We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hyatt Washington
Ranked #25 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel looks like it has been totally updated. Very modern looking and spacious rooms. A large sitting area and then a separate bedroom. It is not separated by a door though which was fine but if for some reason you want this, it is not. Very expansive bathroom and love the shower. The bar is great as well as the restaurant. Must make reservations though or you probably won't get in. Metro is about a 10 min walk. At the outskirts of the Georgetown area but you can walk easily to all the shopping area. Staff very helpful. Staying here for a conference; therefore, getting conference discounted room but not sure if I would stay here on my own for the price of the normal rates as I believe this room is normally very pricey. But it is excellent. Indoor pool and jacuzzi. Spa is on the property I believe but didn't use it. 24 hr room service which is nice. The workout room is large for a hotel with more equipment than I am used to seeing in hotels. Complimentary Internet provided which I like.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clmtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,936)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,254 - 1,260 of 1,936 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend. The service was supreme. Rooms are clean, modern and comfortable. The gym is very nice and you have TVs and a nice view to keep you occupied. Our room key did not work twice otherwise a great stat.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Anonthego,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us. I do apologize that there were challenges with your keys, it is nice to hear that you enjoyed our hotel facilities and service. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us in DC and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Once again, the staff at the Park Hyatt and the restaurant make this a wonderful place to stay. I appreciate the minimalist decor of the rooms. Things are always very clean and orderly. The bed and pillows are very comfortable. But the really positive experience is with the staff who go out of their way to be helpful for all guests. On top of this, the food available through room service and especially in the restaurant, the Blue Duck, is always interesting, challenging me to try something new, and I end up loving every bite. I also appreciate that while the restaurant may be full with reserved tables duirng the busy hours, they graciously and warmly accomodate a solo woman guest in a bistro like lounge setting. I did not feel like I was sitting at a bar to eat. I do not take this for granted and appreciate when I feel comfortable and enjoy my meal in a restaurant while traveling solo. I have stayed at the Park Hyatt many times and find this to be consistently enjoyable. I welcome the chance to stay here, on business or as a tourist!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Markey2,

What a wonderful review to read! I am so happy to know how much you enjoyed our service and food and that you felt so comfortable while here. We thank you for visiting with us again and for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you to the Nation's Capital.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in August 2013. Right from the moment we got down from the cab, every staff member we come across made us feel so welcome and special. Check in was quick. The luggage swiftly carried to the room.

We had a VIEW PREMIER Deluxe room. Very spacious, comfortable, more like a suite. With a separate seating area. A huge bathroom. Well stocked with great amenities.

In room dining was great. Their kitchen serves delicious meals.

The concierge desk is one of the best I have come across during this US trip. Even before I arrived, I had some queries. The concierge desk replied so promptly which reflects their eagerness to make your stay comfortable in every sense.

The hotel is very child friendly. They had already placed a cute stuff toy for my toddler. A small gesture which goes a long way to show that they care about the guests.

They have a good gym. Well maintained and great quality equipment.

Another great thing is the location. A short 5-10 minute walk to Georgetown which is a lovely area just to roam around and offers plenty of options to shop and eat. Restaurants shut early.
From Georgetown itself one can get on the ferry for a river cruise. Walk to the Lincoln Memorial is about 20-25 mins.

During the day, the hotel also offers a complimentary Sedan drop to areas nearby. Its on first come first serve basis i guess.

Would certainly love to stay at Park Hyatt whenever i visit Washington DC next.

Room Tip: View Premier Deluxe, front facing. You get a suite like space. A huge bathroom. Great Value For Mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IBTEDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear IBTEDA,

Wow! Thank you for sharing such a wonderful, detailed review of our hotel. It truly is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your recent visit, including the service of our team. I especially loved hearing about the panda that your toddler enjoyed. We appreciate your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back again - hopefully soon!

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night for a business meeting. Hotel is decorated well. Nice amenities. Upscale modern common areas and rooms. The also offered free wireless which was nice. I had two complaints. The bed has only one heavy comforter with no extra sheet. I tried to turn air down but was very hot with comforter. Finally figured out I could take the comforter a part to just have a sheet. So my sleep quality was not the best. My room was also across from a staff service room which they constantly were going in and out of banging the door making the room not very quiet. I was in room 430.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upontheridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear ridge4me,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us. While we strive to create a wonderful stay for our guests, it appears this was not was the case for you, and for that, please accept my sincerest apologies. I will be sure to pass along your comments with our Housekeeping management team to further review.

In an effort to prevent any future discomfort in your sleep, I've updated your profile to ensure you receive a top sheet on your bed so that you can remove the duvet should you wish. I've also added your preference for a quiet room. We do hope you will consider staying with us again when in D.C.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I've stayed at the Park Hyatt Washington dozens of times and the service is exemplary, especially for an American hotel. The staff is friendly, efficient, and well-trained, and there are a lot of people to help with every service. During our most recent trip, we had a few minor glitches -- errors in room service orders and housekeeping forgot to service our room -- but these were noteworthy primarily because it is so rare for there to be a glitch in the service. The hotel itself is sleek and understated, and the rooms are comfortable and high quality overall, especially if you get a deluxe room. Good exercise facility. The Blue Duck Tavern is a superb restaurant -- one of the best in DC -- and the bar is first-rate (but don't go there if you want to watch a game as there are no TVs). The local neighborhood is nice -- K Street is nearby but the immediate area is residential.

Room Tip: It is a long walk to rooms at the far end of the corridors. Rooms near the elevator are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lllaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear lllaroo,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your most recent stay with us. It sounds like you had a great stay, with the exception of your In Room Dining and Housekeeping experiences. I do apologize that our service was not up to par on this visit and appreciate your understanding as a valued repeat guest.

I am so glad that we have succeeded in providing you with wonderful service throughout the Hotel and memorable meals while staying with us. We look forward to being your hosts again!

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife surprised me with a birthday trip to Washington D.C. as I had never been. We flew in late Friday night (after work, part of the surprise) so we got to the Park Hyatt near midnight. I could not help but notice the cherry blossom-painted glass enclosures in the lobby and the pleasant service at check-in. We went to the bar after dropping our bags and had some amazing cocktails and decent late-night food (lobster roll & fried chicken) as well as exemplary service from the bar staff. I am embarrassed that I waited so long to write this review that I forgot her name.

The room was comfortable but not exceptional, reasonably sized and well appointed. I was surprised that the emergency sprinklers were very obvious and not concealed in any way (maybe district code?). The next day our concierge, Amy, gave us excellent recommendations for brunch (Farmers, Fishers, Bakers), sight-seeing and dinner (Al Tiramisu) and after more drinks and conversation at the bar where they refused to charge me for my drink as it was my birthday, we returned to our room to find a complimentary bottle of wine and a birthday apple pie from their award-winning Blue Duck Tavern, fantastic! We never got a chance to go to the gym/spa so I am unable to give a rating.

Everyone on their staff made us feel special during our stay and I will whole-heartedly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to D.C. I look forward to staying there when next we visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Marc K,

Happy Belated Birthday! It sounds like a wonderful surprise trip to DC that you and your wife both enjoyed. I am so happy to read how well our team took care of you on special day. We thank you for visiting with us and taking the time to share your feedback. We hope you both come stay with us again should your travels bring you back to the nation's capital.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
1,275 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
2,012 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,293 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Washington

Address: 1201 24th St NW, (at the intersection of 24th & M Streets NW), Washington DC, DC 20037-1104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $295 - $709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Washington 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hyatt Washington, located in the fashionable West End Georgetown neighborhood of the nation's capital, combines sophisticated modernism with classic American style. With its Tea Cellar offering rare and vintage tea selections, intimate Spa Room offering an array of services and treatments, redesigned flexible event and meeting space, and celebrated Blue Duck Tavern restaurant, Park Hyatt Washington offers guests a unique experience in the nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelPower, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing