We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Hyatt Washington
Ranked #25 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2008

We stayed at the Park Hyatt DC over the July 4th weekend, we thought the hotel was wonderful! It was our first trip with our 7 month old daughter. We got the Park King Deluxe room- over 600 square feet- lots of room, the bathroom was great with the rainfall shower and soaking tub. The staff was beyond nice and so very helpful. DC is a great city, we can't wait to go back. This hotel is in a great location and a 5 minute walk to Georgetown- You can't go wrong with this luxury hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JMN19701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,936)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,765 - 1,771 of 1,936 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2008

Wonderful place to stay - the staff is great, very very helpful and the hotel is amazing! We stayed there with our 7 month old daughter and got a Park Deluxe Room - great room with kids- their space and our space! Two bathrooms! The rainfall shower was great!

If you can, book a package with breakfast ( like AAA or their Awaken) package! Their breakfasts are great, but over the top expensive unless you have a package. My husband & I got breakfast and it was $98... Good thing we had it included, and this was just a normal breakfast!

Overall, this hotel is great, nicer than the Ritz, etc.. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLT19701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

We have just returned from a three night stay at the Park Hyatt Washington. I took my family to D.C. to celebrate the Fourth of July. All four of us left D.C. suitably impressed with the PHW.

When the four of us travel together we always book two connecting rooms. Sometimes this works out smoothly and sometimes it doesn't. We arrived at the hotel at 9:15 am having asked for early check-in but not really expecting anything that early in the day. The front desk explained that our children's room was ready but apologized that our room, we had booked a Park Deluxe King, was still occupied. No problem! We were happy to have a room to put our luggage into rather than just leave it in storage. The four of us piled into the kids' room, a Park Twin (with two twin beds), at 9:30 am and then proceeded out of the hotel to explore the city. When we arrived back at the hotel later that afternoon we were told that our second room was ready. Did I say room? What I meant to say was suite! My husband and I had been upgraded to a Park Suite which connected to our children's room. This suite was amazing! It was over 1,000 square feet and had a living room, a study, a bedroom, and two bathrooms! This combination of suite and connecting room is now our gold standard in family travel. It will be hard to beat.

Location, Location, Location! On our last family trip to D.C. we stayed at the St. Regis and were rather disappointed in the location. Yes, it is close to the White House and the Metro but at night that area was pretty dead and there weren't many choices when it came to restaurants, except for Olives, which is excellent. We decided that on our next visit we would stay in or near Georgetown, which has a fun vibe and doesn't close down after six p.m. We picked the Park Hyatt Washington because we are familiar with the Park Hyatt brand, it is very close to Georgetown (which is two blocks away), and has easy access to the Metro (Foggy Bottom-GWU) about four-five blocks away. We chose the PHW over the Four Seasons and Ritz Carlton Georgetown because these two hotels have no close access to the Metro and the PHW had the best deals of all three. We were very happy with our decision. The Metro station was less than a ten minute walk, all of it through a pleasant residential/hotel area. Georgetown is also about a ten to twenty minute walk, depending of your destination. Our kids love Pizzeria Paradiso, and I am a big fan of Dean & Deluca, both took about fifteen minutes to walk to from the PHW. The bellmen/doormen at the hotel are particularly helpful and welcoming. They provided us with bottles of water when we returned after a long day of walking around the Mall and also had plenty of umbrellas available when it looked like rain was a possibility.

We were fortunate that our hotel rate included breakfast at the hotel. The breakfast menu was varied and had something for everyone. The continental breakfast had a nice layout of pastries, (the cherry coffee cake with cardamom streusel is something that all four of us are going through withdrawal from this morning), fruit, cereal, and the like. The staff in the restaurant were all very helpful and the service was excellent. The four of us celebrated the Fourth of July with dinner at the Blue Duck Tavern, the Park Hyatt Washington's acclaimed restaurant. I was a bit trepidatious because not all hotel restaurants live up to their hype. I can think of a few Park Hyatt hotel restaurants that have been a disappointment in the past. Needless to say our meal at the Blue Duck Tavern was delicious. We ordered a number of entrees and side dishes for all four of us to share. Our dessert plates were almost licked clean. Before I forget, talking about food got me thinking about the PHW concierge. This hotel's concierge service is impeccable. They were able to get us reservations and any other information that we requested in a timely manner. If anything needed extra research or time they were quick to give me a call as soon as the information was obtained.

All in all, we would highly recommend the Park Hyatt Washington to everyone, be they leisure or business travelers. The hotel itself, its staff, its restaurant, and its location are all unbeatable if you are traveling to D.C. We will be staying there next time we are in D.C.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Renaissancemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

I stayed here in June 2008 with the American Express Fine Hotels & Resorts program. My wife and I were upgraded to a park suite, which was a great room. Huge walk-in closet, a large walk-in shower, separate bedroom, dining area, and den with a half bath, flat screen TV and plenty of seating. We were visiting my brothers and the room was perfect for entertaining.

We had an American Continental breakfast with our room package; it was served buffet style and had a lot of options, though more fresh fruit and maybe some simple toast would have been nice.

The pool area was small but nice; they didn't have any lounge chairs, only normal chairs (and about 20 of them), which would have been nice to relax in. Also no showers that I saw to rinse off before getting in the water. The gym was very nicely equipped for a hotel gym w/ TV's, dumbbells, a nice cable machine and most of the other weight machines you would expect.

The staff was very helpful and not overly stuffy. They had plenty of umbrellas at the front door when it rained, and were very quick to respond to requests for ice or an ironing board.

Overall, a great stay, especially for anyone looking for a less stuffy but still 5 star alternative to the Ritz Carlton and Four Seasons nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joeinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2008

We have just returned from staying 3 nights nights at this well-located property in the "West End" area of Washington DC (between Foggy Bottom and Georgetown).The hotel is very up-scale,minimalist contemporary in style ,with an attitude problem to match! The most accomodating personnel are the bell staff. There are several similar properties in the immediate area,any one of which we would definitely consider and book in a future stay in this city.Based on our irritating reception from staff and managers,"trained" to handle problems, we would definitely never suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank moimeme04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

The Park Hyatt Washington, DC is a true gem. Everything is done with an attention to detail. The rooms are exceptionally well-maintained, all of the staff provide that "extra touch," and the whole design is clean, simple, and subtly luxurious. Whenever you place a call to the staff, the phone is rarely ever answered after one ring. I had a Park King room, which was very sizable. The staff also provides up-to-date DC lifestyle magazines within all of the rooms. All of the rooms feature flat-panel Sharp AQUOS televisions that show a great picture. The bath amenities are by Blaise Mautin, an up-and-coming Parisian who has custom-designed a scent for the Park Hyatt Washington. One can actually smell his talent throughout the whole hotel.

Overall, I had an AMAZING experience. As a DC area native, this might be the BEST if not THE BEST luxury hotel in Washington, DC.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DCTransplant39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2008

We booked our stay with two reward nights. Simply put, the hotel room was amazing and beautiful.

Upon check-in, we were greated and given our room keys, to this point everything looked nice.

When we opened the door to our room, we were blown away. This was the nicest hotel room we have ever stayed in. The room was huge, with seperate lounging rooms and bed room. But the best part was the bathroom! It has a deep soaking tub and then outside of the tub is a rain shower. But both the tub and rain shower are in a huge tiled area with no door. You really have to see it to belive it. I even took a picture because I thought it was so nice, but I am not satisfied that the picture does justice to the room.

The view was very nice and the location is excellent to many great restaurants and bars closeby.

You will not be disappointed by the rooms, they are all spectacular!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
1,276 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
2,014 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,293 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Washington

Address: 1201 24th St NW, (at the intersection of 24th & M Streets NW), Washington DC, DC 20037-1104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $296 - $712 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Washington 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hyatt Washington, located in the fashionable West End Georgetown neighborhood of the nation's capital, combines sophisticated modernism with classic American style. With its Tea Cellar offering rare and vintage tea selections, intimate Spa Room offering an array of services and treatments, redesigned flexible event and meeting space, and celebrated Blue Duck Tavern restaurant, Park Hyatt Washington offers guests a unique experience in the nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, HotelPower, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing