We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Hyatt Washington
Ranked #23 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely but pricey”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here in Spring 2011 for a conference that was being held at the hotel. It is beautiful and easy to walk to points of interest from. I did enjoy my stay, but thankfully work was paying for it, its a bit out of my personal price range.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savingparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,300
    333
    101
    59
    29
See reviews for
423
506
110
620
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here during Labor Day weekend in September 2012 for a mini family/friend reunion. We reserved two rooms for six adults and one toddler and used our suite upgrades. We were upgraded to the Park Executive Suite and the Park Suite which were next door to each other. Our suite (Park Executive) was enormous with two bathrooms, a large living room, dining table, small office, bedroom and huge bathroom. One suite could have easily accomodated all seven of us. The Park Suite was also enormous but did not have the small office.

The hotel like other Park Hyatts has a very modern, contemporary feel. Service is top notch.
The concierge called our room asking about our dinner plans and was able to get us a table at the Blue Duck Tavern, the restaurant downstairs, without any problems.

The location is perfect for everything. We were within walking distance to the White House and shopping nearby.

Overall, everything was fantastic. My only complaint was that the whirlpool was out of order.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FIFItheWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stay at this property several times a year. For pampering alone, it's the best. And not in terms of a spa stay, but as a sophisticated retreat. Your visit begins in a whisper of serenity…from the moment you enter its beautifully spare interior. While registration and choosing a room can be a challenge at other properties, here it's a breeze. The deluxe rooms feature a sitting area separated from the sleeping area, and a large bath/dressing room. Just restful and lovely in ambiance. But here's the best part of the stay: the service. The concierge team is tops. Sean, Amanda and Amy deserve accolades for not only knowing the ins & outs of their town, but treating you as their only clients. That said, service is fab, throughout. Blue Duck, perfect. And there's no set way to talk to guests, which can become tiresome at Ritz properties. Here it's replaced by sincerity instead of platitudes.

Room Tip: Higher floors reduce the noise if city traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bevert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Bevert,

Thank you for your incredibly kind review of our property. It is a pleasure to continually welcome you back to your "sophisticated retreat." I am delighted to read how much you enjoy our hotel especially your interactions with our front office and concierge team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Can't say enough good things about this hotel. When we checked into the hotel we were given maps and shown all the best spots to visit during our stay and the easiest way to get there.

We had someone walk us to our room and show us all the features of the hotel.

All the staff are very friendly and you get the feeling that they truly care about your stay in the hotel.

The lobby looks amazing and location great.

We stayed in a basic room and it was quite large, very clean and we had free wifi access in our room. The other great thing was they provided free bottles of water. (All of these are the small things which make the difference)

The hotel also presents high tea in the afternoon. Unfortunately we did not get to try this.

However we got to try the bar area and restaurant. All I can say is that the restaurant was one of the best restaurants I have ever eaten at ever.

If I ever get a chance to return to Washington I will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Ben C,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay. I have shared your wonderful comments with the rest of our team. I am happy to hear that you had a chance to dine at our celebrated restaurant Blue Duck Tavern. I love that we have now become one of your favorite restaurants!

Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

While I've attended meetings and eaten here, never stayed here until recently. This is a modern, refined hotel in a quiet upscale area of DC. My room was large and modern, with a separate sitting area and a rotating TV. The bathroom was very large with both a nice tub and a luxurious waterfall shower. Overall, very nice, except the wireless internet service was extremely slow or unavailable, totally unacceptable for this kind of property. I see others have noted this; would not recommend staying here until the GM (who seems to track these posts) responds that the service has been changed.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank roadwarrierMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear roadwarrierMD,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share feedback.

I do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced when connecting to our internet. While we have started to offer complimentary wireless internet throughout the hotel; unfortunately, we did not realize that our current wi-fi capabilities were not able to handle this increased amount of traffic. We are now in the process of upgrading our servers to ensure a flawless connection to the internet. This will be completed very soon.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

If you're willing to spend a little extra money, I'd definitely recommend staying at the Park Hyatt Washington. It's actually very reasonably priced for a 5 star hotel depending on when you go. I've seen rates as low as $200/nt.

We were a in a very nice suite. It had a large living room with a guest bathroom, a dining area with dining room table, and a large bedroom. The best part was the spacious bathroom which had a giant shower. The room itself was very modern with beautiful wood furnishings. Also, the bed was extremely comfortable, as you'd probably expect from a hotel of this caliber.

The staff were all outstanding, always willing to go out of their way to help. Whenever we'd call the front desk, they would pick up on the first ring.

We also had dinner at The Blue Duck Tavern which was very good. Definitely one of the best restaurants in DC. The breakfast here is also very good.

The only real issue was the WiFi was very slow and spotty. But other than that, this is a top notch hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RB19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear RB19,

Thank you for sharing your recent review of our property. It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your visit - from the decor and layout of your suite to the service of our staff.

I do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced when trying to use our internet. We recently started offering complimentary wireless internet to all guests. Unfortunately, however, we did not realize that our wi-fi capabilities could not handle this increased amount of traffic. We are currently in the process of upgrading our servers to ensure a flawless connection to the internet.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Recently, I took my family for a five day, four night stay at this well deserved five star rating hotel. Everything is spotless and pleasant to the eye. Nothing is forgiven, from the daily cheerful greeting to the "what can I do for you sir" to make you feel a royal guest. This entire hotel and its staff will pamper you like anything you have ever experienced. As we were catered to our two connecting rooms at the top floor, the Executive Director of Housekeeping Department walked in to make sure evertyhing was in compliance to our earlier requests. Immediately after, we dined at the Blue Duck Tavern Restaurant located on the first floor, finest and second to none restaurant in DC. Again, the Restaurant Manager greets you and makes sure you are complacent with the food and service provided. We headed back to our rooms as we had a rough traveling day and needed a well deserved rest.

Earlier the next day, I woke up at 4:00 am and went down by myself to browse and get acquainted with the hotel facilities. As I stepped out of the elevator, I was immediately greeted by a waiter who offered freshly brewed capuccino coffee... hotel complimentary, and took me to their Business Center (by request), also hotel complimentary. Hotel security is extensive and you feel extremely safe 24 hours a day. This hotel is impecable in every sense. Staff and employees observe and keep the highest standard dress code and grooming. Concierge has ample knowledge and provides alternatives and solutions to your inquiries. On the second day, and as we walked out the front door, the doorman politely asked if we needed a cab and where we were headed. After answering the National Mall, he called on their complimentary Limousine Service which, not only took us for a free ride, but extended a small free tour around the "Mall". Are you kidding? What a treat! This was unexpected. We had breakfast everyday at the Blue Duck Tavern. No need to go anywhere else. Also, we had in-room service, available 24 hours a day. The food? Of course...The Blue Duck Tavern.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renemorilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear renemorilo,

Thank you for sharing such a complementary review of our hotel. We truly appreciate you taking the time to provide wonderful feedback. It sounds like your family had a terrific time exploring the city and its historical landmarks. I will be certain to share your comments with the rest of our staff. Should your travels bring you back to the nation's capital, we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
1,154 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#24 of 141 in Washington DC
1,275 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Georgetown
Rosewood Washington, D.C.
Rosewood Washington, D.C.
#90 of 141 in Washington DC
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Washington

Property: Park Hyatt Washington
Address: 1201 24th St NW, (at the intersection of 24th & M Streets NW), Washington DC, DC 20037-1104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Washington 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hyatt Washington, located in the fashionable West End Georgetown neighborhood of the nation's capital, combines sophisticated modernism with classic American style. With its Tea Cellar offering rare and vintage tea selections, intimate Spa Room offering an array of services and treatments, redesigned flexible event and meeting space, and celebrated Blue Duck Tavern restaurant, Park Hyatt Washington offers guests a unique experience in the nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing