We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to the Park Hyatt name”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Hyatt Washington
Ranked #22 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Lives up to the Park Hyatt name”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Getting to DC was a bit of a drama: what ought to have been a 3 hour train trip took 9 hours due to a crime scene on the track along the way (not kidding), compounded by a very argumentative taxi (cab) driver from Union Station to the Hotel.

So what a joy it was to walk into the Park Hyatt. From the moment we were shown the door to check-in, and the moment we had to leave after 7 days, the hotel was a welcome oasis with friendly and courteous staff. It is also in a great location within easy walking distance of Georgetown, Foggy Bottom, Dupont Circle and The Mall.

The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well-appointed with good light & lighting and air-con that worked but wasn't noisy. The bathroom and bathroom amenities were great.

The breakfast in Blue Duck Tavern was well-priced with plenty of choice. We had dinner once in the Blue Duck Tavern and it was also very, very nice. (Having said that, I think the food generally in US is of a high standard and our image of massive hamburgers and hot dogs is an outdated one).

My only very small issue to raise was that I asked for a bowl of fruit in our room on arrival - and it never arrived. But we were not charged for it, so it's neither here nor there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, General Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear 2093,

Thank you for sharing an outstanding review of our hotel. While it is unfortunate to learn of the opportunities you experienced traveling to DC, I am delighted to read that our team turned a negative into a positive and welcomed you warmly to our property. We appreciate you staying with us for an extended stay and for visiting Blue Duck Tavern on multiple occasions. Thank you again for your valued feedback.

Regards,
Andrew Davidson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,276
    330
    99
    58
    29
See reviews for
409
502
107
611
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed 5 days here. Excellent service, beautiful well appointed rooms. Restaurant fantastic, need reservations for dinner book in advance! Market style. Ideal for business meetings/meals., a treat to visit. Concierge very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beyond5a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, General Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear beyond5a,

Thank you for posting such a kind review of our property. I appreciate your feedback and will let our staff know how much you enjoyed your visit to Washington. We hope to welcome you back to Park Hyatt again soon.

Regards,
Andrew Davidson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Third time staying here and I'm consistently impressed. A few specifics about this particular visit:

-Amy, the welcoming concierge, is the best concierge I've met. Period. She checked me in and talked with me for close to 15 minutes. About Hyatt, DC, and other things. Just what I needed after a long train ride.

2. The hotel rooms are stunning. Impeccably clean and big.

3. The restaurant is great. It's pricey, so I you don't eat there at least experience the atmosphere for a drink.

And my one glaring negative that will keep the Park Hyatt from five stars today: the WiFi in the rooms is atrocious. I spent 25 minutes on the phone with their tech support (I should add that it's via a third party), and Internet service was still spotty. I could get on to some websites (i.e. google) but couldn't get on to most (email, work VPN). I lost an entire day of work because of spotty WiFi. The customer service folks were great, but it couldn't fix the bottom line problem--crappy Internet service.

Bad WiFi can't ruin the overall review, however. Stay here. You will be glad you did.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DFC12481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had an overall good stay at this hotel, but there were a few items that would have made the stay oh that much better. We arrived and unfortunately although check in was 3pm we ended up waiting nearly another hour for our room to be ready. While we waited we enjoyed some desserts and coffee/tea at the hotel which were good. The hotel made that complimentary because we had to wait for our room so that was nice. When we got up to our room we were impressed by the size of the suite and we liked the simplicity of how it was furnished. The shower was really nice although in a suite of that size we were expecting some better finishings. For example there was no double sink although the bathroom itself was quite large (I suppose it's because there is a half bath at the front of the suite by the front door). Additionally some of the wood finishings in the room (near the closet, the bathroom etc.) looked cheap. And the bed was way too low. Seriously, you could never fall off the bed onto the floor because you were already practically on it. The Internet was complimentary but was a snail pace slow and that was the premium service. The food in the restaurant was very nice though, so that was a bonus and it's in a great location not too far from Foggybottom station (walking distance). And the staff service was really quite good as well.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mymonae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

So serene. You walk through their glass door and immediately your shoulders drop an inch to relaxed. Everyone single staff person was friendly, smiling... for four days! Love the peaceful lines, lighting and colors. Love the room with sitting area separate. Love the modern bathroom. We had breakfast included, just delicious. You could do a fruit and pastry buffet (upscale and elegant offerings) or order off menu. Short rib hash w olive oil poached eggs, waffles w bourbon maple syrup and berries, crabmeat scrambled eggs. Fruit plate was berries, pear, figs and melon. Delicious. All perfectly done. The dining area has an "open kitchen" philosophy where you literally walk in through parts of the kitchen to reach the dining room. Just warning you. Once you know this, easy as pie..

Room Tip: corner room large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank othello1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear othello1111,

Thank you for your very pleasant feedback. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us - from the decor to the service to the cuisine! It sounds like our breakfast menu was a favorite of yours! We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best,
Renee Sharrow
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Perfectly located hotel for either a short walk or 3 blocks to the nearest metro station, so easy access to the whole city. beds are very comfy and lovely rooms. Very good breakfast, see if you can get an all inclusive price with breakfast as its worth it!
The restaurant is very good although a little pricey as food and drinks for 2 Came too $181.
the staff are very helpful, all in all well worth considering.

Room Tip: "Floor 10 is good"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chriscSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear chriscSussex,

Thank you for sharing a lovely review of our property. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us, especially our location, making it easy for you to explore the city! We look forward to welcoming you welcoming you back again.

Best,
Renee Sharrow
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I've stayed at the Park Hyatt a number of times over the years, but this was my first visit since 2005. The hotel has been nicely decorated with an American Craft theme. I loved the wooden furniture in the restaurant and common areas by Thos. Moser, a master furniture maker from Maine. The amenities and service are first rate, and the bathrooms are particularly big and stylish. The food from the Blue Duck Tavern, featuring organic produce, was both sophisticated and hearty. Well located, within walking distance of Dupont Circle.

Room Tip: Book through American Express, and you get nice amenities like a big dining credit and late checkou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upperwestsider72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear upperwestsider72,

Thank you for visiting Park Hyatt Washington after over 7 years! We underwent a major renovation of the hotel in restaurant in 2006, so as you mentioned, the decor is very different from your last trip. We are delighted to read how much you enjoy the "new" look and feel of the hotel and Blue Duck Tavern. We hope to welcome you back should your travels bring you to the nation's capital again soon.

Best,
Renee Sharrow
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
1,135 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,263 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,097 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Georgetown
Rosewood Washington, D.C.
Rosewood Washington, D.C.
#93 of 141 in Washington DC
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Washington

Property: Park Hyatt Washington
Address: 1201 24th St NW, (at the intersection of 24th & M Streets NW), Washington DC, DC 20037-1104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Washington 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hyatt Washington, located in the fashionable West End Georgetown neighborhood of the nation's capital, combines sophisticated modernism with classic American style. With its Tea Cellar offering rare and vintage tea selections, intimate Spa Room offering an array of services and treatments, redesigned flexible event and meeting space, and celebrated Blue Duck Tavern restaurant, Park Hyatt Washington offers guests a unique experience in the nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing