We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business trip (with fun mixed in)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Hyatt Washington
Ranked #24 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I cannot say enough about my stay at the Park Hyatt during a recent two-night business trip - the staff are attentive and eager to please, my room was spacious, elegant and clean as a whistle, and I enjoyed top-notch service at Blue Duck Tavern and the hotel lounge. My rate included breakfast, which allowed me to enjoy any breakfast entree at Blue Duck accompanied by a huge pot of green tea and a beautiful plate of multigrain toast that was enough for two. Wi-Fi was also included, and the hotel definitely caters to business travelers because I cannot imagine a more relaxing or accommodating environment to catch up on email, read the paper, or conduct a quiet meeting. I was also pleasantly surprised by how convenient it was to walk into Georgetown from the hotel, which allowed me to do a little shopping and visit a relative who attends the university. Overall, this place is worth every penny and I won't stay anywhere else in D.C. as long as a room is available at the Park Hyatt.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerseyBredFilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear JerseyBredFilly,

Thank you sharing such a terrific review of our property. It was our pleasure to host you during your recent business trip. I am glad that you were able to experience Blue Duck Tavern as well, and enjoy breakfast with us. We appreciate you making us your favorite hotel in the nation's capital and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,843)
There are newer reviews for Park Hyatt Washington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,303 - 1,309 of 1,843 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just returned from 4 night stay for wife's birthday. Chose the corner room which is an upgrade.
No need to re-tell of all the wonderful things others say in past reviews as it is an exceptional hotel with the best staff EVER.
I'll just mention the couple items that could be improved that would make it perfect.
The room is a very drab off-white color with plenty of blemishes. The look of the room is very contemporary and it would be amazing with some funky/bright color in the rooms.
Edges of carpet around room all had dust, nothing that an attachment couldn't fix.
Limited storgae for clothes, there are no dressers just hanging area with a few shelves with baskets.
It is loud! Very close to GWU hospital and we felt as we were in an emergency zone with lots of sirens. At times it seemed as if there were no windows it was so loud.
The Blue Duck is great, make sure to get the AAA package that includes breakfast. Our cost for a regular American Breakfast for 2 would have run $80 plus with tax/tip. The restaurant is not really set-up to view food prep, maybe 20% of tables have that view. We had no view of kitchen for the 5 meals we ate.
Really enjoyed our stay and it is so close to great!!

Room Tip: be aware that outside rooms are very noisy.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear tdoll,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us this past week for your wife's birthday! I happy to read how much you both enjoyed your visit with the exception of a few small details. Our hotel was designed to be warm and comfortable, paying homage to classic Americana. I will be sure to pass along your feedback to the rest of our team. We hope to welcome you and wife back again soon.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The staff and accomodations are excellent at the Park Hyatt. My wife and I went for a weekend get away and were pleasantly surprised. The staff at the desk are super polite and helpful. the Bellmen are always on the run making sure to catch the door, grab your bags, or get your car. I will say that the cost for overnight valet parking is way overpriced. It is close to $50 per night with cost and fee?? That was the only downside to an otherwise great stay. Also, Georgetown/M street shopping and restaurants are just a couple of blocks away. We had requested a room upgrade for $100 ahead of time if it was available, but the front desk gave us the upgrade for free since it was a special weekend for us.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Kiemc,

We are delighted to hear how much you and wife enjoyed your recent stay with us, especially the service demonstrated by our front office team! What a nice surprise to be upgraded for your special weekend. It was a pleasure to have you both as guests in the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just returned from a visit to this amazing hotel!!! This is truly the place to stay. The location of the hotel is perfect, perfect perfect!! My wife and I enjoyed an easy walk to Georgetown and an easy walk to many amazing areas of D.C. including Dupont Circle. This hotel is all about service, service, service. From the time we entered the gorgeous lobby, staff could not have been kinder or more serving. The hotel made us feel good from the moment we entered. There is a "vibe" of calm and serenity" coupled with excitement. The decor is amazing!! The accomodations are modern and the bedding, linens and amenities are perfect, perfect, perfect. It is a feel good hotel, not stuffy yet the staff all exude the highest level of professionalism. My wife and I rarely eat our dinners at a hotel when visiting in that we like to explore the city but the restaurant at this hotel cannot be missed. We were amazed by watching our dinners prepared in this professional open kitchen where the chefs are proud of what they create. The presentations were magnficent and every server was seasoned and professional. We love the "farm to table" concept for breakfast and it is truly a breakfast to remember. This hotel is wonderful for couples, but it is a wonderful place for conferences and special events. This hotel truly has a "vibe" that would be impossible not to feel. Cant wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarbash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear tarbash,

Thank you for sharing an amazing review of our property! Your feedback is very important to us. We love how much you and your wife enjoyed the "vibe" of both of our decor and staff and how you truly felt calm and serene. We want to also thank you for choosing to dine at Blue Duck Tavern. It definitely is great to sit by the kitchen and watch your meal being prepared. We look forward to welcoming you both back again soon.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I was planning a special trip for my wife who was being inducted into our alma maters Hall of Fame. I booked the Park Hyatt Washington through Amex's Fine Hotel and Resorts program. Wanting the weekend to be special, I worked with the concierge to arrange for a special gift to be in our room when we arrived (which required several trips to the university's bookstore by the conceirge staff on our behalf), dinner reservations, spa treatment, and limo service. They did not disappoint! The service incredible. We felt as if they already knew us when we got there. The staff gave my wife and I, and our kids, a special welcome tray of champagne, cookies, apple pie, etc. to help celebrate this special occassion. This will be are hotel of choice whenever we are in the Washington DC area. If you need concierge services, ask for Shane. He is the best!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike0steff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear mike0steff,

Congratulations to your wife on her recent induction into the Hall of Fame! Such an incredible accomplishment. We are so happy to read that Shane and our team truly provided your family with a wonderful experience while staying with us. It certainly helps to make a special weekend even more memorable. We look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Pros: Professional, expedient service. Ample room. Loved the bed and linens- not too soft for me! Bath room layout was nice, so were le labo amenities. Delicious breakfast and very good cocktail lounge/tea program. Excellent Food and Beverage in general! Safe and centrally located.

Cons: "Good service" was also slightly robotic. No mirror in bedroom for dressing, full length or otherwise. Not a hotel with views. Beige, generic modern room decor, though I did like open kitchen design in common areas.

Overall, would recommend if you are looking for a no surprises luxury hotel experience. I'd check most of the boxes with a 9 or 10, except personality.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cparadelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We live an hour outside of DC and enjoy going into town for the occasional weekend getaway. This time we stayed at the Park Hyatt, primarily because we wanted to enjoy a meal at the Blue Duck Tavern. We were highly impressed by both the hotel and the restaurant. The hotel design is just beautiful, and once you walk inside you feel a sense of calm and serenity. The room and bathroom were very sleek and spare but have elegant, upscale finishes. They were not large but extremely comfortable and functional. The staff were wonderful and solicitous. We had one of the top meals we have ever had that night - special thanks to the manager Joe who got us a reservation even though they were pretty much completely booked. The location is just fantastic - just outside of Georgetown and near Rock Creek Park. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jwchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Jwchin,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel and Blue Duck Tavern restaurant. It is delightful to read how much you enjoyed both your meal and the service you received. We hope to welcome you back again during next weekend getaway.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
1,177 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,286 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Washington

Address: 1201 24th St NW, (at the intersection of 24th & M Streets NW), Washington DC, DC 20037-1104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $261 - $887 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Washington 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hyatt Washington, located in the fashionable West End Georgetown neighborhood of the nation's capital, combines sophisticated modernism with classic American style. With its Tea Cellar offering rare and vintage tea selections, intimate Spa Room offering an array of services and treatments, redesigned flexible event and meeting space, and celebrated Blue Duck Tavern restaurant, Park Hyatt Washington offers guests a unique experience in the nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing