We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Gorgeous modern hotel in the perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hyatt Washington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Hyatt Washington
Ranked #13 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Gorgeous modern hotel in the perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

Overall, we loved this hotel's location, ambiance, and amenities. It is a short walk to downtown Georgetown, the Kennedy Center, and has easy access to Rock Creek Park. The hotel itself has an awesome modern decor, which extends to the rooms. Our room (on the 10th floor) was spacious, exceptionally clean, and very comfortable. Extra perks: Nespresso machine in the room, a flat-panel TV that swung out from the wall, great bathroom (and delicious-smelling toiletries) and adorable dog amenities. The package we booked also included breakfast at the hotel's restaurant, which was a real treat. They offer either a very nice buffet, or a la carte, and there is a lovely outdoor seating area, which we took advantage of. We enjoyed this hotel immensely, and that is despite a rocky start. We had a bit of a delay checking-in, getting seated at breakfast the first morning, and with the dog amenities, which we had pre-ordered for our pooch. My husband said something to the manager and he instantly made it right, waiving the dog fee and ensuring that we were seated promptly the next morning. We are already looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyLawNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,172
    306
    84
    48
    25
See reviews for
369
458
102
554
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloemendaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
123 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

We booked 2 rooms and prior to arrival we mailed ahead to make sure we would get connecting rooms. They replied within few hours this was arranged.
Upon checking we were given an higher category room which we appreciated very much as this additionally had a 'living room area'. Check in was efficient and friendly and we liked the looks and decoration from both hotel area's as well as rooms. The beds were phenomenal and the bathroom of our suite was with an exceptional large shower/bath in nice dark marble/stone.

The hotel is located in a nice area right between the major sightseeing and museums on one side and the nice shops around M street. Bikes were at hand at the doormen and we used them to cycle downtown to visit the white house, capitol etc. A typical way for a Dutchmen to go around.

Where there points of criticism, yes but few.

I found they had plenty of staff in the restaurant we used both for breakfast and dinner but it seems all a bit slow and inefficient though friendly. Hard to explain but you will notice what I mean.

What annoyed me is that I tried to make a reservation at the seaters for the next evening with a table outside I was told this was not possible, only inside as outside was done at a first come first serve base. I asked them I would feel this is inappropriate to guest staying in the hotel. Well, they did not care. I walked over to the reception and told them the story, added that I am, besides a hotel guest, a diamond member and expected something extra and that I had many options around. Here reply was forward, Sir, no need for all that, i agree with you as a in house guest and will arrange it. And so it happened. The restaurant said to be one of the better in town, it was good but not something I would call spectacular...

Anyhow, good hotel in a more quiet part of town with fine rooms.

Room Tip: Higher floors and better not facing M street at this is more busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

I stayed in the somewhat larger deluxe room category. I was very happy with the oversized desk in the middle of the room - perfect for working. Everything was comfortable and well-appointed. Large and well designed bathroom. Lobby area very pleasant. Nice, professional service. The hotel was very accommodating when I asked to switch a quieter room. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AvidTraveler941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear AvidTraveler941,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to read how accommodating our staff was with your Premier Park Deluxe room switch. Their spacious size really makes for an enjoyable stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

A little bit pricy, but not bad for the location in DC. 5 blocks from a Metro station for easy transport. A courtesy car that will take you anywhere within 5 miles for only the cost of tipping the driver (WAY less than a cab!). Wonderful concierge service that will do anything from grab your sunglasses out of your car, bring you ice, or track down theatre tickets. Exceptionally professional staff from doormen to housekeeping to management. Overall very impressed with the room we stayed in (500-something square feet). Very clean and well kept, and a great stay overall. We will probably return.
The only complaint is that our room faced a back alley, and despite being on the 10th floor, it was VERY loud when they came to pick up the trash at 7 AM nearly every day.

Room Tip: Upgrade to something bigger than the base room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Brent C,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent visit. Despite the inconvenience of hearing noise in the back alley, it sounds like you had a very pleasant stay. What a delight to read how helpful our concierge was, honoring all of your requests, and then some! I will be certain to share your comments with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

I had planned our week in Washington D.C. 4 months prior to our trip. This hotel was our first stay of our 7 day stay around Washington D.C. We got to the hotel very early on July 30th to check in - about 11:30 or noon. No problem - we could not check in and they held our luggage. The front desk lady said, "Are you part of the group of convention people who are checking in?" I said, "No, we are not." (Back to that later in my story.) Great, we will go explore the city. We left with the front desk saying "We will call you and let you know when your room is ready and it will be before 3 PM." My boyfriend was fighting the end of a cold and by about 2:00 he asked if the hotel called me. I said no and I shall call them back. I called and I got a cold "No your room is not ready." So we did a few more things and then started to make our way back to the hotel. It was then after 3 PM. Again, the front desk person said, "Sorry but your room still isn't ready." I then said, "Well I need a room and I need to speak with someone. It's past 3 PM and my boyfriend is not feeling well." Well out comes Gregorie Lantoin. Very polite and well mannered but he apologizes and says, "We are sorry but we had a group of convention people last minute "last night" book a lot of our rooms." I then said, "Well that is all good but I booked my room 3-4 months ago and it's past the check in time of 3 PM. I said, "I don't care if you put us in a smaller room or a larger room but we need a room." He politely smiled and we did get upgraded and finally got in our room.

I did go back and forth on this hotel and almost booked the Grand Hyatt which now I wish of would of done. I didn't like the fact that I planned this vacation down to a tee and now had to beg to get in my room. The room was nice and the bathroom was beautiful. The "Bergamote 22" shampoo, soap and lotion that was provided in our room was great. We stayed here 2 nights and then stayed at the Willard right by the White House for 2 nights. We ended our stay in Arlington, VA at the Le Meriden. This is my first time staying at a Park Hyatt and it may be my last.

I guess if I would of told the check in person I was part of the convention, I may have got my room quicker? I don't know but I've stayed in many hotels and it's the first time I ever had to do this.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MN_LADY_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear MN_LADY_X,

Thank you for taking time to share feedback from your recent stay with us. While we strive to create a memorable experience for our guests, clearly this was not the case, and for that please accept our sincerest apologies. I have passed your comments along to our management team for further review, as perhaps this situation could have been handled better. We do hope that you consider to stay with us again and allow us the opportunity to make your second visit a much more pleasant one.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
131 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Park Hyatt is my favorite high-end hotel in DC. I have never been disappointed here. It is expensive (for me) but when the occasion warrants a splurge this should be it.

Rooms are beautiful, lovely linens, good art work in the rooms - throughout the whole hotel. Fun little amenities and turn down service. The staff is flawless.

Suite are spacious and well appointed. This would be a good place for family visits to the city - fourth of July, New Years Eve, Presidential Inauguration, anti-war demonstration, etc.

Just wish I could afford to stay here more...... sigh.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmic_beancounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear cosmic_beancounter,

Thank you for selecting us as your favorite hotel in DC! Please be sure to visit the Offers page of our website to see which special promotions are being offered during visit to the nation's capital, as you will find a variety of perks for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Had an excellent 4 days here at the Park Hyatt; High quality service and excellent food; very professional and helpful staff offering high quality service. The hotel is modern and spacious and conveniently situated to all the major sites. It is only a 10 minute walk to Georgetown, its restaurants and beautiful streets. If walking is not your cup of tea, there are plenty of reasonably priced taxis always on hand. I would definitely return to this Hyatt again in the future.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Donald F,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay with us! It is great to read how much you enjoyed our hotel, including the service demonstrated by our team. I have already shared your comments with our team, who are most appreciative. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Washington

Property: Park Hyatt Washington
Address: 1201 24th St NW, (at the intersection of 24th & M Streets NW), Washington DC, DC 20037-1104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Washington 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hyatt Washington, located in the fashionable West End Georgetown neighborhood of the nation's capital, combines sophisticated modernism with classic American style. With its Tea Cellar offering rare and vintage tea selections, intimate Spa Room offering an array of services and treatments, redesigned flexible event and meeting space, and celebrated Blue Duck Tavern restaurant, Park Hyatt Washington offers guests a unique experience in the nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing