We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Park parlor suite?....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Washington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hyatt Washington
Ranked #9 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Park parlor suite?....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had an overall good stay at this hotel, but there were a few items that would have made the stay oh that much better. We arrived and unfortunately although check in was 3pm we ended up waiting nearly another hour for our room to be ready. While we waited we enjoyed some desserts and coffee/tea at the hotel which were good. The hotel made that complimentary because we had to wait for our room so that was nice. When we got up to our room we were impressed by the size of the suite and we liked the simplicity of how it was furnished. The shower was really nice although in a suite of that size we were expecting some better finishings. For example there was no double sink although the bathroom itself was quite large (I suppose it's because there is a half bath at the front of the suite by the front door). Additionally some of the wood finishings in the room (near the closet, the bathroom etc.) looked cheap. And the bed was way too low. Seriously, you could never fall off the bed onto the floor because you were already practically on it. The Internet was complimentary but was a snail pace slow and that was the premium service. The food in the restaurant was very nice though, so that was a bonus and it's in a great location not too far from Foggybottom station (walking distance). And the staff service was really quite good as well.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mymonae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,112
    277
    74
    47
    24
See reviews for
349
429
93
521
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

So serene. You walk through their glass door and immediately your shoulders drop an inch to relaxed. Everyone single staff person was friendly, smiling... for four days! Love the peaceful lines, lighting and colors. Love the room with sitting area separate. Love the modern bathroom. We had breakfast included, just delicious. You could do a fruit and pastry buffet (upscale and elegant offerings) or order off menu. Short rib hash w olive oil poached eggs, waffles w bourbon maple syrup and berries, crabmeat scrambled eggs. Fruit plate was berries, pear, figs and melon. Delicious. All perfectly done. The dining area has an "open kitchen" philosophy where you literally walk in through parts of the kitchen to reach the dining room. Just warning you. Once you know this, easy as pie..

Room Tip: corner room large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank othello1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear othello1111,

Thank you for your very pleasant feedback. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us - from the decor to the service to the cuisine! It sounds like our breakfast menu was a favorite of yours! We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best,
Renee Sharrow
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Perfectly located hotel for either a short walk or 3 blocks to the nearest metro station, so easy access to the whole city. beds are very comfy and lovely rooms. Very good breakfast, see if you can get an all inclusive price with breakfast as its worth it!
The restaurant is very good although a little pricey as food and drinks for 2 Came too $181.
the staff are very helpful, all in all well worth considering.

Room Tip: "Floor 10 is good"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chriscSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear chriscSussex,

Thank you for sharing a lovely review of our property. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us, especially our location, making it easy for you to explore the city! We look forward to welcoming you welcoming you back again.

Best,
Renee Sharrow
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I've stayed at the Park Hyatt a number of times over the years, but this was my first visit since 2005. The hotel has been nicely decorated with an American Craft theme. I loved the wooden furniture in the restaurant and common areas by Thos. Moser, a master furniture maker from Maine. The amenities and service are first rate, and the bathrooms are particularly big and stylish. The food from the Blue Duck Tavern, featuring organic produce, was both sophisticated and hearty. Well located, within walking distance of Dupont Circle.

Room Tip: Book through American Express, and you get nice amenities like a big dining credit and late checkou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank upperwestsider72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear upperwestsider72,

Thank you for visiting Park Hyatt Washington after over 7 years! We underwent a major renovation of the hotel in restaurant in 2006, so as you mentioned, the decor is very different from your last trip. We are delighted to read how much you enjoy the "new" look and feel of the hotel and Blue Duck Tavern. We hope to welcome you back should your travels bring you to the nation's capital again soon.

Best,
Renee Sharrow
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel, on "hotel corner" in NW (next to the Fairmont and the Westin) is easily the best not only of the three, but also rates highly compared to the Four Seasons, Ritz, and Hay Adams. For the $235 I paid, my room was a corner room, high up, quiet, extremely clean, even more extremely quiet, and well furnished. It is tough to find a lot to complain about--perhaps that there was no fold-out luggage rack in the room? But there was a built-in luggage rack in the closet. The bed was clean and comfortable, and the furniture was clean and serviceable. The light switches were pretty "disco"--you have dimmers and need to figure them out, but once you do, it is fine. Very good internet access. The welcome-staff are a bit too obsequious, European, and cloying, but hey, you can't have everything, eh? A very good choice in DC. Not a spectacular "destination" hotel, but very much worth a look.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suitcasepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I usually love Park Hyatts, heck I had my wedding reception at one, but Park Hyatt Washington doesn't come up to standard. The room was quite large which was great but it was so noisy! From trucks to people yelling oh and the sirens all night, it was unbearable. 4 nights of very little sleep! The bathroom is lovely but very dark and this is where the only mirror is located, so applying makeup wasn't easy. Also we found broken glass on the floor in the bathroom, luckily we didn't tread on it and possibly have our holiday ruined. Amy at guest services was really lovely and a great asset to the hotel. If you like it quiet and peaceful to sleep, this is not the hotel for you.

Room Tip: One very high up away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fizam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I gave it a 5 star because the hotel is simply perfect. The staff, room, and location are all great and the rate is very reasonable. It may be more designed for business travel but my family really enjoyed our stay there over the holiday weekend.

We ate in the hotel restaurant, the blue duck, for breakfast, which was great. However, our dinner wasn't so great to our taste. The service was great but the food quality was not very impressive. For a similar experience but better (and more) food, I would recommend the westend bistro at the ritz instead, which is just one block away.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bmguan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear bmguan,

Thank you for your recent view. While I am very happy to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel, I am disappointed to learn that our restaurant, Blue Duck Tavern, did not live up to your expectations. We pride ourselves are providing a wonderful dining experience, but clearly this was the case. Please accept our sincerest apologies. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at renee.sharrow@hyatt.com.

Best,
Renee Sharrow
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 949 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Sofitel Washington DC
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
National Mall
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Washington D.C.
Four Seasons Washington D.C.
#1 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 787 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Washington

Property: Park Hyatt Washington
Address: 1201 24th St NW, (at the intersection of 24th & M Streets NW), Washington DC, DC 20037-1104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Washington 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hyatt Washington, located in the fashionable West End Georgetown neighborhood of the nation's capital, combines sophisticated modernism with classic American style. With its Tea Cellar offering rare and vintage tea selections, intimate Spa Room offering an array of services and treatments, redesigned flexible event and meeting space, and celebrated Blue Duck Tavern restaurant, Park Hyatt Washington offers guests a unique experience in the nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing