We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Ranked #76 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“We love this hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

My husband and I have stayed here frequently over the past few years because our daughter lives and works nearby. You can't beat the service and friendliness of the staff and the rooms are always clean and comfortable. There is a manager's reception in the evenings and although the breakfast is usually not included, there is free coffee available in the mornings. The area has an energetic vibe and one feels perfectly safe walking around after dark. It is quite easy to reach all the tourist sites by public transportation and there are great restaurants, banks, pharmacies and a Whole Foods within walking distance.
We arrived at the hotel in the middle of the earthquake frenzy on August 23rd, after sitting in traffic gridlock for hours. I jokingly mentioned it was my birthday and what a way to celebrate getting another year older. That night, when we returned from dinner, there was a nice bottle of wine on ice in our room, with two wine glasses and a birthday card!
This hotel really knows how to attract repeat customers!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJClem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    640
    203
    82
    36
See reviews for
386
580
152
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stansbury Park, UT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed here for a 5 day trip to Washington. We opted for the price that did not include breakfast. I was glad we did as it is only a simple continental breakfast with limited options. For the price of the breakfast it would not have been worth it. The staff was excellent and made you feel at home. They were great with kids and were very helpful. There is no pool for the youngsters but there are games avalailable. There is also not shuttle but cabs line up out front to take you wherever. One tip is to opt for the private Town Car drivers as they give you a much better deal than the actual cabbie with their meters. They really jack up the extra charges. The hotel isn't real close to a metro statio which is about the only draw back. There are also very few restaurants right near by. Aside from that, I loved the hotel and would recommend if you got a good deal. They are great about hiding your bags also I you get in early it want to stat late.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwolsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan0117, Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Dear bwolsen,

I am glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thank you very much for visiting us, please see us again in the near future.

Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
189 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

We felt at home here. My dog Lily was a welcome guest and all of the staff were exemplary. The location is great and I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Great rooms - lots of space and very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan0117, Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Dear ASayre,

I am very pleased to know that you felt home away from home at Rouge Hotel, we work very hard to make sure all guests feels at home while at the Rouge. You have a second home next time you are in DC, visit us again soon.

Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

The hotel is located less than 20 minutes walking from the white house and smithsonian, a CVS and other food shops are a few minutes away. We arrived at 2 in the morning and they gave us a lower rate (129), could have been less for the few hours....Even for the late hours 2 were at the reception, fresh and very kind. We asked for a quiet room via mail before, we got the high floor...but the room was adjacent to the elevators...so...not that quiet. The hotel is a very old buildunig freshly refurbished...so walls and deco are nice and new but doors are very old, no sound isolation and at certain places you can see the work was not very pro, but it is new, modern and very clean. We had a minor issues with housekeeping and a wrong minibar charge which the staff dealt with quickly and professinally ! One of the managers, Mr Bahar, specially made sure everything went well. Breakfast buffet was included and ok, but not that great either. smaller selection, very average food and fruits. I ordered regularly of the menu and it was not that great either, this was disappointing. Room is big, bed is very good, AC works fine. Big TV but with some picture problems (not too bad though, we watched some pay per view movies). Bathroom is very small, but clean. Minibar equiped with some "soft" sextoys...akward. Very akward leopard bathrobes. Iron was not cleaned, as i wanted to use it brown (i guess rust) juice came out...no go. Except for the minor problem, housekeeping was very good, clean. The hotel is in a gay neighbourhood, which we did not know, and also clientele and certain staff, not bothersome though.Dog friendly hotel, so certain places in the bar can smellv very bad in the morning. WIFI was fast. Very accomodation staff. All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swisstourist81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Stayed here with my husband and two teenagers during one of the hottest weeks this summer in DC. DC is normally hot and humid during the summer, but this was unbearable and so draining. However, the staff at the Rouge went out of their way to compensate (including complimentary watermelon sangria!). Our room was perfect for us, the service was impeccable, and nothing disappointed. I accidentally left some clothing in our room when we checked out, and Tina, the head of housekeeping, could not have been nicer about sending it to me and not making me feel like an idiot for being so careless. The location is outstanding, too, right between Dupont Circle and downtown. And so much nice than one of those drab chains with no character!

Room Tip: Ask! They want their guests to be happy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

We were treated like VIP's before we even arrived! A personal e-mail from Allan Bella (Asst. General Manager) was followed by a complimentary bottle of wine and chocolates brought to our room. We were upgraded to a king room with kitchenette, and I admit we were stunned by the hotel. We usually stay at a "chain" hotel (i.e. Hyatt, Hilton, etc), so when we booked the Rouge it was with some amount of trepidation. Our fears were unfounded. The hotel was more than we could have ever dreamed of. The room was huge. The bed and linens were luxurious, and the "extras" made this hotel a destination, instead of just a way station while you visited the city. What other hotel offers its guests a bottle of water when they come back from a busy day of sightseeing? How about the use of a red feather boa when you need one for a night on the town? (didn't use that one, but it sounded like fun!) Complimentary Wine and Sangria are offered every evening, and on the weekends they have Bloody Mary's and cold pizza from eleven to noon. The staff was superb. Everyone from the front desk staff to housekeeping to the repairmen were thoughtful, efficient and determined to make our stay the highlight of our trip. Bravo. Bravo.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on an upper floor. Sign up on Kimpton website for free internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlabasterJar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Nice hotel, friendly staff and good location

This hotel is a great place to stay. Rooms are awesome. Place is clean.
We booked this at a great price, the location of hotel is awesome, most of the attractions in Washington DC are walkable from this hotel.

Room is spacious and the interiors are great.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reachvenky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#80 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Property: Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Address: 1315 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Rouge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Kimpton Rouge Hotel is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Kimpton Rouge Hotel entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing