access to the Metro at Dupont Circle and there are lots of shops and restaurants in easy walking distance. The price for the room was $225.00 which was not a deal but what is anymore?

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJKNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear NJKNewYork, I am thrilled that you and your friend enjoyed your weekend in DC and at The Rouge. We are a great location and centrally located near restaurants, sights and transportation. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Great location, wonderful staff and love the decor!! Free social hour (wine hour) is always a bonus!!!

Room Tip: Sign up to be a Kimpton Member. Great rates! Plus you get a 10.00 wet bar raid credit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear MelissaF. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Hotel Rouge! Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#90 of 141 in Washington DC
1,338 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#61 of 141 in Washington DC
1,301 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,236 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#38 of 141 in Washington DC
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Address: 1315 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $127 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Rouge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Kimpton Rouge Hotel is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Kimpton Rouge Hotel entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing