We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay here..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hyatt Washington
Ranked #21 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay here..”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

There was quite a mix of people staying here business travelers and sightseers , overall I really enjoyed the stay. The room was a nice size, clean and the bed was very comfortable. The only thing that bothered me about this hotel were the over privileged children whose parents couldn’t be bothered to watch them. The children RAN all over the place during breakfast, handled food at the buffet, then threw the food. No one said a word to the these children, not even the staff. I do believe that the staff should have interjected because these children did affect the experience of the other people eating in the morning. I liked the location, we were able to walk over to the monuments and enjoyed the nice spring weather. I would defiantly go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 005Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,244
    322
    95
    53
    28
See reviews for
394
491
107
591
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was fortunate enough to visit the hotel last week. Unfortunately only for one night. I arrived around 9pm. The lobby staff got me checked in swiftly - including an upgrade to a very nice suite (will attach pictures). Coolest shower i have seen in US hotel. I stayed on the third floor, with a backside room, which was very quiet. Finding the gym was tricky as you have to exit into a stairwell at the end of the 3rd floor hallway - head down a couple flights of stairs. there was a spa (which was closed at that time of night) but the gym was very nice. half dozen treadmills, elliptical, weights (both free and machine). Water bottles, towels, and headphones for plugging into the machines. Breakfast the following morning in the restaurant for two of us was around $80. Location good. Place was pricey (even for DC) but would stay again if given the chance.

Room Tip: my room on the third floor - back side was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathum M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Mathum M,

Thank you for your recent review of our property. It sounds like you very much enjoyed your stay, including your upgrade to a suite. If only you had more time to visit with us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGP
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Park Hyatt, supposedly the top class among other Hyatt chain hotel, I expect nothing less. But sadly, it was a disappointment. Arrive at noon, was given a room at 3rd level. It has small window with slanted blind, old and tired looking. Being a business hotel, it doesn't even have ironing board in the room. Funny thing is, upon looking at the room, (when sending my luggage up) Bellman was apologetic and help to request for another room without being asked. It that mean i was given sub standard room in the first place?? If it doesn't meet the hotel standard, it should not have this kind of room in the first place.
An hour later was moved to higher floor. This room was slightly better. Better lighting, more window, bigger size (maybe coz it was corner), have ironing board in the room and much better shower area though it still have its old and tired look.
Room amenities is really lacking. No toothbrush, no shaver and no tea making service. I was given a better amenities and room at Hyatt regency Vancouver. Request for kettle and was delivered to the room at no extra cost. But you do need to bring your own tea bag or coffee since they only lend you the kettle to boil water.
Location was ok. There is a hospital and fire department at nearby block. So sometimes you can hear the sirens from the room. About 2-3 block away from Georgetown and metro. Walkable but not ideal. But the hotel provide sedan in the morning to send you anywhere within 5 miles.
Half of the time I need to open my own door since the doorman are not around. No biggies but reflect the service standard.
The only good thing in memory is the comfortable bed.
All in all.. Don't think is worth to pay that much for this hotel. Nothing really impress me to go back to the same hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chummyyummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear chummyyummy,

Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your recent stay with us. While we strive to create a wonderful experience for our guests, we clearly fell short during your visit and for that I am truly sorry. Please do accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences during your visit. I will be sure to share your comments with our management team for further review. Should you wan to discuss any of the opportunities further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at renee.eisman@hyatt.com.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

What a difference a year makes. Last year-great stay, loved it. This year... Started off in a room that smelled of smoke. I was moved, and upgraded, which was very nice.
Room was clean but, showing it age. Carpets in room and hotel look worn, wallpaper peeling in places, paint dingy. So surprised by the aging appearance of this hotel.
I just didn't feel it this trip. I must make a note of the prompt response from Andrew Davidson, General Manager. And although I did appreciate his response...it doesn't change the overall disappointment I felt this trip. For the $350+ a night, this should have been a much better experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinboys2Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brielle, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Arrived for a two night stay with my 3 boys ages 6-11 and was welcomed and fawned over the entire time. This hotel knows how to perfectly treat a guest. When our bathroom shower wasnt working properly, they were mortified and we were immediately accomodated with a much larger room and "anything at all that would make our stay more comfortable" and the manager MEANT it! Treated like royalty is right! Well worth the $$$.

Room Tip: Pool/gym is off of floor 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jupidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Jupidog,

Thank you for sharing such wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay. We are so happy to read how much you and your boys enjoyed your stay with us, especially the service demonstrated by our staff. We look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Arriving early the staff (Josh) made arrangements for early entry to our suite. We were also able to upgrade from a smaller room to a suite which allowed our son to have privacy and made our stay seem more home-like. The modern room, was truly a work of art with attention to detail that made us look forward to returning to our oasis room from our busy days sightseeing. The location was perfect; 10 block walk to the monuments and 10 blocks to shopping in Georgetown. We loved the hotel and its service so much that we stayed an addtional night. A huge thanks to Emily for making those arrangements. I am recommending Park Hyatt and the lovely city of DC to all of our friends!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyp540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

From the minute my taxi arrived, the staff at the Hyatt took care of me right away. They were all very attentive. The room was modern, well lit, and super comfortable. The shower rain in the luxurious bathroom was a bonus. The fitness room was nice, clean, and had newer equipment. The pool area looked cleaned and inviting too. Good location near Georgetown. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LorenasTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear LorenasTravels,

Thank you for sharing such a lovely review of our hotel. It truly sounds like you had a terrific time staying with us and really enjoyed our property. We appreciate you taking the time to share such positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with the rest of our team. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Washington

Property: Park Hyatt Washington
Address: 1201 24th St NW, (at the intersection of 24th & M Streets NW), Washington DC, DC 20037-1104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Washington 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hyatt Washington, located in the fashionable West End Georgetown neighborhood of the nation's capital, combines sophisticated modernism with classic American style. With its Tea Cellar offering rare and vintage tea selections, intimate Spa Room offering an array of services and treatments, redesigned flexible event and meeting space, and celebrated Blue Duck Tavern restaurant, Park Hyatt Washington offers guests a unique experience in the nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Park Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing